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Part I.   General Provisions. 

18VAC85-110-10. Definitions. 
A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them in §54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

Acupuncturist 

Board 

Licensed acupuncturist 

Practice of acupuncture 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"ACAOM" means the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. ACAOM replaces the National Accreditation Commission for Schools and Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 

"CCAOM" means the Council of Colleges of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 

"CNT course" means a Clean Needle Technique Course as administered by the CCAOM. 

"NCCAOM" means the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. 

18VAC85-110-20. Public participation. 

A separate board regulation, 18VAC85-11, entitled Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.
18VAC85-110-30. [Repealed] 

18VAC85-110-35. Fees. 

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be refundable: 

1. The application fee for a license to practice as an acupuncturist shall be $130. 

2. The fee for biennial active license renewal shall be $135; the fee for biennial inactive license renewal shall be $70. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active license shall be $108 and the fee for renewal of an inactive license shall be $54.
3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal within one renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. The fee for reinstatement of a license which has expired for two or more years shall be $180. 

5. The fee for a letter of good standing/verification of a license to another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

6. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to §54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. The fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. The fee for a duplicate renewal license shall be $5. 

9. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50. 
10. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal of a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 
18VAC85-110-36. Current name and address.

Each licensee shall furnish the board his current name and address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record provided or served to the licensee. Any change of name or address of record or the public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

Part II.  Requirements for Licensure.

18VAC85-110-40. [Repealed] 

18VAC85-110-50. Educational requirements: graduates of approved institutions or programs in the United States. 

A. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained prior to July 1, 1990, shall be as provided in this subsection. 

1. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as an acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of education in a school or college of acupuncture accredited by the ACAOM or other accrediting agencies approved by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of successful completion of an acupuncture course of study in an accredited school or college for acupuncture, providing evidence of not less than 1,000 hours of schooling in not less than a continuous 18-month period. 

2. The studies shall include not less than 700 didactic hours and not less than 250 clinical hours. Additional hours may be in either didactic or clinical hours based upon the school or college curriculum. 

B. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after July 1, 1990, shall be as provided in this subsection. 

An applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by ACAOM or any other accrediting agency approved by the Board of Medicine, that confers a degree or certificate in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of having a minimum of three academic years in length equivalent to 90 semester credit hours or 135 quarter credit hours. 

One academic year means full-time study completed in four quarters, two semesters, or three trimesters. A full-time continuous study program shall be a concentrated educational process in acupuncture which requires individual study with assigned materials in a classroom or clinical setting. 

C. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after July 1, 1999, shall be as provided in this subsection. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by ACAOM or any other accrediting agency approved by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of having a minimum of 1,725 hours of entry-level acupuncture education to include at least 1,000 didactic hours and 500 clinical hours. Clinical hours may include observation, as well as internship or treatment hours; the remaining 225 hours may be earned as either didactic or clinical. Correspondence programs or courses in acupuncture are excluded and may not be used to meet the requirements for acupuncture education. 
D. Requirements for acupuncture education obtained after February 1, 2011, shall be as provided in this subsection. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as a licensed acupuncturist on the basis of successful completion of education in a school or college for acupuncture accredited by ACAOM or any other accrediting agency approved by the Board of Medicine, which confers a degree or certificate in acupuncture in the United States, shall submit evidence of having a minimum of 1,905 hours of entry-level acupuncture education to include at least 1,155 didactic hours and 660 clinical hours. Clinical hours may include observation, as well as internship or treatment hours; the remaining 90 hours may be earned as either didactic or clinical hours. Correspondence programs or courses in acupuncture are excluded and may not be used to meet the requirements for acupuncture education.
E. An applicant from an acupuncture program in a school or college that has achieved candidacy status for accreditation by ACAOM shall be eligible for licensure provided the program meets the applicable requirements of subsection A, B, C, or D of this section, with the exception of full ACAOM accreditation.  

18VAC85-110-60. Requirements of foreign graduates of nonaccredited educational programs in acupuncture. 

A. An applicant who has completed an educational course of study in a school or college outside the United States or Canada that is not accredited by ACAOM or any other board-approved accrediting agency shall: 

1. Submit a transcript from his educational course of study in acupuncture to a credential evaluation service approved by the board to determine equivalency in education and training to that required in 18VAC85-110-50. 

2. Meet the examination requirements as prescribed in 18VAC85-110-80 and 18VAC85-110-90. 

B. All documents submitted to the board which are not in English must be translated into English and certified by the embassy of the issuing government or by a translating service. 
18VAC85-110-70. [Repealed] 

18VAC85-110-80. Examination requirements for licensure. 

