
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA  
BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website - http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 

GENERAL INFORMATION AND INSTRUCTIONS 
FOR LATE RENEWAL AS A  

SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 
 

A social worker or clinical social worker whose license has expired may renew that license within four years after its 
expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing education requirements; and  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the biennial license fee for each biennium as prescribed in 
18VAC140-20-30. 

 

Instructions: 
Submit the enclosed renewal request and supporting documentation in one package to the address indicated above. 
Please review this checklist to make certain that all the required documents are submitted. 
 
 Fee: the following fee must be paid: 
 

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) will be required to submit $110.00 fee, plus a $10.00 late fee for each 
missed renewal date which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of 
Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 
 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) will be required to submit $125.00 fee, plus a $10.00 late fee for 
each missed renewal date which must be paid by check or money order made payable to the “Treasurer of 
Virginia”. This fee is non-refundable. 

 
 Continuing Education (CE) Certificates:  
 

• Licensed Social Workers (LSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 15 hours including two (2) 
hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions or to laws 
governing the practice of social work in Virginia for each renewal. 
 

• Licensed Clinical Social Workers (LCSW) are required to complete CE for a minimum of 30 hours of 
including two (2) hours that pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for the behavioral health professions 
or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia for each renewal. 
 

 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-105 for the CE requirements and a list of board-approved activities. 

Please refer to Regulation 18VAC140-20-106 for information on documenting compliance with CE requirements. 

 

Revised 09/2015 – Request for Late Renewal Form   1 



 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

 

 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463 

(804) 367-4441 
Website – http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social  

 
FORM FOR LATE RENEWAL AS A SOCIAL WORKER (LSW) OR  

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORKER (LCSW) 
 

I hereby submit a request for late renewal of my Virginia license number _____________________.    

I.  GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name  (Last, First) 
 

(Middle Initial) 
 

(Maiden) 
 

(Suffix) 
 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number 
 
 

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YY) 
 

Mailing Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 
 
 

 Home Telephone Number 
 
 

Public Address (Street and/or Box Number, City, State, Zip Code) 
 
 
 
 

Alternate Telephone Number 
 
 
 

 
E-mail Address 

 

 
Check the box that applies to you: 
 

I have missed only one renewal and I am attesting to the completion of the required            15 (LSW) or            30 (LCSW) 

CE hours for the ________ year renewal period as listed in Regulation 18VAC140-20-105. 

 

 I have missed two renewals for the ________ and ________ year renewal periods. I am mailing copies of (check one) 

             15 or            30 hours of CE certificates for my first missed renewal, as well as, attesting to the completion of the 

required (check one)             15 (LSW) or            30 (LCSW) hours CE hours for the ________  year renewal period for my 

second missed renewal as listed in Regulation 18VAC140-20-105. 

 
 

SIGNATURE OF LICENSEE ________________________________________________ DATE _____________________  
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