
Legal Requirements to Report 

Child Abuse and Adult Abuse 

 

Child Abuse 

Report Child Abuse/Neglect to Child Protective Services (CPS)  

 In Virginia: (800) 552-7096  

 Out-of-state: (804) 786-8536  

 Hearing-impaired: (800) 828-1120  

The Virginia Department of Social Services operates a CPS Hotline 24/7 to support local 

departments of social services by receiving reports of child abuse and neglect and referring them 

to the appropriate local department of social services. The CPS Hotline is staffed by trained 

social workers.  

Code of Virginia requires reporting of child abuse as follows:   

§ 63.2-1509. (Effective until July 1, 2021) Requirement that certain injuries to children be 

reported by physicians, nurses, teachers, etc.; penalty for failure to report. 

A. The following persons who, in their professional or official capacity, have reason to suspect 

that a child is an abused or neglected child, shall report the matter immediately to the local 

department of the county or city wherein the child resides or wherein the abuse or neglect is 

believed to have occurred or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline: 

1. Any person licensed to practice medicine or any of the healing arts; 

2. Any hospital resident or intern, and any person employed in the nursing profession; 

3. Any person employed as a social worker or family-services specialist; 

4. Any probation officer; 

5. Any teacher or other person employed in a public or private school, kindergarten or nursery 

school; 

6. Any person providing full-time or part-time child care for pay on a regularly planned basis; 

7. Any mental health professional; 

8. Any law-enforcement officer or animal control officer; 

9. Any mediator eligible to receive court referrals pursuant to § 8.01-576.8; 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/8.01-576.8/


10. Any professional staff person, not previously enumerated, employed by a private or state-

operated hospital, institution or facility to which children have been committed or where children 

have been placed for care and treatment; 

11. Any person 18 years of age or older associated with or employed by any public or private 

organization responsible for the care, custody or control of children; 

12. Any person who is designated a court-appointed special advocate pursuant to Article 5 (§ 

9.1-151 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1; 

13. Any person 18 years of age or older who has received training approved by the Department 

of Social Services for the purposes of recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; 

14. Any person employed by a local department as defined in § 63.2-100 who determines 

eligibility for public assistance; 

15. Any emergency medical services provider certified by the Board of Health pursuant to § 

32.1-111.5, unless such provider immediately reports the matter directly to the attending 

physician at the hospital to which the child is transported, who shall make such report forthwith; 

16. Any athletic coach, director or other person 18 years of age or older employed by or 

volunteering with a public or private sports organization or team; 

17. Administrators or employees 18 years of age or older of public or private day camps, youth 

centers and youth recreation programs; 

18. Any person employed by a public or private institution of higher education other than an 

attorney who is employed by a public or private institution of higher education as it relates to 

information gained in the course of providing legal representation to a client; and 

19. Any minister, priest, rabbi, imam, or duly accredited practitioner of any religious 

organization or denomination usually referred to as a church, unless the information supporting 

the suspicion of child abuse or neglect (i) is required by the doctrine of the religious organization 

or denomination to be kept in a confidential manner or (ii) would be subject to § 8.01-400 or 

19.2-271.3 if offered as evidence in court. 

If neither the locality in which the child resides nor where the abuse or neglect is believed to 

have occurred is known, then such report shall be made to the local department of the county or 

city where the abuse or neglect was discovered or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and 

neglect hotline. 

If an employee of the local department is suspected of abusing or neglecting a child, the report 

shall be made to the court of the county or city where the abuse or neglect was discovered. Upon 

receipt of such a report by the court, the judge shall assign the report to a local department that is 

not the employer of the suspected employee for investigation or family assessment. The judge 
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may consult with the Department in selecting a local department to respond to the report or the 

complaint. 

If the information is received by a teacher, staff member, resident, intern or nurse in the course of 

professional services in a hospital, school or similar institution, such person may, in place of said 

report, immediately notify the person in charge of the institution or department, or his designee, 

who shall make such report forthwith. If the initial report of suspected abuse or neglect is made 

to the person in charge of the institution or department, or his designee, pursuant to this 

subsection, such person shall notify the teacher, staff member, resident, intern or nurse who 

made the initial report when the report of suspected child abuse or neglect is made to the local 

department or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline, and of the name of 

the individual receiving the report, and shall forward any communication resulting from the 

report, including any information about any actions taken regarding the report, to the person who 

made the initial report. 

