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TIME TO RENEW 
Notices to renew dental licenses, dental hygiene licenses, dental assistant II 
registrations and related permits have been sent by e-mail.   Check your SPAM 
folder if you have not received the e-mail.  The fees for renewing this year have 
been reduced by approximately 50%.  The fee for a dentist is $142; the fee for a 
dental hygienist is $37; and, the fee for dental assistants II is $25.   These 
reductions apply only to the 2018 renewals. The renewal applications require 
licensees and registrants to certify they are familiar with all the laws and regulations 
governing practice in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  Click here to review the 
governing laws and regulations. 
 
RENEWAL SCHEDULE 
The Board has submitted a proposed Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
(NOIRA) to change the renewal schedule from March 31st each year to renewal in 
birth months to distribute the workload associated with renewals across a calendar 
year and should make the renewal deadline easier for licensees to remember. The 
NOIRA is under review and will be published for public comment when approved 
by the Governor.  The proposed change in the renewal schedule will occur in the 
calendar year after the effective date of the regulations.  There is no fee increase 
proposed for changing the renewal schedule.    
 
ADVERTISING DENTAL SPECIALTIES 
The Board adopted a regulatory action to amend 18VAC60-21-80(G) on false, 
deceptive and misleading advertising to replace the current limitation on 
advertising a claim of practicing a dental specialty unless such specialty is 
recognized by the National Certifying Boards for Dental Specialists of the 
American Dental Association.   The proposed amendment prohibits advertising 
unsubstantiated claims of professional superiority and references the statutory 
language in §54.1-2718 of the Code of Virginia on practicing under a firm or 
assumed name.  This action is under review and will be published when approved 
by the Governor.   
 
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIRED FOR REMOTE SUPERVISION  
A qualified dental hygienist may practice under remote supervision only at a 
federally qualified health center; charitable safety net facility; free clinic; long-
term care facility; elementary or secondary school; Head Start program; or 
women, infants, and children (WIC) program.   To qualify to practice under 
remote supervision a dental hygienist must complete a two hour course offered by 
an accredited dental education program or a listed sponsor which must address the 
seven content areas specified in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental 
Hygiene at 18VAC60-25-190.H.   

mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry/dentistry_laws_regs.htm
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8169
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8169
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=12122
http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=11993
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CONFORMING RULES TO ADA TEACHING GUIDELINES ON MODERATE SEDATION 
The public comment period on this regulatory action is currently open and will close on February 23, 2018.   
In recognition of the changes in the American Dental Association (ADA) Guidelines for Teaching the 
Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and Pain in Dentistry published in October of 2016, the Board proposes, in 
this regulatory action, to revise certain training requirements and terminology to be consistent with the ADA 
Guidelines.   The proposed changes are to amend the use of the term “conscious/moderate” sedation throughout 
the chapter to refer to “moderate” sedation; change the name of the ADA Guidelines consistent with the 2016 
title; and eliminate the training provisions for dentists to administer moderate sedation by an enteral method 
only.   Click here to review the proposed regulation.  
 
PRESCRIBING OPIOIDS FOR PAIN MANAGEMENT  
The Board is in the process of replacing these Emergency Regulations, which went into effect on April 24, 
2017, with proposed permanent regulations.   The Board proposes amendment of 18VAC60-21-103(A)(4) to 
require the dentist to consider whether a prescription for naloxone is necessary for a patient also taking 
benzodiazepines.  Prescribing naloxone for those patients is discretionary and dependent on the professional 
judgment of the dentist.  The proposed permanent regulations are currently under review and will be published 
for public comment when approved by the Governor.   
 
DENTAL ASSISTANT II (DAII) PROPOSED REGULATORY CHANGES 
The Board has initiated rulemaking to modify the DAII education provisions in response to recommendations 
made by the Regulatory Advisory Panel on the Education and Practice of Dental Assistants I and II.     The 
proposed comment draft addresses management of  DAII education programs and competency-based 
education requirements for the delegable duties a DAII might qualify to perform.  To see the proposed Notice 
of Intended Regulatory Action background document click on 8069.  The NOIRA will be sent out for public 
comment when the Governor approves publication of this action.   In this review process, the Board decided to 
take no action regarding practicing as a DAI. 
 
