Your browser does not support JavaScript

Application Wizard - Chiropractor License

Please choose one of the following:

I want to apply for a Chiropractor license

I want to reactivate a Current Inactive Status Chiropractor license

I want to reinstate my lapsed or expired Chiropractor license

   

What you’ll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations governing the practice of Chiropractic in the state of Virginia.
  • Carefully read through the application instructions for detailed information.

All Applicants:

  • Examination Scores: Request from the National Board of Chiropractic Examiners a certified copy of your grades attained on the National Board examination or the Special Purpose Examination for Chiropractic.  You may request your examination scores on-line at http://www.nbce.org/
  • Transcripts: Request an official transcript from your school. Transcripts will be accepted if they come directly from the school to the Board or if sent to the Board by the applicant in a sealed envelope with the school’s seal.

Applicants licensed as a Chiropractor in another state/jurisdiction:

  • Jurisdiction Clearance – License Verification: Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice chiropractic to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine.
  • NPDB Self-Query: Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form and verify your identity

Applications for licensure to practice as a Chiropractor are now exclusively accepted online. Click the "Apply Now" button below to begin the online application process.

Reactivating an Inactive Status License  

Reactivate an Inactive License for an MD, DO, DPM or DC

This application is a PDF form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you’ll need in order to apply:

  • An account of professional activity within the last four years, to include approximate number of hours for each year. This does not include CME activity.
  • If not engaged in active practice for more than four years, you may be required to pass one of the examinations specified in Virginia regulations 18VAC85-20-240C.
  • Completion of the continued competency requirements specified in Virginia regulations 18VAC85-20-235.
    If you last renewed in inactive status 60 hours of CE
    In inactive status for > 2 & < 3 years 90 hours of CE
    In inactive status for more than 3 years 120 hours of CE

Reinstatement  

Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years.  Do not complete this application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years or if you are trying to reactivate a license in inactive status. 

This Reinstatement Application is a PDF form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you’ll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Chiropractor in the state of Virginia.
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • If you answer “yes” to any of the questions from 6 through 18 on the application, provide a written explanation on a separate piece of paper and attach it to the application. If you have disciplinary action with another Board, attach a copy of the Board Order or other documentation. If you have medical mal practice claims, attach a narrative that includes dates, your treatment of the patient and any payment made per settlement or judgement. You may also provide a letter from your attorney. If you have misdemeanor or felony convictions attach a copy of the court documents.
  • You will need Verification of Chiropractic licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada.
  • NPDB Self Query: Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form and verify your identity
  • Provide documentation indicating completion of required continued competency hours
  • Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia
  • Complete and send in the application, along with any required fees.

Virginia Board of Medicine
medbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director
L. Blanton Marchese, President