Board of Psychology 804/367-4697
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Richmeond, VA 23233-1463

GENERAL INFORMATION FOR CERTIFICATION AS A
SEX OFFENDER TREATMENT PROVIDER

ELIGIBILITY

The criteria for eligibility are set forth in sections 18 VAC 125-30-40, 18 VAC 125-30-50 and 18 VAC
125-30-60 in the enclosed Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment
Providers. Please read the regulations prior to completing your application. The Board cannot malke
exceptions to requirements that are set forth in regulation.

You must meet the following criteria to be considered for certification as a sex offender
treatment provider:

1. Degree requirement:
a. Hold a master’s or doctoral degree in social work, psychology, counseling or nursing form a

regionally accredited university; or

b. Hold a degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine from an institution that
1s approved by an accrediting agency recognized by the Virginia Board of Medicine.

2. Specialized training in sex offender treatment:
Have 50 clock hours of training as specified in 18VAC125-30-40 of the Regulations Governing the

Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers.

AND
3. Experience (Refer to 18VAC125-30-50 of the regulations):

Have a minimum of 100 hours of face-to-face supervision within the 2,000 hours experience with a
minimum of six hours per month. Supervision must be provided by an individual who is a certified
sex offender treatment provider and licensed by the Board of Medicine; Nursing; Licensed
Professional Counselors, Marriage and Family Therapists and Substance Abuse Professionals,
Psychology or Social Work.

(If you obtained post-degree clinical experience required for a mental health license within the past
ten years, you can receive credit for those hours of supervised experience that were in the delivery
of clinical assessment/treatment services with sex offender clients provided.:
a. You can document that the hours were in the treatment and assessment with sex offender
clients; and
b. The supervisor for those hours can attest that he is licensed and qualified to render services
to sex offender clients.)
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APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Submit application materials in one package to the address indicated above.

Form 1. Application

Part I. General Information

In accordance with §54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to include your Social Security
Number, or your Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles control number on your application.
Applications that lack this information will not be processed, and fees will not be refunded. Federal
and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement
activities. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and

will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided for by law.

Part . Education

To document completion of the degree requirement, you must submit an official transcript for each
institution listed in an unopened envelope with the Registrar’s stamp over the seal. Course descriptions
or syllabi may be requested if the content of the course is not clear from the fitle.

Part . Licensure/Certification

For each license or certificate listed, you must submit one copy of Form 2. I your license or
certificate was granted by oune of the boards in the Virginia Department of Health Professions,
there is no need to submit Form 2. Your Virginia licensing/certification information can be

accessed directly from this office.

Part IV. Training:

You must submit copies of certificates, diplomas, official transcripts or signature of the supervisor who
provided the training to document fifty clock hours of training in sex offender treatment. Course
descriptions or syllabi may be requested if the content of the course is not clear from the title.

Part V. Questions
Applications submitied without answers to any of the five questions in this section will not be

processed.

Affidavit
Applications submitted without a signed, notarized affidavit will not be processed.

Form 2. Licensure or Certification Verification of Applicant

Submit one copy of this form for each license or certificate indicated on Form 1. Complete Part I and
forward the form to the state or organization that granted the license or certification for completion.
Submit the completed verification form(s) with the rest of your application package. Applications will
not be processed if verification forms are not in the original sealed envelope. If your license or
certificate was granted by one of the boards in the Virginia Department of Health Professions,
there is no need to submit Form 2. Your Virginia licensing/certification information can be

accessed directly within the agency.
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Form 3. Verification of Sapervision

Part L.
Complete only Part I of this form and forward to the supervisor for completion of the remainder of the

form. Have the supervisor return the completed form to you in a sealed envelope with his or her
signature across the envelope seal. Parts (¢) and (d) do not have to be filled in until after August 6,
1998. Applications will not be processed if the verification forms are not in the original sealed
envelopes. Supervisors who are not licensed in Virginia must have their icense verified by their state

licensing board on Form 4.

Form 4. Licensure Verification of Qut-of-State Supervisor

Part I.
Have your supervisor complete only Part I of this form and forward the form with any necessary fees to

the state that granted the license for completion. Submit the completed verification form(s) with the
rest of your application package. Applications will not be processed if verification forms are not in the

original sealed envelope.

Transcript.
You must submit an official transcript in a unopened envelope with the Registrar’s stamp over the seal

to document completion of the degree requirement set forth in 18 VAC 125-30-40. Applications will
not be processed if the transcript is not in the original sealed envelope.

Reference Letters
Include reference letters from three licensed health care professionals who can attest to your skills and

experience in sex offender {reatment.

Fee
Include your check or money order for $90.00 made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.” The fee is

non-refundable. Applications submitted without the required fee will be returned.

CERTIFICATION

You will be notified in writing of the status of your application within 30 days of receipt of your
application in the Board office. If your application is approved, it will take about ten days for your
certificate to be processed and mailed. Copies of certificates cannot be faxed from the Board office.
Large wall diplomas will be mailed to certified individuals approximately 6 months after the initial
certification date.

Revised 4/09 3



