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[bookmark: _GoBack]INSTRUCTIONS/CHECKLIST FOR REINSTATEMENT OF AN EXPIRED LICENSE

READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

· Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations.
 
· Application processing and documentation: Applicant is responsible for notifying the source of the require documents to submit information directly to the board office by email, fax or postal mail. Optional forms for licensure and employment verification are available, if needed. Please allow 21 business days from initial mailing for board staff to receive and process an application. An initial email will be forwarded that provides notification of receipt and a list of any missing application documentation. 

· Application and Fee: Application and fee must be submitted together by postal mail. An application fee of $135.00 is required; make check or money order payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.” All fees are nonrefundable.

· License expiration dates: License will expire on June 30 of current renewal cycle in which the license is reinstated.

· Board Communication: The Board’s method of communication with applicants is via email.

If license has been lapsed more than one year and less than five (5) years, licensee must provide:
□  Option 1
· Verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board. (Note: Board staff is able to download ASHA certificates.)
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: SLPs do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 2
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (include copies of certificates) of 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed. (Note: An ASHA CE transcript is acceptable.)
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: SLPs do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 3 for School SLPs only
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (include copies of certificates) of 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed. (Note: An ASHA CE transcript is acceptable.)
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: Do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)

If license has been lapsed for more than five (5) years, licensee must meet one of the options listed below:
□  Option 4
· Verification of a current and unrestricted Certificate of Clinical Competence or certification by the American Board of Audiology or any other accrediting body recognized by the board (board staff will download from ASHA website). (Note: If certification is from American Board of Audiology, documentation of passage of the qualifying examination from an accrediting body recognized by the Board is required).
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: SLPs do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 5
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (include copies of certificates) of 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed.
· Verification of current licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction. (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
· Employment verification on company letterhead confirming active practice for at least one year of the past three years. If no active practice, board may issue a provisional license to practice in accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 for six months and submit a recommendation for licensure from supervisor. Upon completion of six months of provisional practice, submit a recommendation from supervisor.
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: SLPs do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 6 for School SLPs only
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (include copies of certificates) of 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed.
· Verification of a Masters or Doctoral degree in speech-language pathology.
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: Do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 7 for School SLPs only
· Completion of CE Activity & Assessment Form and documentation (include copies of certificates) of 10 continuing education hours for each year the license has been lapsed, not to exceed 30 hours obtained during the time the license in Virginia was lapsed.
· Verification of current licensure in another U.S. jurisdiction. (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
· Employment verification on company letterhead confirming active practice for at least one year of the past three years. If no active practice, board may issue a provisional license to practice in accordance with 18VAC30-21-70 for six months and submit a recommendation for licensure from supervisor. Upon completion of six months of provisional practice, submit a recommendation from supervisor.
· License verification of all licenses ever held, including expired, in another U.S. jurisdiction. (Note: Do not include teaching certificates). (NOTE: Staff will obtain licensure verification from the states that provide online primary source verification that includes disciplinary history.)
□  Option 8 Applicants who have completed the requirements of a provisional license for reinstatement
· Verification from supervisor, on company letterhead, indicating recommendation for licensure.


Application for Reinstatement of an Expired Virginia License

|_|  Audiologist   |_|  Speech-Language Pathologist   |_|  School Speech-Language Pathologist

Full Name (Please Print or Type)    
	Last:
	First:
	Middle Initial:

	
	
	

	Have you ever been known by any other name? Yes  |_|  No  |_| If yes, state in full every name by which you have been known. If the name stated above does not match name on required documentation, a copy of legal name change (i.e. marriage license or divorce) is required.

	Other names:

	Public Address for Disclosure:
	City:
	State:
	Zip Code:
	Telephone Number:

	
	
	
	
	

	Address of Record (Mailing Address):
	City:
	State:
	Zip Code:
	Telephone Number:

	
	
	
	
	

	ADDRESS: Virginia law allows persons regulated by boards within the Department of Health Professions to provide an alternative address for public disclosure if they want their address of record to remain confidential, used only for agency purposes. Health professionals may choose to provide a work address, a post office box, or a home address as the public address. If an alternative public address is not provided, the address of record will also be used as the public address and may be disclosed if specifically requested. Addresses of individuals are not posted on the License Lookup program available through the board's website.

