INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR REINSTATEMENT OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE
BEFORE YOU PROCEED, READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY:
1) If a license has been expired less than one year; the license may be renewed with a late fee and statement of compliance with the continuing education requirements;
2) Review the Virginia laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology at www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/. The application requires a signature attesting to reading the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology;

3) An incomplete application will delay the processing;
4) Required documentation must be submitted directly from the source of the information. It is the responsibility of the applicant to notify the sources to submit the required documentation. Electronic documentation is acceptable; however, copies or faxes are not;

5) License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another jurisdiction of the U.S. or its territories and District of Columbia (does not include teaching certificates). Faxed verifications or copies of licenses are not accepted;
6) Additional forms are located under “Other Forms” on the board’s website;
7) The board may require additional documentation as needed to determine eligibility;
8) The receipt or status of an application is discussed only with the applicant;

9) Audiologists and SLPs – Enclose a fee of $135, School SLPs – Enclose a fee of $70, check or money order, made payable to “Treasurer of Virginia”;
10) The license is reinstated to expire in the current year;
11) Review options listed below and determine the appropriate method for reinstatement of licensure; and

12) Please allow 21 days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. 

If license has been lapsed more than one year and less than five (5) years, licensee must provide:


Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of 15 continuing
       competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time the license in

       Virginia was lapsed. ASHA CE transcript is acceptable.
If license has been lapsed for more than five (5) years, licensee must meet one of the options listed below:

□  Option 1

· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed;
· Written verification of current licensure in another jurisdiction in the United States; and

· Evidence of active practice for at least three of the past five years. 

□  Option 2
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed;
· Written verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board; (board staff will download from ASHA website; and
· Written verification of passing the qualifying examination PRAXIS within the past three years (contact PRAXIS to release scores electronically to Virginia.

□  Option 3

· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed;
· Written verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board(board staff will download from ASHA website ; and

· Written employment verification on company letterhead confirming active practice for at least one year of the past three years. 
ReinstateChklist_ApplicRevOct2015








         Page 1 of 2

□  Option 4 for School SLPs only
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (copies of completed certificates) of continuing competency hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 60 hours obtained during the time the license has been lapsed; and
· Verification of a Masters or doctoral degree in speech-language pathology.

□  Option 5 Applicants who have completed the requirements of a provisional license for reinstatement
· Verification from supervisor, on company letterhead, indicating recommendation for licensure
Application Notifications from the Board
· Email confirmation of receipt of application, including a listing of incomplete application items, are typically sent within 21 business days.
· Email notice when license has been reinstated. Note: Individuals are not licensed to practice until they receive notification from the Board that the license has been reinstated. An application in process is not sufficient to practice.
· Postal mailing of the license. 
Board Communication

· Email address: The Board’s preferred method of communication is through email notifications. Maintaining a current email address with the Board office provides a mechanism for up-to-date and cost effective communication. Note: It is recommended that you add the Board’s email address to your list of contacts to avoid the Board’s communication being identified as SPAM.

· To receive automatic board regulatory updates via email, register with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov.
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Contact Information


Address:    9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300


Email:
AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov


            Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463


Phone:
(804) 367-4630


Webpage:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/aud/ 



Fax:
(804) 527-4471
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	COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

Department of Health Professions

Board of Audiology and Speech Language Pathology

Perimeter Center


   Email:     AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

   Phone:    (804) 367-4630  



Henrico, VA 23233-1463   

   Website:  www.dhp.virginia.gov     


Application for Reinstatement of an Expired Virginia License
  Audiologist     Speech-Language Pathologist     School Speech-Language Pathologist
1.  Legal Full Name (Please Print or Type)    

	Last
	First
	Middle Initial

	
	
	

	Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes    No    If yes, state, in full, every name by which you have been known, the reason therefore, and dates so used.  Include a copy of court order or marriage certificate with application.


	Other names:

	Public Address for Disclosure
	City
	State
	  Zip Code
	    Telephone No.

	
	
	
	
	

	Address of Record (Mailing Address)
	City
	State
	  Zip Code
	    Telephone No.

	
	
	
	
	

	ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes.  Health professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the "License Lookup" program available through the board's website. 


	*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV No.
	Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)
	Email Address

	
	
	

	

	Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?
	YES


	NO



	

	Graduation Date (mm/dd/yyyy)

 
	Professional Degree(s)
	School



City

          State

	
	
	

	
	
	


*In accordance with (54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE:________________________  EXPIRATION DATE:____________________​___

	APPLICANT #
	FEE
	RECEIPT #
	EXEC DIRECTOR APPROVAL/DATE
	LICENSE #
	REINSTATE DATE
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	1.   List passage date (mm/dd/yyyy) of qualifying national examination:
	

	

	2.   Have you actively been engaged in the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology prior to 

      seeking reinstatement of licensure in Virginia?
	YES


	 NO



	

	3.   ASHA certification number:

	

	4.   List all professional practice since license expired. Employment verification is required.

	Began Date

mm/dd/yyyy


	End Date

mm/dd/yyyy


	Name of Practice/City/State/Phone
	Type of Practice

(Private or Public Sector)

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	

	5.   List all jurisdictions in which you have ever been issued a professional license, including expired, to practice
      audiology or speech-language pathology (does not include teaching certificates issued by the Department of

      Education). If more space is required, please record on separate paper.

	Jurisdiction
	License #
	Issue Date

(mm/dd/yyyy)
	Years of Practice
	License Status (active/expired/inactive/

revoked/suspended)

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	

	QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (6-11) are answered yes, explain and provide documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.

	6. 
Have you ever been convicted of a violation of, or pled Nolo Contendere to, any federal, state or local statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor, to include convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes traffic violations. Attach your original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and any other information you wish to be considered with your application (i.e. information on the status of incarceration, parole, or probation, reference letters, documentation of rehabilitation, etc.).
	YES


	 NO



	

	7.
Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license to practice   audiology or speech-language pathology in any jurisdiction? (a) suspension/revocation (b) probation (c) reprimand/cease and desist (d) had your practice monitored (e) monetary penalty? If yes, the regulatory agency authorized to take such action(s) must submit documentation of any disciplinary action taken against your license to include notices, orders, details, etc.
	YES


	 NO



	

	8.
Are you currently under disciplinary investigation by any jurisdiction?  If yes, give jurisdiction.



	YES


	 NO



	

	9.    Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the last ten years?  If yes, how many? 


Provide details and documentation.  Letters must be submitted by your attorney or representative

       regarding malpractice suits.
	YES


	 NO



	

	10.
Have you been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of alcohol/drugs or treated by, consulted with, or been under the care of a professional for any substance abuse within the last two years? If yes, please provide a letter from the treating professional, on letterhead, to include diagnosis, treatment, prognosis and fitness to practice.
	YES


	NO



	

	11.
Do you have a physical disease, mental disorder, or any condition which could affect your performance of professional duties? If yes, provide a letter from your treating professional, on letterhead, to include diagnosis, treatment, prognosis and fitness to practice.
	YES



	 NO
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	12.
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology and speech-language pathology. I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations which are available on www.dhp.virginia.gov.

I certify by entering my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made on the application are true and complete. I understand that providing false or misleading information, as well as omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license/certificate/registration.

______________________________________________
Signature of Applicant
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