The examination requirements for licensure shall consist of: 

1. Passing the NCCAOM comprehensive written examination, resulting in current, active certification by the NCCAOM at the time the application is filed with the board; 

2. Passing the Point Location Examination; and
3. Completing the CNT course as administered by the CCAOM. 

18VAC85-110-90. Test of spoken English requirements. 

A. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as an acupuncturist whose native language is not English and whose acupuncture education was also not in English shall submit evidence of having achieved a passing score as acceptable to the board on either the Test of Spoken English (TSE) or the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) administered by the Educational Testing Services. 

B. An applicant applying for licensure to practice as an acupuncturist whose native language is not English and whose acupuncture education was also not in English shall be exempt from the requirement for TSE or TOEFL if the majority of his clients speak the language of the acupuncturist. 

Part III.  Scope of Practice.

18VAC85-110-100. General requirements. 

Prior to performing acupuncture, a licensed acupuncturist shall obtain written documentation that the patient has received a diagnostic examination within the past six months by a licensed doctor of medicine, osteopathy, chiropractic, or podiatry acting within the scope of his practice or shall provide to the patient a written recommendation for such a diagnostic examination on a form specified by the board and signed by the patient. The original of the signed form shall be maintained in the patient's chart and a copy provided to the patient. 

18VAC85-110-110. Limitation of titles. 

A person practicing as a licensed acupuncturist is restricted to the use of the titles "Lic.Ac." or "L.Ac." and shall not use the terms "physician" or "doctor" in his name or practice unless he simultaneously uses a clarifying title, initials, abbreviation or designation or language. 

18VAC85-110-120. [Repealed] 

18VAC85-110-130. [Repealed] 

18VAC85-110-140. Sterilization practices and infection control. 

Acupuncture needles shall be presterilized, prewrapped, disposable needles, for the prevention of infection, to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the patient. Such needles shall be discarded after each patient treatment. 

18VAC85-110-145. Registration for voluntary practice by out-of-state licensees. 

Any licensed acupuncturist who does not hold a license to practice in Virginia and who seeks registration to practice under subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia on a voluntary basis under the auspices of a publicly supported, all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health care to populations of underserved people shall: 

1. File a complete application for registration on a form provided by the board at least five business days prior to engaging in such practice. An incomplete application will not be considered; 

2. Provide a complete record of professional licensure in each state in which he has held a license and a copy of any current license; 

3. Provide the name of the nonprofit organization, the dates and location of the voluntary provision of services; 

4. Pay a registration fee of $10; and 

5. Provide a notarized statement from a representative of the nonprofit organization attesting to its compliance with provisions of subdivision 27 of §54.1-2901 of the Code of Virginia. 

Part IV.  Renewal and Reinstatement of Licensure.

18VAC85-110-150. Biennial renewal of licensure. 

A. A licensed acupuncturist shall renew his license biennially during his birth month in each odd-numbered year by: 

1. Paying to the board the renewal fee as prescribed in subdivision 2 of 18VAC85-110-35; and 

2. Attesting to having current, active certification by the NCCAOM. 

B. A licensed acupuncturist whose license has not been renewed by the first day of the month following the month in which renewal is required shall not be licensed in Virginia. 

C. An additional fee to cover administrative costs for processing a late application renewal shall be imposed by the board as prescribed by subdivision 3 of 18VAC85-110-35. 

18VAC85-110-155. Inactive licensure. 

A. A licensed acupuncturist who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon a request on the renewal application and submission of the required fee, be issued an inactive license. 

1. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to maintain current, active certification by the NCCAOM. 

2. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any act requiring a license to practice acupuncture in Virginia. 

B. An inactive licensee may reactivate his license by: 

1. Submission of the required application; 

2. Payment of the difference between the current renewal fee for inactive licensure and the renewal fee for active licensure for the biennium in which the license is being reactivated; and 

3. Submission of documentation of having maintained current certification or having been recertified by the NCCAOM. 

C. The board reserves the right to deny a request for reactivation to any licensee who has been determined to have committed an act in violation of §54.1-2915 of the Code of Virginia or any provisions of this chapter. 

18VAC85-110-160. Reinstatement. 

A. A licensed acupuncturist who allows his license to lapse for a period of two years or more and chooses to resume his practice shall submit to the board a reinstatement application, information on practice and licensure in other jurisdictions for the period in which the license was lapsed in Virginia, proof of current, active certification by the NCCAOM, and the fee for reinstatement of his license as prescribed in subdivision 4 of 18VAC85-110-35. 

