|Board of Optometry|
Hours: M-F 8:15 - 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
News You Need: Regulatory Update
On January 15, 2015, changes to the following sections of the Regulations of the Virginia Board of Optometry became effective:
- 18VAC105-20-10. Licensure by examination.
- 18VAC105-20-15. Licensure by endorsement.
- 18VAC105-20-20. Fees.
- 18VAC105-20-45. Standards of Practice.
- 18VAC105-20-60. Renewal of licensure; reinstatement; renewal fees.
Message from the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB):
NTSB has recently adopted a safety study about the risk of impairment in transportation accidents. As a result, it has made several recommendations including publication and dissemination of a reminder to all prescribers and pharmacists of the importance of routinely discussing with patients the effect their diagnosed medical conditions or recommended drugs may have on their ability to safely operate a vehicle in any mode of transportation. Click here to read an excerpt from the study.
Virginia Board of Optometry supports the US Food and Drug Administration’s efforts to Alert Consumers of Risks Associated with Non-Prescription Decorative Contact Lenses
As consumers prepare for Halloween, the Virginia Board of Optometry is working to amplify the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) efforts to raise public awareness regarding the hazards of non-corrective decorative contact lenses sold without prescription. The FDA has partnered with the American Optometric Association and the Entertainment Industry Council to provide consumer education materials to people nationwide online at http://www.contactlensart.org.
The FDA collects information on adverse outcomes related to decorative contact lenses sold without a prescription. Optometrists are advised to submit an online report following the treatment of a problem linked to the use of cosmetic lenses to MedWatch, the FDA’s voluntary reporting program, or by phone at 1-800-FDA-1088.
Pursuant to § 54.1-3204(8) of the Code of Virginia, the sale and dispensing of contact lenses is limited to authorized entities. For information on filing a complaint regarding unauthorized sales of decorative contact lenses in Virginia, go to Department of Health Profession, Enforcement Division. Read the full media advisory here.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Address of record
Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from each health professional to be used by DHP for agency purposes. The Code also requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to DHP. (Note: the License Lookup feature on the DHP public website does not contain the full address. However, public addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service or the Board.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by written notification to the Board. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different from the address of record) at all times.
Online Licensing - Licensees can renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
Applications & Forms
Download the available forms and applications from the Board.
Laws & Regulations
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Optometry.
- Optometrist-Non TPA
- Optometrist-TPA Certified
- Professional Designation
Frequently Asked Questions
View and download the list of available guidance documents for the Virginia Board of Optometry. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current Members of the Board
View the calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings
For information about the Association of Regulatory Boards of Optometry and its national survey of complications from contact lenses dispensed without prescription and other ARBO activities.