REGULATORY ADVISORY PANEL (RAP) REVIEWING REGULATIONS ON CONTROLLED 
SUBSTANCES, SEDATION AND ANESTHESIA 
The Board is currently working with this RAP to improve the clarity and consistency of the regulations for 
pre-operative, peri-operative and post-operative vital signs for each level of sedation and to address the use of 
end-tidal carbon dioxide monitors.  This review was initiated in response to a Petition for Rulemaking and 
began with an Open Forum for interested individuals and organizations to present their concerns and 
recommendations.   Click here to read the draft minutes and transcript of the Open Forum.  The RAP is 
meeting on February 2, 2018 to review the comments received, consider current national guidelines, and 
propose changes to the Board’s regulations.   The RAP’s proposal will be advanced to the Board’s 
Regulatory/Legislative Committee for review and discussion of the changes to be recommended to the Board.  
The Board will decide if it will advance recommendations for regulatory action by proposing a Notice of 
Intended Regulatory Action. 
 
POST GRADUATE YEAR ONE PATHWAY FOR LICENSURE 
At its June 9, 2017 meeting the Board voted to amend the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry to 
exempt applicants for dental licensure who complete a PGY-1 CODA accredited residency program from the 
Board’s clinical examination requirement.   Following that decision, the Board learned that legislation is 
needed to make this change because §54.1-2709(B) of the Code of Virginia requires applicants to have 
“…successfully completed a clinical examination acceptable to the Board…”  This matter was assigned to the 
Board’s Regulatory/Legislative Committee  for further review. 
 

 

http://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewXML.cfm?textid=12199
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http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry/minutes/2017/RegulatoryForum12012017_Draft.pdf
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COMPLAINTS, DISCIPLINE AND OTHER BOARD ACTIONS 
From July 1, 2017 to December 31, 2017, the Board received 194 complaints against its licensees and closed 198 
cases.  On December 31, 2017, the Board had 249 open cases at various stages in the case adjudication process. 
 

• Of the 198 cases closed, 104 were closed with no violation found and 43 were closed as undetermined. 
 

• In this period, the Board held 4 formal hearings and 26 informal conferences; entered into 10 Consent 
Orders in lieu of proceeding to an administrative hearing; closed 4 cases with a Confidential Consent 
Agreement; closed 15 cases with Advisory Letters; and closed one applicant case as ineligible.   
 

• The Board mandatorily suspended two dental licenses during this time.  One licensee was mandatorily 
suspended based upon evidence that their license to practice dentistry in another state had been 
surrendered in lieu of further disciplinary action in that state.  The second licensee was mandatorily 
suspended based upon evidence that they were convicted of a felony offense in the Commonwealth of 
Virginia. 
 

• The Board also summarily suspended one dental hygiene license.  This summary suspension addressed 
the licensee practicing dental hygiene on a suspended license and being unsafe to practice dental hygiene 
due to use of alcohol or drugs. 
 

• One of the formal hearings denied reinstatement applications based on allegations of the conviction of 
multiple misdemeanors involving moral turpitude, substance abuse and providing false and/or misleading 
information on their application for reinstatement.  Another formal hearing based on standard of care 
allegations concerning the failure of a dentist to examine a patient when they presented to the dentist 
office.  The Board also conducted a formal hearing based on the standard of care allegations concerning 
the placement of a crown and recordkeeping allegations.  Finally, the Board denied licensure to an 
applicant at a formal hearing as a result of failing to meet the requirements for licensure. 
 

• Of the 26 informal conferences held, the Board addressed allegations of: 
 

1. Failing to completely remove decay; 
2. Failing to have the name of every dentist practicing at the office displayed at the entrance;  
3. Allowing a dental assistant to perform soft relines using the Versacryl reline system, which is a 

not a delegable duty for a Dental Assistant I; 
4. Preparing a tooth, with advanced periodontal disease with bone loss and subgingival calculus, for 

a crown without treating such disease; 
5. Failing to utilize an ultrasonic cleaner for cavitation of instruments prior to sterilization; 
6. Reusing disposable high volume suction tips and plastic impression trays after placement in cold 

sterilization; 
7. Failing to use sharps containers or appropriate biohazard containers for used needles; 
8. Billing a patient for a full mouth series of radiographs when a CT scan was actually taken; 
9. Failing to notify patients prior to closing a dental office; and 
10. Delivering a crown on a tooth in which a margin was not on sound structure and below the crestal 

bone level in violation of the biologic width.  
 
Despite the Board’s request for a complete copy of patient treatment records at the time of investigation, it is not 
uncommon for a licensee to come to an informal conference with additional patient documents, which lead to 
dismissal of the case.  Had such documents been provided when they were first requested, it is likely the licensee 
would never have been issued a public notice of allegations and been required to appear before the Board.  