B. A licensed acupuncturist whose license has been revoked by the board and who wishes to be reinstated must make a new application to the board, hold current, active certification by the NCCAOM, and pay the fee for reinstatement of his license as prescribed in subdivision 6 of 18VAC85-110-35. 

18VAC85-110-161. Restricted volunteer license.

A. A licensed acupuncturist who held an unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of Medicine or by a board in another state as a licensee in good standing at the time the license expired or became inactive may be issued a restricted volunteer license to practice without compensation in a clinic that is organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health care services without charge in accordance with §54.1-106 of the Code of Virginia.  
B. To be issued a restricted volunteer license, a licensed acupuncturist shall submit an application to the board that documents compliance with requirements of §54.1-2928.1 of the Code of Virginia and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC85-110-35.
C. The licensee who intends to continue practicing with a restricted volunteer license shall renew  biennially during his birth month, meet the continued competency requirements prescribed in subsection D of this section, and pay to the board the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC85-110-35.  
D. The holder of a restricted volunteer license shall not be required to attest to hours of continuing education for the first renewal of such a license.  For each renewal thereafter, the licensee shall attest to obtaining 20 hours of continuing education acceptable to the NCCAOM, obtained within the last biennium. 

18VAC85-110-170. [Repealed] 

Part VI.   Standards of Professional Conduct.
18VAC85-110-175.  Confidentiality.

A practitioner shall not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality between a practitioner and a patient.  A breach of confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent or willful.   
18VAC85-110-176.  Patient records.

A. Practitioners shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 related to the confidentiality and disclosure of patient records.  
B. Practitioners shall provide patient records to another practitioner or to the patient or his 
Personal representative in a timely manner and in accordance with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia.
C. Practitioners shall properly manage patient records and shall maintain timely, accurate, legible and complete patient records.  
D. Practitioners shall maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years following the last patient encounter with the following exceptions:
1. Records of a minor child, including immunizations, shall be maintained until the child reaches the age of 18 or becomes emancipated, with a minimum time for record retention of six years from the last patient encounter regardless of the age of the child; or
2. Records that have previously been transferred to another practitioner or health care provider or provided to the patient or his personal representative; or
3. Records that are required by contractual obligation or federal law may need to be maintained for a longer period of time.   
E.  From October 19, 2005, practitioners shall post information or in some manner inform all patients concerning the time frame for record retention and destruction.  Patient records shall only be destroyed in a manner that protects patient confidentiality, such as by incineration or shredding. 
F.  When a practitioner is closing, selling or relocating his practice, he shall meet the requirements of  § 54.1-2405 of the Code of Virginia for giving notice that copies of records can be sent to any like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or provided to the patient.
18VAC85-110-177.  Practitioner-patient communication; termination of relationship.

A. Communication with patients.
1. Except as provided in § 32.1-127.1:03 F of the Code of Virginia, a practitioner shall accurately inform a patient or his legally authorized representative of his professional assessment and prescribed treatment or plan of care.  A practitioner shall not deliberately make a false or misleading statement regarding the practitioner’s skill or the efficacy or value of a treatment, or procedure prescribed or directed by the practitioner in the treatment of any disease or condition.
2. A practitioner shall present information to a patient or his legally authorized representative in understandable terms and encourage participation in the decisions regarding the patient’s care. 
3. Before any acupuncture treatment or procedure is performed, informed consent shall be obtained from the patient. Practitioners shall inform patients of the risks, benefits, and alternatives of the recommended treatment that a reasonably prudent licensed acupuncturist practicing in Virginia would tell a patient.  In the instance of a minor or a patient who is incapable of making an informed decision on his own behalf or is incapable of communicating such a decision due to a physical or mental disorder, the legally authorized person available to give consent shall be informed and the consent documented. 

B. Termination of the practitioner/patient relationship.

1. The practitioner or the patient may terminate the relationship.  In either case, the practitioner shall make a copy of the patient record available, except in situations where denial of access is allowed by law.
2. A practitioner shall not terminate the relationship or make his services unavailable without documented notice to the patient that allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of another practitioner. 
18VAC85-110-178. Practitioner responsibility.

A practitioner shall not:
1. Perform procedures or techniques that are outside the scope of his practice or for which he is not trained and individually competent;

2. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety or provide patient care outside of the subordinate’s scope of practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners shall delegate patient care only to subordinates who are properly trained and supervised; 
3. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or interaction in a health care setting that interferes with patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or
4. Exploit the practitioner/patient relationship for personal gain. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior prohibited in A 2 of this section. 

