|Board of Social Work|
Phone: (804) 367-4441
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Safe and effective COVID-19 vaccines are now available for anyone age 5 or older. Talk to your healthcare provider or pharmacist for more information.
(UPDATED June 22, 2022) Information on Continuity of Care and Temporary Authorization to Practice click here (Word document)
COVID-19 Updates from the Board on Test Centers, CE, and more
Click here for the latest information from the board about the COVID-19 pandemic. (Updated April 28, 2020)
The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) has information on the Coronavirus Disease for both healthcare professionals and the general public which is updated regularly, as new information becomes available. Read more here.
Have you downloaded COVIDWISE, Virginia's COVID-19 exposure notification app? Add your phone to the fight here.
Practice Analysis Task Force
The Association of Social Work Boards is recruiting volunteers for its Practice Analysis Task Force, offering licensed social workers the opportunity to participate behind the scenes in the next analysis of the practice of social work. Selected task force members will provide subject matter expertise to the association’s practice analysis process, reenvisioned as the Social Work Census. The task force will use the practice analysis survey results to shape the content outlines for the social work licensing examinations that will be released in January 2025.
"We undertake a practice analysis every five to seven years so that exam content remains relevant to the current practice of social work,” said Carl Hokanson, examination development director. “We are doubling the size of the task force to bring as many diverse voices to the table as possible."
All licensed or registered social workers practicing in the United States and Canada who have not previously been involved in the exam program are eligible for consideration. ASWB will select qualified applicants to build an inclusive group that reflects demographic and geographic diversity.
Submit the Practice Analysis Task Force interest form by April 8, 2022.
Changes to supervision requirements effective March 18, 2021.The Board has amended regulations to clarify that the definition of “face-to-face” may include the use of technology in the contact between a supervisee and a client and to add a definition for a “supervisory contract.” Other amendments will: (1) clarify that the educational requirements must be completed before persons begin their post-graduate supervised experience; (2) eliminate the requirement that a supervisee notify the Board whenever there is a change of location or supervised experiences; and (3) reiterate that a person must remain under supervision until issued a license. For more information on the changes to the supervision requirements that will be effective 3/18/2021 click here.
Revisions to Continued Competency Requirements for Renewal
In 2018, the Board introduced changes to the Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work to increase the continued education hour requirement pertaining to ethics or the standards of practice for behavioral health professions or to the laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia for social work licensees. The amended Regulations became effective on November 13, 2019. The effective change increased the minimum requirement for LCSWs from 2 hours to 6 hours and for LBSWs and LMSWs from 2 hours to 3 hours.
See this chart for clarification as to the number of CE hours currently required for each renewal period.For a current copy of the revised Regulations Governing the Practice of Social Work, please visit the Laws and Regulations page.
The Board has become aware of recent communications to licensees in Virginia and in other states that are designed to appear to be from a professional licensing board, but are fraudulent in nature. Read more.
Notification of Changes to Issuance of Licenses, Certifications and Registrations
The Board of Social Work will cease mailing hard-copy licenses, certifications, and registrations. During the next renewal, a final hard copy will be issued that contains no expiration date. The renewal period for Board of Social Work will begin in early May and the board will send out email notices at that time. This final copy should be maintained, carried, or posted in accordance with relevant applicable laws and regulations. State health regulatory boards, employers, insurance providers and citizens seeking verification of current licensure status in the Commonwealth of Virginia may obtain this information via License Lookup.
Replacement or duplicate of a final hard-copy license, certification, or registration may be requested through an individual online account.
License Verification Information
A Virginia licensee seeking to obtain a verification of his/her license, certification, or registration at no cost may do so by directing a board, employer, insurance provider or other interested parties to License Lookup. This content resource meets the accreditation standards for primary source verification from the top seven-accreditation organizations for healthcare professionals.
Email Communication from the Board
The Virginia Board of Social Work primarily communicates with licensees and applicants by email regarding applications and renewals. Please ensure that you add the board’s email address (firstname.lastname@example.org) to your safe recipient list to ensure that you receive all email communication from board staff.
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
Notice: Applications are typically processed within 6 weeks of the receipt of a complete file. Please refer to your online application checklist to ensure that all items have been received. Incomplete applications will not be processed.
Please review the Frequently Asked Questions and Licensure Process Handbook prior to contacting the Board office. You are also encouraged to email any questions to email@example.com. Board staff will respond to all messages as soon as possible. Thank you for understanding and cooperation as we focus on ensuring complete applications continue to be processed within 30 business days.
IMPORTANT PRACTICE INFORMATION!
If you work in a non-exempt setting, you are required to be licensed at the appropriate level or under board approved supervision in order to provide social work services to clients in Virginia in accordance with § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. For a list of exemptions from licensure, please review the Laws Governing Social Work.
- Applicants for registration of supervision or applicants for licensure can apply online. Click here to begin the online application process.
- Existing Licensees can renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Applications & Forms
Download Applications and Instructions available from the Board of Social Work.
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Social Work.
- Associate Social Worker
- Licensed Clinical Social Worker
- Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker
- Licensed Master’s Social Worker
- Registered Social Worker
Laws & Regulations
Keep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Social Work
View and download the list of available guidance documents from the Board of Social Work. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
Frequently Asked Questions
Find the answers to common questions
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.
- Healthcare Workforce Data Findings
- Pass/Fail Summary
- Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation
- Address of Record: Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia requires the Department
of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from
each health professional to be used by DHP for agency purposes. The Code
also requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional
to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address
of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public
dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that
his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public
address must be provided to DHP. (Note: the License Lookup feature on
the DHP public website does not contain the full address. However, public
addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service
or the Board.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence
for either the official address of record or the public address. A post
office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by written notification to the Board. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different from the address of record) at all times.