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Board of Licensed Professional Counselors,

Marriage and Family Therapists, and Substance Abuse Professionals

Regulations Govermning the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers
PART I

GENERAL PROVISIONS

18 VAC 115-40-10. Definitions.

A. The terms “board,” “certified rehabilitation provider,” and “professional judgment,”
when used in this chapter, shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the
Code of Virginia.

B. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the following
meanings unless the context indicates otherwise:

"Competency area” means an area in which a person possesses knowledge and
skills and the ability to apply them in the rehabilitation setting.

“Experience” means on-the-job experience under appropriate supervision as set
forth in this chapter.

“Internship” means a supervised field experience as part of a degree requirement
obtained from a regionally accredited university as set forth in 18 VAC 115-40-22.

“Regionally accredited”’ means an institution accredited by one of the regional
accreditation agencies recognized by the United States Secretary of Education as
responsible for accrediting senior post secondary institutions and training programs.

"Rehabilitation client” means an individual receiving rehabilitation services whose
benefits are regulated by the Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission.

“Supervisee” means any individual who has met the education requirements and is
under appropriate supervision and working towards certification according to the
requirements of this chapter. Services provided by the supervisee shall not involve the

exercise of professional judgment as defined in §54.1-3510 of the Code of Virginia.

"Supervision” means the ongoing process performed by a supervisor who monitors
the performance of the person supervised and provides regular, documented, personal
instruction, guidance, and education with respect to the skills and competencies of the

person supervised.

"Supervisor" means one who provides case related supervision, consultation,
education, and guidance for the applicant. The supervisor must be credentialed as defined

in 18 VAC 115-40-27 of this chapter.

“Training” means the educational component of on-the-job experience.
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18 VAC 115-40-20. Fees required by the board.

A. The board has established the following fees applicable to the certification of
rehabilitation providers:

APPlICALION PIOCESSING w.orvvvsseressrrrssrssesesisssrmssmsmmss s ssssssss s s $100

CErtifICAtION TENEWAL ..eeevveeeeereieseereeressesessessesercssiseinsnas e s e e sre s b e ss st abe s e $50

DUPLICALE COITTICATE oecvververrrsinissrrssess s $15

L AtE TEIEWAL v iveersvesseeserersereessssesssassssesssssraseeesesbesesbnseasransaesansanassnentasssssscnscnnasesaes $50

Replacement of or additional wall CErtificate ... .omvemminineeccns $15

RETUTTIEA CHECK 1rvnteveeieeeeerereessesteeesreeseasesesieerensasssbesasa e b hssr s s b en s s s st st $15
B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia

and forwarded to the board. All fees are non-refundable.

Examination fees shall be made payable to the examination service and mailed directly to
the examination service.

PART II
REQUIREMENTS FOR CERTIFICATION

18 VAC 115-40-22. Criteria for eligibility.
A.  Education and experience requirements for certification are as follows:

L. Any baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited college or university
or a current registered nurse license in good standing in Virginia; and

2. Documentation of 2,000 hours of supervised experience in performing those
services that will be offered to a workers’ compensation claimant under 8
65.2-603 of the Code of Virginia. Experience may be acquired through
supervised fraining or experience or both. A supervised internship in
rehabilitation services may count toward part of the required 2,000 hours.
Any individual who does not meet the experience requirement for
certification must practice under the supervision of an individual who meets
the requirements of 18 VAC 115-40-27. Individuals shall not practice in an
internship or supervisee capacity for more than 5 years.

B. A passing score on a board-approved examination shall be required.

C. The board may grant certification without examination to applicants certified as
rehabilitation providers in other states or by nationally recognized certifying
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agencies, boards, associations and commissions by standards substantially equivalent

to those set forth in the board’s current regulation.

18 VAC 115-40-25. Application process.

The applicant shall submit to the executive director of the board at least 90 days prior to the
date of the written examination:

1. A completed application form;

2. Official transcript or transcripts in the original sealed envelope submitted from the
appropriate institutions of higher education directly to the applicant;

3. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the successful completion of the
supervised experience requirements of 18 VAC 115-40-26. Documentation of
supervision obtained outside of Virginia must include verification of the SUpervisor's

out-of-state license or certificate; and

4. Documentation of the applicant's national or out-of-state license or certificate n
good standing where applicable.

18 VAC 115-40-26. Supervised experience requirements.
The supervised experience shall meet the following requirements:

1. On average, the supervisor and the supervisee shall consult for two hours per week
in group or personal instruction. he total hours of personal instruction shall not be less
than 100 hours within the 2,000 hours of experience. Group instruction shall not

exceed 6 members in a group.

2. Half of the personal instruction contained in the total supervised experience shall be
face-to-face between the supervisor and supervisee. A portion of the face-to-face
instruction shall include direct observation of the supervisee-rehabilitation client

interaction.
18 VAC 115-40-27. Supervisor requirements

A. A supervisor shall:

1. Be a licensed professional counselor, licensed psychologist, licensed clinical social
worker, licensed marriage and family therapist, licensed substance abuse treatment
practiﬁoner,\incensed physician or licensed registered nurse; with a minimum of one
year experience in rehabilitation service provision; or
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2. Be a rehabilitation provider certified by the board who has national certification in

rehabilitation service provision as outlined in subsection C of 18 VAC 115-40-22; or
3 Have two years experience as a board certified rehabilitation provider.

