|Board of Medicine|
Inquiries regarding Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, Chiropractic, Physician Assistant, Occupational Therapy, Respiratory Care, Licensed Acupuncture, Athletic Training, Certified Professional Midwifery, Radiologic Technology, Polysomnography, Behavior Analysis, Radiologist Assistant, Surgical Assistant and Surgical Technologists: (804) 367-4600
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
Looking for a career in healthcare?
|Other Citizen Services|
Emergency Regulations for Opioid Prescribing - Effective March 15, 2017
In response to the escalating opioid crisis in Virginia – and recently passed legislation – the Board of Medicine has promulgated regulations on the prescribing of opioids for pain and buprenorphine for treatment of substance abuse. The emergency regulations will remain in effect from March 15, 2017 to March 19, 2018 and will be replaced by permanent regulations during that time. A letter from Dr. William Harp, Executive Director of the Board summarizes the intent and content of these new regulations:
View Regulations Governing the Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine:
Registration for VDH's Addiction Disease Management TrainingsExpanding Care with the Virginia ARTS Benefit: Addressing The Disease of Addiction In Your Outpatient Clinic Removing the Frustration with Opiate Use
Read more about no cost statewide trainings for Clinicians and Behavioral Health Professionals!
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
Updated FAQs for Controlled Substances CE Requirements
The Board of Medicine is required by law to identify prescribers who must complete 2 hours of continuing education (CE) in pain management, proper prescribing of controlled substances, and the diagnosis and management of addiction. The Board is requiring all prescribers licensed by the Board of Medicine to obtain 2 hours of Type 1 (CAT I) CE in the 24 months prior to your next biennial renewal. It is the responsibility of the licensee to find and complete the CE activities. The links provided in the notification were only suggestions which contained some Type 1 activities and some Type 2 activities that would be useful to all prescribers. Other Type 1 CE activities can be found at other sites on the Internet. Please click here to read the FAQs related to Controlled Substances CE Requirements.
2017 Spring Break Zika Awareness Toolkit
Primarily a mosquito borne disease, the Zika virus is most impactful in warmer seasons when illness can be transmitted by insects carrying the virus from one person to another. Maintaining a keen awareness for the transmission and treatment of Zika virus infection is an imperative for healthcare practitioners.
Along with their Zika Virus information page, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) now offers a Spring Break Toolkit featuring printable infographics and online resources to help Virginians spread Zika awareness on social media.
VaAware.com offers resources for combating RX drug and heroin abuse
In response to this crisis of addiction, Governor Terry McAuliffe’s Task Force on Rx Drug and Heroin Abuse in Virginia recommended that state agencies create a comprehensive website. Here is VaAware.com, an online resource developed as an informational tool for all citizens of Virginia.
The site features specific pages for parents, educators, licensed practitioners, law enforcement officers and drug dependents, and offers best practices for recognizing, preventing, diagnosing, treating, and recovering from opioid/heroin abuse.
FDA News Release
The FDA announced on August 31, 2016 that strong warnings are issued against the concurrent use of prescription opioid analgesics and cough medicines along with benzodiazepines. Serious risks and death have been associated with this combination. For more information please read the annoucement
Zika Virus Task Force
Board of Nursing (BON) Executive Director Jay Douglas represents DHP and Virginia’s 13 health regulatory boards on Governor McAuliffe’s newly established Zika Virus Task Force. Read more
View Governor McAuliffe’s February 26th press release
Notice of Regulatory Change for Physician Assistant Practice Agreements
Effective July 1, 2016, the Virginia Board of Medicine no longer requires a physician assistant and his supervising physician to submit a practice agreement for Board approval prior to initiation of practice.
The current regulation 18VAC85-50-101 still requires a physician assistant and his supervising physician to enter into a written or electronic practice agreement. This practice agreement shall be made available to the Board upon request but does not require approval prior to initiation of practice.
The Board has revised its practice agreement and associated documents and these may be found on its “Forms and Applications” page. For more information please see the Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician Assistants under the Board’s “Laws & Regulations” page.
Autism Spectrum Disorder
Click here for Information on Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Learn more about how to fill out death certificates, your final act of patient care, at the following link.
Certification for the Use of Cannabidiol Oil or THC-A Oil
The Governor has signed legislation (SB1235 & HB1445) that authorizes a practitioner of medicine or osteopathy licensed by the Board of Medicine in the course of his professional practice to issue a written certification for the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of a patient’s intractable epilepsy. Here is the link to the certification form that must be completed by the physician.
Sign Up for the Prescription Monitoring Program
The 2014 Session of the General Assembly passed SB294 that establishes a requirement for all prescribers that treat humans to be registered with the Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP) upon application for or renewal of licensure beginning July 1, 2015. DHP is working to integrate this registration into the re-licensure process. The bill also has a requirement for prescribers of benzodiazepines and opiates to check the PMP at the initiation of treatment. You may wish to go ahead and sign up for the PMP now rather than waiting until next year. You can read the bill by clicking here.
Voluntary Registration Available to Surgical Technologists and Surgical Assistants
Regulations became effective on February 13, 2015 for the voluntary registration of surgical technologists and surgical assistants. Click here to view these regulations. The law passed by the 2014 General Assembly provided those with experience as a surgical technologist or surgical assistant the opportunity to register without holding one of the required credentials or having completed a training program. The date by which an individual with experience needed to register was July 1, 2015. Click here to view the law concerning surgical technologists. Click here to view the law regarding surgical assistants. Again, registration is voluntary, not mandatory. Registration is not necessary to practice as a surgical technologist or a surgical assistant.
New Procedure for Verification of Licensure
The Virginia Board of Medicine has teamed up with VeriDoc, Inc. to provide immediate verifications of licensure for our physicians and physician assistants to other state medical boards.
If you need a verification of your Virginia MD, DO, PA, Resident, or University Limited license sent to another state medical board, go to www.veridoc.org and follow the instructions to create and send an immediate verification. The fee charged by VeriDoc is $10.00.
If you need to have a verification of licensure sent to any entity other than a state medical board, or if your license type is not included above, please send your request along with a check or money order in the amount of $10 payable to the Treasurer of Virginia, to:
Virginia Board of Medicine
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable licensing specialist for your profession.
Public Health Information
Important Public Health Information from the Department of Health
Forms & Applications
Download the available forms and applications from the Board.
Continuing Education Forms can be found here.
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.
Laws & Regulations
Board Calendar and Past Board Meeting Minutes
View the calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
View the current Members of the Board
Read the latest Board newsletters.
View and download the list of available guidance documents. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.