
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT AS A 
SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 

 
Application: 
 Fee: A fee of $195.00 for LCSW applicants and $135.00 for LSW applicants must be paid by check or money order 

made payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. The application can be used for one year 
from date of receipt. 

 
Supporting Documentation: 
Upon completion of the reinstatement application you will be required to submit to the Board the following items: 
 
 Out-of-State Licensure Verification: If you have ever held any other health or mental health licensure and/or 

certification, please send the enclosed verification form to the issuing jurisdiction. This verification is to be 
completed by the issuing jurisdiction and should be included in your application packet. Verifications older than six 
month will not be accepted. 
 Online verifications will be accepted; however online verifications must include the name of licensee, title of 

license, license number, issue and expiration date, and if there is any public information related to the 
license/certificate. 

 
 Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:  

 
• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) will be required to submit a minimum of 30 CE hours including four (4) hours 

that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the 
practice of social work in Virginia;  
 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit a minimum of 60 hours of CE including 
four (4) hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the practice of social work in Virginia. 

 
 Evidence of Competency: An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide evidence of competency to 

practice by documenting one of the following using the enclosed form:  
(i.) Active practice in another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application;  
(ii.) Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding 

application; or  
(iii.) Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months immediately 

preceding licensure in Virginia. 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

REINSTATEMENT 

SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 
I hereby submit an application for reinstatement of my Virginia license number _____________________.   

INSTRUCTIONS PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY  USE BLUE OR BLACK INK 
Applicant must complete all sections.  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name of Applicant (Last, First) Middle Initial 

 
Maiden Name 
 

Suffix 
 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number* 
 
 

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) 
 

Mailing Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 

 Home Telephone Number 
 

Public Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code)** 
 

 

Alternate Telephone Number 
 
 

 
E-mail Address 

 

LICENSURE/CERTIFICATION – List in order of attainment all the states in which you now hold or have ever held an 
occupational license or certificate to practice as a social worker in order of attainment.  

STATE LICENSE/CERTIFICATE 
NUMBER ISSUE DATE TYPE OF 

LICENSE/CERTIFICATE 

    

    

    

*In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number issued by the 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.   
**Licensure Address is Public Information and Published on the Internet. 
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ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS:                                                                                                

1. Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an occupational licensure or certification 
examination? 
If yes, state what type of occupational examination and where:  

   Yes       No 

2. Have you ever had any disciplinary action taken against an occupational license to practice or are 
any such actions pending?   
If yes, explain in detail on a separate sheet of paper. 

   Yes       No 

3. Have you ever been convicted of a violation of or pled nolo contendere to any federal, state, or 
local statute, regulation or ordinance or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or 
misdemeanor? (Excluding traffic violations and driving under the influence.)   
If yes, explain in detail on a separate sheet of paper and provide court documents. 

   Yes       No 

4. In the last twelve (12) months, have you been unable to practice social work by reason of excessive 
use of alcohol, drugs, chemicals or any other type of material or as a result of any mental or physical 
condition?  If yes, please provide an explanation on a separate sheet of paper. 

   Yes       No 

5. Have you ever been censored, warned, or requested to withdraw from your employment, terminated 
from any health care facility, agency, or practice?  If yes, provide an explanation on a separate sheet 
of paper. 

   Yes       No 

6. Are you the respondent in any pending or unresolved board action in another jurisdiction or in a 
malpractice claim?    Yes       No 

 

The following statement must be executed by a Notary Public.  This form is not valid unless properly notarized. 
 

AFFIDAVIT 
(To be completed before a notary public) 

 
State of _________________________          County/City of _________________________ 
 
Name __________________________________________________, being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who is referred 
to in the foregoing application for licensure in the Commonwealth of Virginia; that the statements herein contained are true in every 
respect, that he/she has complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and understands this affidavit. 
 
 
          ________________________________________ 
          Signature of Applicant 
 
          Subscribed to and sworn to before me this _______________ day of ____________________, 20____________________. 
 
 
          ________________________________________ 
          Signature of Notary Public 
 
         
          My commission expires _______________ day of ____________________, 20____________________.  
 
 
                 
                           SEAL 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 
APPLICANT OUT-OF-STATE LICENSURE VERIFICATION 

 
To be completed by applicant: 

Last Name _______________________________________ First Name ___________________________________ M.I. _______ 

Address __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

City _____________________________________________ State ___________________________ Zip Code ________________ 

Home Phone Number _______________________________ Work Number ____________________________________________ 

Email Address _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 

To be completed by state Board of Social Work:  

 

Title of License ___________________________________________ License Number ____________________________________ 

 

Issue Date _______________________________________________ Expiration Date _____________________________________ 

 

 By Examination   By Waiver   By Endorsement   Reciprocity 

Is there any public information relating to this license? 

   Yes (specify details on a separate sheet)    No 

 
Certification by the authorized Licensure Official of the State of ____________________________________________________ 
 
I certify that the information is correct. 
 
Authorized Licensure Official Name and Title __________________________________________________________________ 
 

 

State Seal 

 

Title of Board ______________________________________ 

Telephone Number __________________________________ 

Email Address ______________________________________ 

Date ______________________________________________ 
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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Richmond, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website: http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 
EVIDENCE OF COMPETENCY TO PRACTICE 

 
To be completed by applicant: 
 
I,  __________________________________________________, hereby authorize past and present employers, businesses,  
               (Printed Name of Applicant) 
professional associates and person references to release to the Virginia Board of Social Work (“Board”) any information requested 
by the Board in connection with the processing of my application. 
 
          ________________________________________ 
          Signature of Applicant 

 
To be completed by reference:  

 

Name of Reference:  _______________________________ Type of License Held:  __________________________________ 

 

Mailing Address of Reference (Street, and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code): 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Relationship to Applicant: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

I, __________________________________________________, declare under perjury under the laws of the 

             (Printed Name of Reference) 

Commonwealth of Virginia that __________________________________________________, candidate for 

                               (Printed Name of Applicant) 

reinstatement of licensure in the Commonwealth of Virginia was in active practice in: 

 another U.S. jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application 

 an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately preceding application 

  

from ______________________________________________ to _____________________________________________. 

(MM/DD/YY)                               (MM/DD/YY) 

 

__________________________________________________    _________________________________________ 

Signature of Reference     Date 
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