How do I verify my license to another jurisdiction?
Verification of a Virginia license to another jurisdiction requires a written request to the Board office with a payment of $35 per verification. Check should be made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. You must provide your full name, license number and the mailing address of the jurisdiction to receive verification.More FAQ's
|Virginia Board of Dentistry|
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
Looking for a career in healthcare?
|Other Citizen Services|
Prescription Drug Take Back
Read a letter from DHP Director Dr. David Brown Learn more about the DEA prescription drug takeback initiative Find a collection site near you
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
VaAware.com offers resources for combating RX drug and heroin abuse
In response to this crisis of addiction, Governor Terry McAuliffe’s Task Force on Rx Drug and Heroin Abuse in Virginia recommended that state agencies create a comprehensive website. Here is VaAware.com, an online resource developed as an informational tool for all citizens of Virginia.
The site features specific pages for parents, educators, licensed practitioners, law enforcement officers and drug dependents, and offers best practices for recognizing, preventing, diagnosing, treating, and recovering from opioid/heroin abuse.
2017 Spring Break Zika Awareness Toolkit
Primarily a mosquito borne disease, the Zika virus is most impactful in warmer seasons when illness can be transmitted by insects carrying the virus from one person to another. Maintaining a keen awareness for the transmission and treatment of Zika virus infection is an imperative for healthcare practitioners.
Along with their Zika Virus information page, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) now offers a Spring Break Toolkit featuring printable infographics and online resources to help Virginians spread Zika awareness on social media.
Summary of Infection Prevention Practices in Dental Settings
New Regulations Effective December 2, 2015
The Board of Dentistry has separated the regulations governing dental practice into four new chapters of regulations:
|18 VAC 60‑15||
Regulations Governing the Disciplinary Process in Dentistry
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Hygienists
Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Assistants
These new regulations are available on this website in the “Laws and Regulations” tab. Also available in this tab are Reference Guides for Chapters 21, 25 and 30 which provide a crosswalk between the old and new regulations and notes additions or changes found in the regulations effective on December 2, 2015.
FDA News Release
April 2, 2015 - FDA alerts health care professionals and patients not to use products from the Prescription Center pharmacy in Fayetteville, N.C. - Read the full news release.
Notice of Reporting Requirements for Dispensing
Effective July 1, 2015, all dentists who dispense controlled substances in Schedule II (Percocet, Hydrocodone), Schedule III (Tylenol with Codeine), or Schedule IV (Valium) must be registered with the Prescription Monitoring Program and must begin reporting the drugs dispensed within 7 days of dispensing. If a dentist does not dispense these products he may apply for a waiver from this reporting requirement. There is a box in this year’s dental license renewal forms to report whether you currently do or do not dispense Schedule II, III or IV controlled substances. Detailed information on the action each licensed dentist is required to take to register or to apply for a waiver will be sent out around April 1, 2015. Here are links
for more information:
- The requirement to report dispensing is addressed in §54.1-2521 of the Code of Virginia, and in the Regulations Governing the Prescription Monitoring Program
- The waiver form may be found at here.
- Information on how to report to the program is found a in the Reporting Manual.
The US Drug Enforcement Administration published a Final Rule in the Federal Register placing hydrocodone combination products into Schedule II effective October 6, 2014. For details, direct questions to your local DEA Field Office and review sections 18VAC110-290 and 18VAC110-310 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy.
Laws & RegulationsKeep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Dentistry
Laws Governing All Health Professions
Forms & ApplicationsFind forms, applications and exam information for the Board of Dentistry.
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.
Guidance DocumentsView and download the list of available guidance documents from the Board of Dentistry. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Board of Dentistry Calendar
The Board of Dentistry's Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Periodic news sent to licensees.
Regulatory Town HallThe Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.