Board of Veterinary Medicine
Frequently Asked Questions
Please view the Board's Guidance Documents for more information on many of these topics.
How do I obtain application information?You may download the application and instructions from the website under forms and applications or request via e-mail or phone that a packet be mailed to you.
Am I required to take a state regulations examination?No; however, please note that your signature on your application attests to the statement that you have read, understood and will comply with any laws and regulations governing the practice of veterinary medicine and the use of controlled substances in Virginia.
How long does it take to become licensed?Upon receipt of all required documents, and no problem is indicated, applicant is licensed immediately.
Does Virginia allow reciprocity with any state?No; however, an applicant may request licensure through endorsement provided that the requirements of 18 VAC 150-20-120 of the veterinary medicine regulations have been met.
How do I change my name, postal or e-mail address?A name change must be made in writing with a copy of legal documentation of name change. A postal or e-mail address change can be revised on-line provided you have your assigned password. Otherwise, you may fax (804/527-4471) or e-mail (firstname.lastname@example.org) the board office.
What must I do when closing my practice?The Veterinarian-in-Charge must notify the Board in writing of the closure of the permitted facility 10 days prior to closure. (18 VAC 150-20-181.A(4)). Include in the written notification how the clients are being informed regarding access to their records and if you had any controlled drugs, what is being done with them.
How is a change of Veterinarian-in-Charge made?An application for a new permit, naming the Veterinarian-in-Charge (VIC), is to be made five days prior to the change of the VIC. (18 VAC 150-20-181.B). The Application for Veterinary Establishment form is used for this and may be downloaded from the Forms and Applications page. A $30 fee made payable to the "Treasurer of Virginia" must accompany the form.
How many hours of CE are required?Fifteen (15) hours are required annually for veterinarians and six (6) hours are required annually for veterinary technicians. CE hours can be obtained online and from journals of veterinary medicine. There is no limit on the number of hours that can be obtained online or through journals. CE courses or programs shall be related to the treatment and care of patients and shall be clinical courses in veterinary medicine or veterinary technology. For more information on CE, refer to 18 VAC 150-20-70 in our regulations.
What is the timeframe for obtaining CE?The licensure renewal period is January 1 through December 31 of each year.
Can CE be carried over to the next renewal?No
My continuing education course sponsor is not listed in the blanket listing of approved sponsors in the regulations, how do they obtain approval?Contact the American Association of Veterinary State Boards at www.aavsb.org or 1/877-698-8482 and ask how to get a sponsor approved through their RACE (Registry of Approved Continuing Education) program. The Virginia Board accepts RACE approved programs as long as they meet the clinical requirement.
How does the Board monitor licensee compliance with the requirements for continuing education?All active licensed veterinarians and licensed veterianary technicians must attest to CE compliance when renewing. They are required to maintain original documentation of continuing education taken for up to two (2) years. The documentation must verify the date and subject of each program or course, the number of continuing education hours or credits, and certification from an approved sponsor. Regulation Section 18 VAC 150-20-70(6) requires that the Board conduct a periodic random audit of veterinarians and veterinary technicians compliance with continuing education requirements. License numbers are randomly selected by computer and letters with specific instructions are sent to those audited. Please note that auditing is NOT done through veterinary establishment inspections. So, it is not necessary to maintain the documents on the site of a veterinary establishment. The documents merely need to be available to the licensee to send in if audited.
See link: Drug Law for Practitioners (MS Word)
- $175 – active veterinarian renewal fee
- $85 – inactive veterinarian renewal fee
- $50 – active veterinary technician renewal fee
- $25 – inactive veterinary technician renewal fee
- $70 - equine dental technician renewal fee
- $200 – animal facility permit renewal fee
- $60 – late renewal fee for veterinarians
- $25 - late renewal fee for equine dental technicians
- $75 - late renewal fee for facilities
- $20 – late fee for veterinary technicians
- $255 – reinstatement fee for veterinarians
- $95 – reinstatement fee for veterinary technicians
- $120 - reinstatement fee for equine dental technicians
For a complete list of fees, please refer to 18 VAC 150-20-100 in our Regulations