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INSTRUCTIONS FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 

ADDING ADDITIONAL COURSES 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE 

CE Providers shall expire on July 1 of each year and may be renewed with renewal fee, if the courses and instructors 

offered for the upcoming year will not change from the previous year.  If there are any changes to the courses and 

instructors offered, such as the title, etc., prior approval is required in addition to the provider fee and resubmission of 

documentation on courses and instructors.  

To be considered for approval, submit application 60 days prior to offering continuing education course(s). In an effort to 

reduce paper the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is accepting applications and supporting materials 

via compact disc (CD); this method is also expected to increase the turn around time for review.  

If an email address is provided, application acknowledgments may be sent via email. 

Submit paper application, fee, and one (1) CD to the board address above.  The format of the CDs must be 

submitted in PDF file.  CDs will not be returned.   

To facilitate review, Continuing Education Providers are asked to bookmark items below in the order listed, on all three (3) 

CDs: 

 title of course, objectives, and number of continuing education hours 

 syllabus of course 

 instructional plan 

 course instructor credentials 

 evaluation forms to be used with program 

 sample certificate of completion for CE 

 advertising brochure for program 

There will be no refund of the application fee whether approval is granted or denied.  ALL FEES ARE NON-

REFUNDABLE. 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS FOR FUNERAL LICENSEES – effective July 1, 2012. 

§ 54.1-2816.1. Continuing education requirements:

B. The Board shall approve criteria for continuing education courses, requiring no more than five hours per year,

that are directly related to the respective license and scope of practice of funeral service licensees, funeral

directors and embalmers. Approved continuing education courses shall include, but not be limited to, at least one

hour per year covering compliance with federal or state laws and regulations governing the profession, and at

least one hour per year covering preneed funeral arrangements. Course providers may be required to register

continuing education courses with the Board pursuant to Board regulations. The Board shall not allow continuing

education credit for courses where the principal purpose of the course is to promote, sell or offer goods, products

or services to funeral homes. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice of funeral service.
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CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER APPLICATION 

ADDITIONAL COURSES

Application fee is $300.00 check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 

ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.   

In an effort to reduce paper, the board office is no longer accepting paper documentation as a part of 

the application process; CE Providers must provide coursework, in Adobe, on one (1) CD for review and 

approval by the Board.  Submit this paper application, three (3) CDs, and the application fee to the board 

office address above. 

1. INFORMATION (Please Print or Type) Provide Legal Full Name

Continuing Education Provider Name 

Mailing Address: Street City State ZIP Code 

Location Address: Street(where records will be 

maintained for 3 years) 

City State ZIP Code 

Business Phone No. Fax Phone No. 

Name and Title of Person Responsible for CE 

Programs 

Presenter’s Name and Title 

Contact E-mail Address: 

Course Name 

Submit address changes in writing immediately.  Applications will not be processed and will be returned without the 

required fee.  Applications will remain in process no longer than one (1) year.  If, at the end of one (1) year, a 

license/certification is not issued, the application file is destroyed. An applicant shall reapply for licensure, submit 

fees, required documentation, and meet the qualifications for licensure/certification in effect at the time of the new 

application. 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

Date sent to Committee CE Provider No. Applicant No. FEE Receipt No. 

Approved 

 YES   NO 

Approval Signature and Date 
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Checklist for Application Package    

 Application Fee 

THESE ITEMS MUST BE BOOKMARKED ON THE CD IN THE ORDER BELOW 

 Title of course, objective, and number of continuing education hours- Courses must be directly related 

to the scope of practice of funeral services.  Courses for which the principal purpose is to promote, sell, or 

offer goods, products or services to funeral homes are not acceptable for the purpose of the credit toward 

renewal. 18 VAC 65-20-151.B. 

 Syllabus of Course – Include title, outline/syllabus of the program. 

 Instructional Plan 

 Course Instructor Credentials – Information must include presenter’s funeral service license, license 

number, state of licensure and date of license expiration, etc. 

 Evaluation Forms to be Used with Program – to include consumer satisfaction forms, test forms, etc. 

 Sample Certificate of Completion for CE Program 

 Advertising Brochure for Program 

 Three (3) compact discs (CDs) enclosed with the above information 

4. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

As a Board approved Continuing Education Provider, an authorized agent of the Board/Department may conduct

onsite monitoring of the program(s) without payment of registration fees. It is further agreed to provide the

Board/Department, upon request anytime within four years of the program date, documentation of program content,

names of participants, and hours awarded.  Authorization is hereby given to all organizations, references, business

and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities (local, state,

federal, or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, files, or records requested

by the Board in connection with the processing of this application.  I declare under penalty of perjury that my

answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish any false information in this

application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial of registration to provide continuing

education.  Further, I have read and understand the Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers

statutes and regulations.

Print Name of Person Responsible for CE Program Title 

Signature Date 