	*Social Security No. or Virginia DMV No.
	Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)
	Email Address:   Public |_|           Private |_|

	
	
	

	Are you active-duty military?
	YES |_|
	NO |_|

	Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?
	YES |_|
	NO |_|

	Are you relocating to Virginia or an adjoining state or the District of Columbia with a spouse who is 
1) On federal active duty orders; or 
2) A veteran who has left active duty service within one year of submission of this application?
	

YES |_|
YES |_|
	

NO |_|
NO |_|

	Graduation Date (mm/dd/yyyy)
	Professional Degree(s)
	School				City		          State

	
	
	


*In accordance with 54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia.  A fee and disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

ORIGINAL ISSUE DATE: ________________________ EXPIRATION DATE: ________________________

	APPLICANT #
	FEE
	RECEIPT #
	EXEC DIRECTOR APPROVAL/DATE
	LICENSE #
	REINSTATE DATE


	
	
	
	
	
	

	
1.   List passage date (mm/dd/yyyy) of qualifying national examination:
	

	2.   Have you actively been engaged in the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology prior to 
      seeking reinstatement of licensure in Virginia?
	YES
  |_|
	NO
 |_|

	3.   ASHA certification number:

	

	4.   List all professional practice since license expired. Employment verification is required.

	Began Date
mm/dd/yyyy
	End Date
mm/dd/yyyy
	Name of Practice/City/State/Phone
	Type of Practice
(Private or Public Sector)

	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	

	5.   List all U.S. jurisdictions in which you have ever been issued a professional license, including expired, to practice 
      audiology or speech-language pathology (does not include teaching certificates issued by the Department of
      Education). If more space is required, please record on separate paper.

	Jurisdiction
	License #
	Issue Date
(mm/dd/yyyy)
	Years of Practice
	License Status (active/expired/inactive/revoked/suspended)

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	
	
	
	
	

	QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED.  If any of the following questions (6-12) are answered yes, explain and provide documentation. Letters must be submitted by your attorney regarding malpractice suits.

	6. 	Have you ever been convicted of a violation of, or pled Nolo Contendere to, any federal, state or local statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor, to include convictions for driving under the influence (DUI) and excludes traffic violations? Attach your original criminal history record, a certified copy of any final order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with lawful authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and any other information you wish to be considered with your application (i.e. information on the status of incarceration, parole, or probation, reference letters, etc.).
	

YES
  |_|
	

NO
 |_|

	7.   Within the past five years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question 	your ability
      to practice in a competent and professional manner?

	(A) Please provide a full explanation (use a separate page).
	(B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  |_|  Yes   |_|  No
	

YES
  |_|
	

NO
 |_|

	8.   Within the past five years, have you been disciplined by any entity?

(A) Please provide a full explanation and any associated orders or letters from the entity (use a separate page).
	(B) Within the past five years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or 	behavior?  |_|  Yes   |_|  No
	

YES
  |_|
	

NO
 |_|

	9.  Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any
     of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” 
     means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as
     a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist.

    If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter from your 
    current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. You may consider 
    providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the 
    Board.)
	


YES
  |_|

	


NO
 |_|


	10.	Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to 	perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent 	manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on 	your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-language pathologist.

      If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
      from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice.
      You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this  
      documentation directly to the Board.)

	


YES
  |_|

	


NO
 |_|


	11.	Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or
      limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in
      a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition could reasonably
      have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing audiologist or speech-	language pathologist.
	
      If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
   from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. 
   You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this  
   documentation directly to the Board.)

	


YES
  |_|

	


NO
 |_|


	12.  Within the past 5 years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to 
       avoid disciplinary action by any entity?

     If yes, please provide a full explanation (use separate page). (NOTE: The Board may request a letter
     from your current treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice.
     You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have your provider send this  
     documentation directly to the Board.)

	

YES
  |_|

	

NO
 |_|





	13. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT
	
I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of audiology or speech-language pathology. I hereby agree to abide by and remain current with the applicable laws and regulations, which are available on the Board’s website.

I certify by entering my signature below: I am the person applying for licensure/certification/registration and meet the qualifications required by Virginia law and regulations. Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and reviewed by me, and that statements made on the application are true and complete. I understand that providing false or misleading information, as well as omitting information, in response to information requested in this application or as part of the application process are considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary action against an existing license/certificate/registration.




______________________________________________

Signature of Applicant
   						                           







	Revised: 06/09/2020
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