B. The supervisor shall assume responsibility for the professional activities of the
supervisee.

C. At the time of application for certification by examination, the supervisor shall
document for the board: (i) credentials to provide supervision in accordance with this
section; (ii) the applicant's total hours of supervision; (iii) length of work experience; (iv)
competence in rehabilitation service provision and (v) any needs for additional supervision
or training.

D. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the supervisee compromises the
objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited. This includes but is not limited to immediate
family members (spouses, parents, siblings, children and in-laws).

PART 111
EXAMINATIONS

18 VAC 115-40-28. General examination requirements.

A. Bvery applicant for certification as a rehabilitation provider shall take a written
examination approved by the board and achieve a passing score as determined by the board.

B. The written examination will be given at least once each year. The board may schedule

such additional examinations as it deems necessary.

PART IV
RENEWAL AND REINSTATEMENT

18 VAC 115-40-30. Annual renewal of certificate.
A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on January 31 of each year.

1. To renew certification, the certified rehabilitation provider shall submit a
renewal application form and fee as prescribed in 18 VAC 115-40-20.

2. Failure to receive a rencwal notice and application form shall not excuse the
certified rehabilitation provider from the renewal requirement.
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18 VAC 115-40-34. Reinstatement.

A. A person whose certificate has expired may renew it within four years after its
expiration date by paying the renewal fec and the penalty fee prescribed in 18 VAC 115-40-

20.

B. A person who fails to renew a certificate for four years or more shall reapply according
to the requirements of the regulations in effect at that time.

18 VAC 115-40-38. Change of address.

A certified rehabilitation provider whose mailing address has changed shall submit
the new address in writing to the board within 30 days of such change.

PART V
STANDARDS OF PRACTICE; DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS; REINSTATEMENT

18 VAC 115-40-40. Standards of practice.

A. The protection of the public health, safety and welfare, and the best interest of the
public shall be the primary guide in determining the appropriate professional conduct of
all persons whose activities are regulated by the board.

B. Each person certified by the board shall:

1. Provide services in a manner that is in the best interest of the public and does not
endanger the public health, safety, or welfare.

2. Provide services only within the competency areas for which one is qualified by
training or experience.

3. Not provide services under a false or assumed name, or impersonate another
practitioner of a like, similar or different name.

4. (Repealed).

5. Be aware of the areas of competence of related professions and make full use of
professional, technical and administrative resources to secure for rehabilitation
clients the most appropriate services.

6. Not commit any act which is a felony under the laws of this Commonwealth,
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other states, the District of Colombia or the United States; or any act which is a

misdemeanor under such laws and involves moral turpitude.

7. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts and practices which are important to
providing appropriate services.

8. State a rationale in the form of an identified objective or purpose for the
provision of services to be rendered to the rehabilitation client.

9. Not engage in offering services to a rehabilitation client who is receiving
services from another rehabilitation provider without attempting to inform such
other providers in order to avoid confusion and conflict for the rehabilitation client.

10. Represent accurately one's competence, education, training and experience.

11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which one's personal problems are
likely to lead to inadequate or harmful services.

12. Not engage in improper direct solicitation of rehabilitation clients and an-
nounce services fairly and accurately in a manner which will aid the public in
forming their own informed judgments, opinions and choices and which avoids
fraud and misrepresentation through sensationalism, exaggeration or superficiality.

13. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of the nature and
directions of loyalties and responsibilities involved.

14. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations
governing the practice of rehabilitation providers.

15. Report to the board any unethical or incompetent practices by other
rehabilitation providers that jeopardize public safety or cause a risk of harm to

rehabilitation clients.

16. Provide rehabilitation clients with accurate information of what to expect in the
way of tests, evaluations, billing, rehabilitation plans and schedules before

rendering services.

17. Provide services and submission of reports in a timely fashion and ensure that
services and reports respond to the purpose of the referral and include
recommendations, if appropriate. All reports shall reflect an objective, independent
opinion based on factual determinations within the provider's area of expertise and
discipline. The reports of services and findings shall be distributed to appropriate
parties and shall comply with all applicable legal regulations.
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18. Specify, for the referral source and the rehabilitation client, at the time of initial

referral, what services are to be provided and what practices are to be conducted.
This shall include the identification, as well as the clarification, of services that are
available by that member.

19. Assure that the rehabilitation client is aware, from the outset, if the delivery of
service is being observed by a third party. Professional files, reports and records
shall be maintained for three years beyond the termination of services.

20. Never engage in non-professional relationships with rehabilitation clients, that
compromise the rehabilitation client's well being, impair the rehabilitation
provider's objectivity and judgment or increase the risk of rehabilitation client

exploitation.

21. Never engage in sexual intimacy with rehabilitation clients or former
rehabilitation clients, as such intimacy is unethical and prohibited.

18 VAC 115-40-50. Grounds for revocation, suspension, probation, reprimand,
censure, denial of renewal of license, certificate or registration; petition for
rehearing.

Action by the board to deny, revoke, suspend, decline to issue or renew a certificate,
place such a certificate on probation or censure, reprimand or fine a certified
rehabilitation provider may be taken in accord with the following:

1. Procuring a license, certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation.

2. Violation of, or aid to another in violating any regulation or statute applicable to
the provision of rehabilitation services.

3. The denial, revocation, suspension or restriction of a registration, license or
certificate to practice in another state, or a United States possession or territory
or the surrender of any such registration, license or certificate while an active
administrative investigation is pending.

4, Conviction of a felony; or of 2 misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.

5. Providing rehabilitation services without reasonable skill and safety to clients by
virtue of physical or emotional illness or substance abuse.



