|Board of Medicine|
Inquiries regarding Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, Chiropractic, Physician Assistant, Occupational Therapy, Respiratory Care, Licensed Acupuncture, Athletic Training, Certified Professional Midwifery, Radiologic Technology, Polysomnography, Behavior Analysis, Radiologist Assistant, Surgical Assistant and Surgical Technologists: (804) 367-4600
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
Looking for a career in healthcare?
|Other Citizen Services|
Free Buprenorphine Waiver Training
The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), Virginia Department of Health, and American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) are collaborating to offer a virtual "live" course that will cover all medications and treatments for opioid use disorder, and provides the required education needed to obtain the waiver to prescribe buprenorphine.
The next session is on Friday, August 3, 2018 from 11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. These sessions are webinar based ONLY.
This course is available for physicians, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants interested in seeking their waiver to prescribe buprenorphine for the treatment of opioid use disorder. This online session will deliver the required live portion of the total training hours. Following the training, participants who have successfully completed their course may apply to the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) to obtain their waiver.
Please go here to register: https://elearning.asam.org/p/VADOH2_2018. You will receive an email confirmation that you have registered. Following this confirmation email, you will receive an email from DMAS with the link for the live training.
Per ASAM's requirements, participants may take the four-hour online portion either before or after the "virtual" Project ECHO session. Participants must complete the online session within 30 days of the "virtual" Project ECHO session or they will not receive credit for the course. No partial credit will be given.
Participants can receive up to 8 hours of free CME by completing the virtual and online portions and meet the Board of Medicine requirement for 2 hours of continuing education in pain management, proper prescribing of controlled substances, and diagnosis and management of addiction.
There will be additional trainings on September 7, 2018; October 19, 2018; and November 2, 2018.
More information will be provided soon, which will include links to the required online portion of the total training hours. Links to register for the virtual trainings will be posted online at: http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/artstraining.
Certification for the Use of Cannabidiol Oil or THC-A Oil
House Bill 1251 was signed by Governor Northam on March 9, 2018 and became effective the same day. The new law authorizes a practitioner of medicine or osteopathy to issue a certification for the use of cannabidiol oil or THC-A oil for the treatment or to alleviate the symptoms of any diagnosed condition or disease determined by the practitioner to benefit from such use. Here is the link to the certification form.
Emergency Regulations for Opioid Prescribing - Amended August 24, 2017
Controlled Substances CE Requirements
The Board of Medicine is required by law to identify prescribers who must complete 2 hours of continuing education (CE) in pain management, proper prescribing of controlled substances, and the diagnosis and management of addiction. The Board is requiring all prescribers licensed by the Board of Medicine to obtain 2 hours of Type 1 (CAT I) CE in the 24 months prior to your next biennial renewal. It is the responsibility of the licensee to find and complete the CE activities. Here are helpful links to free, online Category I CME.
Request for Comment on Draft Regulations: May 22, 2018 to June 21, 2018
The Boards of Medicine and Nursing are seeking public comment on Draft Regulations to implement HB793 (Chapter 776 of 2018 General Assembly), legislation to authorize nurse practitioners who meet certain qualifications to practice without a practice agreement with a patient care team physician.
Autism Spectrum Disorder
Click here for Information on Autism Spectrum Disorder.
Procedure for Verification of Licensure
The Virginia Board of Medicine has teamed up with VeriDoc, Inc. to provide immediate verifications of licensure for our physicians and physician assistants to other state medical boards.
If you need a verification of your Virginia MD, DO, PA, Resident, or University Limited license sent to another state medical board, go to www.veridoc.org and follow the instructions to create and send an immediate verification. The fee charged by VeriDoc is $10.00.
If you need to have a verification of licensure sent to any entity other than a state medical board, or if your license type is not included above, please complete a Virginia license verification request form and submit with the appropriate processing fee.
Public Health Information
Important Public Health Information from the Department of Health
Forms & Applications
Download the available forms and applications from the Board.
Continuing Education Forms can be found here.
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.
Laws & Regulations
Board Calendar and Past Board Meeting Minutes
View the calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
View the current Members of the Board
Read the latest Board newsletters.
View and download the list of available guidance documents. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.