MD / DO Reinstatement Instructions and Application

03/16

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION OF LICENSE FOR MD AND DO.

Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years.  Do not complete this application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years.  

A completed application must be returned to this office along with the reinstatement fee of $497.00.  Applications and fees must be received together.  Only checks or money orders are accepted.  Please make your payment instrument payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.”

Certain forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426.    The phone number to the Virginia Board of Medicine is 804-367-4600.   The Board’s email address is medbd@dhp.virginia.gov  
Mailing Address

Virginia Board of Medicine

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300

Henrico, VA 23233-1463

INFORMATION REQUIRED TO COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION
(This form is designed to be used as a checklist for submitting required documentation)


1    
If you answer “yes” to any of the licensure questions #5-16 provide a written explanation on a 


   

separate piece of paper and attach it to the application.  If you have disciplinary action with another 


    

Board, attach a copy of the Board Order or other documentation.  If you have medical mal 


  

practice claims, attach a narrative that includes dates, your treatment of the patient and any payment 


   

made per settlement or judgement.  You may also provide a letter from your attorney.  If you have


  

misdemeanor or felony convictions attach a copy of the court documents.  

       medbd@dhp.virginia.gov2.
Forward Form B (Activity questionnaire) to all hospitals, clinics, doctor’s offices and all other locations where you have provided professional service including locations where you only held privilegs since your Virginia license expired but for no more than the past 5 years.  This form may be copied, if necessary.  This document may be faxed to the Board by the person completing it or sent via email to .  There are different forms for MD and DO.  Using the incorrect form will delay your reinstatement application. 
For applicants practicing tele-radiology or tele-pathology, a form B is only required from the medical director of the company to which you are employed. To be accepted, the Form B must be signed by the medical director with a complete professional evaluation. 
For applicants practicing all other forms of telemedicine and for Locum Tenens physicians, 

employment verifications must be received from each location of service in the past 5 years.

3.      Verification of a license to practice from all jurisdictions within the United States, its territories and   

 possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board.  
Please contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice as an MD or DO to inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine.  Many states use VERIDOC.ORG for license verifications.  It may be easier to check the VERIDOC website to see if your state participates before going to the state board websites.  Verification must come from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email to medboard@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.
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http://www.fsmb.org/pdc/4
Disciplinary Inquiry:    Contact the Federation of State Medical Boards at (817) 868-4083 or   to complete the on-line form. 

medbd@dhp.virginia.gov5       AMA Physician Profile –for MD -  Visit the AMA website at  http://info.commerce.ama-assn.org/AMA-profiles-hub  to order a profile. This document must come from the AMA and may be sent by email to  , faxed to (804) 527-4426 or mailed.
AOA Physician Profile -  for DO - Visit the AOA website https://www.doprofiles.org/sign_in.cfm  to order a profile. This document must come directly from the AOA. The AOA will mail your profile within 24 hours of your order. 

6.
Provide documentation of having completed continuing education hours equal to the requirement for the number of years in which the license has been lapsed. 

Please use the following guidelines to determine the continuing education hours needed for reinstatement.   

If your license has been expired for 2 to 2.5 years, provide 60 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 2.5 to 3 years, provide 75 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 3 to 3.5 years, provide 90 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 3.5 to 4 years, provide 105 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 4 or more years, provide 120 hours of CME.

If a practitioner has not engaged in active practice in his profession for more than four years and wishes to reinstate or reactivate his license, the board may require the practitioner to pass one of the following examinations. 

1. The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) given by the Federation of State Medical Boards. 

2. The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable Purpose Examination—USA (COMVEX-USA) given by the National Board of Osteopathic Examiners. 
7 .Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia.

Please note:

Applications will be acknowledged after receipt of the application of items that are missing.  Applications not completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board. Additional information may be requested after review by Board representatives.
Application fees are non-refundable.
Do not begin practice until you have been notified of approval.  Submission of an application does not guarantee reinstatement.  A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to Virginia laws and regulations. 
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1

	COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

BOARD OF MEDICINE

Department of Health Professions

9960 Mayland Drive, Ste. 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
(804) 367-4600      (804) 527-4426 Fax

Email:  medbd@dhp.virginia.gov


Application for  REINSTATEMENT of license To Practice Medicine

To the Board of Medicine of Virginia:

I hereby make reinstatement application for a license to practice as an (check which license applies)   ________MD or a _______DO in the Commonwealth of Virginia and submit the following statements:

1. Name in Full (Please Print or Type)

	Last
	First
	Middle



	Street
	City
	State
	ZIP Code



	Date of Birth

________  ________  ________

   Mo.        Day          Yr.
	 Maiden Name                                    Virginia License Number                     
	Social Security No. or VA Control No.*



Please submit address changes in writing immediately.

