|Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology|
| Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Directions to the Board
Phone: (804) 367-4630
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
Growing number of Zika virus cases reported in Virginia
Primarily a mosquito borne disease, the Zika virus is most impactful in warmer seasons when illness can be transmitted by insects carrying the virus from one person to another. In fact, 15 cases have been reported in the Commonwealth as of May 12, 2016. Maintaining a keen awareness for the transmission and treatment of Zika virus infection is an imperative for healthcare practitioners. The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) offers a variety of related information and tools on its website.
Draft Report on the Need for and Impact of Licensure or Certification of Assistant Speech-Language Pathologists
The 2016 Session of the General Assembly passed HB252, which directed: “That the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology shall review the need for and impact of licensure or certification of assistant speech-language pathologists and report its findings to the Chairmen of the House Committee on Health, Welfare and Institutions and the Senate Committee on Education and Health by November 1, 2016.”In accordance, the Board directed the Chair to appoint an Ad Hoc Committee to conduct the review and report its findings to the Board. Click here to view the Draft Report. Comments on the Committee’s draft report should be sent to email@example.com. The Board will adopt a final report at its meeting on September 8, 2016.
News You Need: Regulatory Update
On January 15, 2015, changes to the following sections of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology became effective:
- 18VAC30-20-80. Fees.
- 18VAC30-20-160. Reinstatement of lapsed license.
- 18VAC30-20-170. Requirements for licensure.
- 18VAC30-20-171. Provisional licensure.
- 18VAC30-20-185. Licensure by endorsement.
Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Board Executive Director, Leslie Knachel, provides this update regarding licensure for School Speech-Language Pathologists with VDOE Endorsement.
Applications and Forms
Checklist and Application for Initial Application with Virginia Board of Education Endorsement: School Speech-Language Pathology License
FAQs for Application for Speech-Language Pathology Licensure with Virginia Board of Education Endorsement
APPLICANTS WHO DO NOT HOLD VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION ENDORSEMENT MUST APPLY USING AN APPLICATION FOUND ON THE APPLICATIONS AND FORMS PAGE
For additional information from the Department of Education, regarding state requirements for health regulatory board licensure of school Speech-Language Pathologists please click the links below.
New Guidance Documents
The following two guidance documents have been recently posted:
30-8, Requirements to Hold Licensure in Virginia to Practice Speech-Language Pathology
30-9, Continuing Education (CE) Audits and Sanctioning for Failure to Complete CE
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Address of record
Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from each health professional to be used by DHP for agency purposes. The Code also requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to DHP. (Note: the License Lookup feature on the DHP public website does not contain the full address. However, public addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service or the Board.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by written notification to the Board. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different from the address of record) at all times.
Verification Information: To request a verification of licensure submit your request in writing; include your full name, license number or social security number, your current mailing address and the address of where you want the verification sent. Attach the required processing fee of $20.00 check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
Allow three to five business days for processing. The board verifies profession, license number, issue date, expiration date, how the licensee obtained Virginia licensure, and if there have been any disciplinary actions. Should a licensee need their national scores verified they should contact the Education Testing Services (ETS) www.ets.org
Verifications received without the required fee will not be processed.
Mail your request and fee to:
Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463
You may request a fax confirmation of your licensure information at no additional charge by calling our automated verification line at 804-270-6836. Just enter your license number or social security number and you will be prompted to enter a fax number for delivery of the fax. You may also verify licensure information online by using License Lookup
Renew Online - Audiologists, Speech-Language Pathologists and School Speech-Language Pathologists can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
Forms & ApplicationsDownload the available Forms and Applications from the Virginia Board of Audiology & Speech - Language Pathology.
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.
- School Speech-Language Pathologist
- Speech-Language Pathologist
Laws & RegulationsKeep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology
Laws Governing All Health Professions
Guidance DocumentsView and download the list of available guidance documents from the Board of Audiology & Speech - Language Pathology. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current Members of the Board of Audiology & Speech-Language Pathology.
View the Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Regulatory Town HallThe Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.
Get the latest board news in the Board's newsletters.