18VAC85-110-179. Advertising ethics. 

A. Any statement specifying a fee, whether standard, discounted or free, for professional services which does not include the cost of all related procedures, services and products which, to a substantial likelihood, will be necessary for the completion of the advertised service as it would be understood by an ordinarily prudent person shall be deemed to be deceptive or misleading, or both. Where reasonable disclosure of all relevant variables and considerations is made, a statement of a range of prices for specifically described services shall not be deemed to be deceptive or misleading. 
B. Advertising a discounted or free service, examination, or treatment and charging for any additional service, examination, or treatment which is performed as a result of and within 72 hours of the initial office visit in response to such advertisement is unprofessional conduct unless such professional services rendered are as a result of a bonafide emergency. This provision may not be waived by agreement of the patient and the practitioner.  
C. Advertisements of discounts shall disclose the full fee that has been discounted. The practitioner shall maintain documented evidence to substantiate the discounted fees and shall make such information available to a consumer upon request. 
D. A licensee shall disclose the complete name of the specialty board which conferred the certification when using or authorizing the use of the term “board certified” or any similar words or phrase calculated to convey the same meaning in any advertising for his practice. 
E. A licensee of the board shall not advertise information which is false, misleading, or deceptive.  For an advertisement for a single practitioner, it shall be presumed that the practitioner is responsible and accountable for the validity and truthfulness of its content.  For an advertisement for a practice in which there is more than one practitioner, the name of the practitioner or practitioners responsible and accountable for the content of the advertisement shall be documented and maintained by the practice for at least two years.

18VAC85-110-180. Dietary supplements. 

A. The recommendation or direction for the use of dietary supplements and the rationale for that recommendation shall be documented by the practitioner. The recommendation or direction shall be based upon a reasonable expectation that such use will result in a favorable patient outcome, including preventive practices, and that a greater benefit will be achieved than that which can be expected without such use. 

B. Dietary supplements, used singly or in combination, shall not be sold, dispensed, recommended, prescribed, or suggested in doses that would be contraindicated based on the individual patient's overall medical condition and medications. 

C. The practitioner shall conform to the standards of his particular branch of the healing arts in the therapeutic application of dietary supplement therapy. 

18VAC85-110-181. Solicitation or remuneration in exchange for referral. 

A practitioner shall not knowingly and willfully solicit or receive any remuneration, directly or indirectly, in return for referring an individual to a facility or institution as defined in §37.2-100 of the Code of Virginia, or hospital as defined in §32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia. 

Remuneration shall be defined as compensation, received in cash or in kind, but shall not include any payments, business arrangements, or payment practices allowed by Title 42, §1320a-7b(b) of the United States Code, as amended, or any regulations promulgated thereto. 

18VAC85-110-182. Sexual contact. 

A. For purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 12 and A 19 of the Code of Virginia and this section, sexual contact includes, but is not limited to, sexual behavior or verbal or physical behavior which: 
1. May reasonably be interpreted as intended for the sexual arousal or gratification of the practitioner, the patient, or both; or 
2. May reasonably be interpreted as romantic involvement with a patient regardless of whether such involvement occurs in the professional setting or outside of it. 
B. Sexual contact with a patient.
1. The determination of when a person is a patient for purposes of § 54.1-2915 A 19 of the Code of Virginia is made on a case-by-case basis with consideration given to the nature, extent, and context of the professional relationship between the practitioner and the person. The fact that a person is not actively receiving treatment or professional services from a practitioner is not determinative of this issue. A person is presumed to remain a patient until the patient-practitioner relationship is terminated. 
2. The consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the conduct nor negate the statutory prohibition. 
C. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former patient.
Sexual contact between a practitioner and a former patient after termination of the practitioner-patient relationship may still constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence of emotions derived from the professional relationship. 
D. Sexual contact between a practitioner and a key third party shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or influence derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. For purposes of this section, key third party of a patient shall mean: spouse or partner, parent or child, guardian, or legal representative of the patient.
E. Sexual contact between a supervisor and a trainee shall constitute unprofessional conduct if the sexual contact is a result of the exploitation of trust, knowledge or influence derived from the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is likely to have an adverse effect on patient care. 

18VAC85-110-183. Refusal to provide information. 

A practitioner shall not willfully refuse to provide information or records as requested or required by the board or its representative pursuant to an investigation or to the enforcement of a statute or regulation. 
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