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GENERAL INFORMATION FOR LICENSURE BY ENDORSEMENT AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW)
The Board may endorse individuals that meet the following criteria: 

1.)  Currently licensed in good standing in another state; and

2.)  Have taken and passed the national examination at the Bachelor’s level or higher given by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)
3.) For BSW Applicant’s Only: Can attest to a minimum of 36 of the last 60 months of post-licensure active practice in another state or provide supervision documentation as required by Regulation 18VAC140-20-60.

If you are not sure which exam level you took, please contact your licensing Board.
Please read the Regulations before completing your application for licensure.

Endorsement from Another State

VIRGINIA DOES NOT HAVE RECIPROCITY WITH ANY STATE.  All applicants are required to complete the application process.  You may apply at any time. It is not required that you have a Virginia address in order to apply by for licensure. 

Please make copies of all forms enclosed in the application packet for your records.
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ELECTRONIC APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR 

LICENSURE AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) BY ENDORSEMENT

Submit the application materials in one package to the address indicated above.

Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents are submitted.

Supporting documentation:

Upon completion of the online LSW application you will be required to submit to the Board office the following items in a single packet:

Supporting Documentation:
APPLICANTS WITH A MSW DEGREE – Submit the following:


Out-of-State Licensure Verification: If you have ever held a licensure or certification to practice social work, whether current or expired, please send the enclosed verification form to the issuing jurisdiction. This verification is to be completed by the issuing jurisdiction and mailed back to you and included in your application packet. (Some jurisdictions charge a fee for this service. Check with that jurisdiction before sending the form. If the jurisdiction requires submitting this information directly to Virginia’s Board office, please have them indicate your name on the form so that it can be included with your packet for evaluation.) Online verifications will be accepted; however verifications older than six months will not be accepted.

Test Scores: Verification that you have passed the bachelors level or higher examination provided by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). This must be provided by the ASWB by calling (800) 225-6880. 

APPLICANTS WITH A BSW DEGREE – Submit all of the above information in addition to:

Verification of Post-Licensure Active Practice/Supervision Experience: 

· To validate your active post-licensure practice as a social worker, you must submit the Post-Licensure Active Practice form completed by your employer, a colleague, peer or a licensed practitioner who can attest to your post-licensure active practice in social work for 36 of the last 60 months. If you have had several jobs, please submit multiple verification forms equaling to a minimum of 36 months. 
OR

· If you do not have 36 months of post-licensure active practice, you must provide evidence of supervised experience requirements substantially equivalent to those outlined in 18VAC140-20-60. You can provide any of the following documentation to demonstrate that you received the equivalent supervision: 


1.) Verification of Casework Management and Supportive Services; or
2.) Copy of your licensure file from the original state in which you received your license; or
3.) Provide a copy of the regulations that were in place at the time that you were licensed in the state in which you received your license.
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