Your browser does not support JavaScript

Respiratory Therapist - Application Wizard

Please choose one of the following:

I want to apply for a license to practice as a Respiratory Therapist in Virginia

I want to reactivate a Current Inactive Status Respiratory Therapist license

I want to reinstate a lapsed or inactive Respiratory Therapist license

   

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Respiratory Therapist in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • Credential Verification: Original source documentation for either 1) Current credential as a Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or a Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) from the National Board of Respiratory Care (NBRC) or 2) Graduation from an accredited educational program for respiratory therapists.

For applicants who have been licensed in another State/Jurisdicion:

  • NPDB Self-Query: Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form and verify your identity.
  • License Verification: Verification of licenses to practice as a Respiratory Therapist from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a license must be received by the Board. Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice respiratory therapy to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine.

This application is a printable form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Respiratory Therapist in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • An account of professional activity within the last two years, to include approximate number of hours for each year
  • Completion of the continued competency requirements specified in Virginia regulations 18VAC85-40-66
  • Fill out the Reactivate an Inactive License for a Respiratory Therapist application and send to the Board, along with any applicable fees.

Note: Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years. Do not proceed with the application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years

This application is a printable form that will need to be printed, filled out and sent to:

Virginia Board of Medicine
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Respiratory Therapist in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • Verification of professional licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license, sent directly from the applicable jurisdiction.
  • NPDB Self Query – Complete the online “Place a Self-Query” Order form.
  • Evidence of competency to return to active practice: either 1) information on continued practice in another jurisdiction, 2) ten hours of continuing education for each year in which the license has been inactive or lapsed (not to exceed 30 hours/3 years) or 3) recertification by passing the NBRC exam
  • Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia.
  • If you answer “yes” to any questions from 5 to 17 on the application, provide documentation to the Board from your attorney or provide a narrative explaining your answer. Please provide court documentation for any convictions.
  • Fill out the Reinstatement application for a Respiratory Therapist and send to the Board, along with any applicable fees.

Please choose one of the following:

I have never practiced this profession, and do not hold an existing license in another jurisdiction

I have practiced this profession, and/or hold an existing license in another jurisdiction

   

What you'll need in order to apply:

  • Review the full set of Laws and Regulations regarding the practice of a Respiratory Therapist in the state of Virginia
  • Carefully read through the application instructions
  • Original source documentation for either 1) Current credential as a Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT) or a Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) from the National Board of Respiratory Care (NBRC) or 2) Graduation from an accredited educational program for respiratory therapists
  • A completed Form B or a letter of recommendation must be received from all locations of service, places of practice or professional employment, observerships, professional research positions or professional volunteer service listed for the 2 years immediately preceding application.
  • NPDE Self Query – Complete the online “Place a Self-Query” Order form.
  • Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your ”Place a Self-Query” order or by completing a paper form and having it notarized.
  • Verification of Respiratory Therapist licenses from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a license/certificate or registration, sent directly from the jurisdiction to the board.
 

Virginia Board of Medicine
medbd@dhp.virginia.gov | Contact the Board
William L. Harp, MD, Executive Director
L. Blanton Marchese, President