Please attach check or money order for $497.00 payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”.  Application will not be processed without the fee.  It will be returned.

Do not submit fee without an application or an application without a fee.  IT WILL BE RETURNED.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
APPROVED BY _______________________________________________________________________________________________

                                                                                                                     

         Date

	LICENSE NUMBER

010_-
	FEE

$ 497
	EXPIRATION DATE
	REINSTATEMENT DATE 




*In accordance with (54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities.  NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED TO ANY INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE ONE OF THESE NUMBERS.

**In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

2.  
List in chronological order all professional practices to include the location of service since the expiration date of your Virginia license                                   including any periods of non-professional activities or employment.  Please account for all time.  If engaged in private  practice,   list all hospital affiliations.    If none, please explain. CVs may be attached but do not substitute for completion of this page.
  From           To                                                  Name and Location                                                        Position Held

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______



 


____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______



 


____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

_________
__________  
______________________________________________________________​​​​​______


 



____________________________________________________________________



____________________________________________________________________

Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached during the day.  This information is not mandatory and if provided, will not be used for any purpose other than as a contact if staff has questions about your application.

	Work Number
	Home Number
	Email Address

	
	
	


3.
Do you intend to engage in the active practice of medicine/osteopathy in the Commonwealth of Virginia?       FORMCHECKBOX 
 Yes     FORMCHECKBOX 
 No
 
4. List all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a full license to practice medicine active, inactive or expired.  Indicate number

     and date issued. Temporary or intern / resident licenses need not be included.  
	                 Jurisdiction
	           Number Issued
	           Active/Inactive/Expired

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	


QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (5-16) is answered Yes, explain in a narrative to be attached to the application and include any relevant documentation from courts or attorneys.   Letters may be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits or criminal complaints.  



Yes        No

5. Have you ever been denied a license or the privilege of taking a licensure/competency examination by any 

      testing entity or licensing authority?  
____     ____

6. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of local, state or federal statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into

      any plea agreement relating to a felony or misdemeanor?  (Exclude traffic violations, except convictions for driving 

      under the influence and reckless driving.  
____     ____

7. Have you ever been denied clinical privileges or voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges for any reason? 
____     ____ 







 8.  Have you ever been placed on a corrective action plan, placed on probation or been dismissed or suspended or 

      requested to withdraw from any professional school, training program, hospital, etc.? 



       ____      ____

                                                                   

  9. Have you ever been terminated from employment or resigned in lieu of termination from any training 
      program,  hospital, healthcare facility, healthcare provider, provider network or malpractice insurance carrier?  
        ____     ____

10.  Have you ever had any disciplinary actions taken against any of your professional license/certificate/permit/registration

       related to your professional practice, are any actions pending or are you currently under investigation?               
 ____     ____

11.
Have you ever had any membership in a state or local professional society revoked, suspended, or sanctioned?  
 ____     ____

12.
Have you voluntarily withdrawn from any professional society while under investigation? 


              
         ____    ____

13.
 Do you have a physical disease, mental disorder, or any condition, which could affect your performance of

        professional duties? 









                       ____     ____

14.   Have you been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of alcohol/drugs or treated by, consulted with, 

        or been under the care of a professional for any substance abuse within the last two (2) years?  


        ____     ____

15.   Have you been in a health practitioner’s monitoring program within the last two (2) years?                                                    ____     ____

16.  Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the last ten (10) years?  If so, how many?  _______ 
        ____     ____

        If your answer is, “yes” please provide a written explanation on a separate sheet of paper. 

17.   Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to

        leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?  






        ____     ____

14. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT



I, ______________________________________________________, attest that I am the person referred to 
in the foregoing application and supporting documents.


I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past

and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities

(local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Medicine any information, files or records requested by the

Board in connection with the processing of individuals and groups listed above, any information which is material to me and 

my application.


I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations

of any kind, and I declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct. 

Should I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial, 

suspension, or revocation of my license to practice medicine and surgery in the Commonwealth of Virginia.








                    _________________________________________________











       Signature of Applicant
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