The initial report may be an oral report but such report shall be reduced to writing by the child 

abuse coordinator of the local department on a form prescribed by the Board. Any person 

required to make the report pursuant to this subsection shall disclose all information that is the 

basis for his suspicion of abuse or neglect of the child and, upon request, shall make available to 

the child-protective services coordinator and the local department, which is the agency of 

jurisdiction, any information, records, or reports that document the basis for the report. All 

persons required by this subsection to report suspected abuse or neglect who maintain a record of 

a child who is the subject of such a report shall cooperate with the investigating agency and shall 

make related information, records and reports available to the investigating agency unless such 

disclosure violates the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 U.S.C. § 1232g). 

Provision of such information, records, and reports by a health care provider shall not be 

prohibited by § 8.01-399. Criminal investigative reports received from law-enforcement agencies 

shall not be further disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall they be subject to public 

disclosure. 

B. For purposes of subsection A, "reason to suspect that a child is abused or neglected" shall, due 

to the special medical needs of infants affected by substance exposure, include (i) a finding made 

by a health care provider within six weeks of the birth of a child that the child was born affected 

by substance abuse or experiencing withdrawal symptoms resulting from in utero drug exposure; 

(ii) a diagnosis made by a health care provider within four years following a child's birth that the 

child has an illness, disease, or condition that, to a reasonable degree of medical certainty, is 

attributable to maternal abuse of a controlled substance during pregnancy; or (iii) a diagnosis 

made by a health care provider within four years following a child's birth that the child has a 

fetal alcohol spectrum disorder attributable to in utero exposure to alcohol. When "reason to 

suspect" is based upon this subsection, such fact shall be included in the report along with the 

facts relied upon by the person making the report. Such reports shall not constitute a per se 

finding of child abuse or neglect. If a health care provider in a licensed hospital makes any 

finding or diagnosis set forth in clause (i), (ii), or (iii), the hospital shall require the development 

of a written discharge plan under protocols established by the hospital pursuant to subdivision B 

6 of § 32.1-127. 
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C. Any person who makes a report or provides records or information pursuant to subsection A 

or who testifies in any judicial proceeding arising from such report, records, or information shall 

be immune from any civil or criminal liability or administrative penalty or sanction on account 

of such report, records, information, or testimony, unless such person acted in bad faith or with 

malicious purpose. 

D. Any person required to file a report pursuant to this section who fails to do so as soon as 

possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child 

abuse or neglect, shall be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and for any subsequent 

failures not less than $1,000. In cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or object sexual 

penetration as defined in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2, a person who 

knowingly and intentionally fails to make the report required pursuant to this section shall be 

guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

E. No person shall be required to make a report pursuant to this section if the person has actual 

knowledge that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or the 

Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline. 

1975, c. 341, § 63.1-248.3; 1976, c. 348; 1978, c. 747; 1993, c. 443; 1994, c. 840; 1995, c. 810; 

1998, cc. 704, 716; 1999, c. 606; 2000, c. 500; 2001, c. 853; 2002, cc. 747, 860; 2006, cc. 530, 

801; 2008, cc. 43, 268; 2012, cc. 391, 504, 640, 698, 728, 740, 815; 2013, cc. 72, 331; 2014, c. 

285; 2017, cc. 176, 428; 2019, cc. 98, 295, 414; 2020, c. 461. 

§ 63.2-1509. (Effective July 1, 2021) Requirement that certain injuries to children be 

reported by physicians, nurses, teachers, etc.; penalty for failure to report. 

A. The following persons who, in their professional or official capacity, have reason to suspect 

that a child is an abused or neglected child, shall report the matter immediately to the local 

department of the county or city wherein the child resides or wherein the abuse or neglect is 

believed to have occurred or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline: 

1. Any person licensed to practice medicine or any of the healing arts; 

2. Any hospital resident or intern, and any person employed in the nursing profession; 

3. Any person employed as a social worker or family-services specialist; 

4. Any probation officer; 

5. Any teacher or other person employed in a public or private school, kindergarten, or child day 

program, as that term is defined in § 22.1-289.02; 

6. Any person providing full-time or part-time child care for pay on a regularly planned basis; 

7. Any mental health professional; 
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8. Any law-enforcement officer or animal control officer; 

9. Any mediator eligible to receive court referrals pursuant to § 8.01-576.8; 

10. Any professional staff person, not previously enumerated, employed by a private or state-

operated hospital, institution or facility to which children have been committed or where children 

have been placed for care and treatment; 

11. Any person 18 years of age or older associated with or employed by any public or private 

organization responsible for the care, custody or control of children; 

12. Any person who is designated a court-appointed special advocate pursuant to Article 5 (§ 

9.1-151 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 9.1; 

13. Any person 18 years of age or older who has received training approved by the Department 

of Social Services for the purposes of recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect; 

14. Any person employed by a local department as defined in § 63.2-100 who determines 

eligibility for public assistance; 

15. Any emergency medical services provider certified by the Board of Health pursuant to § 

32.1-111.5, unless such provider immediately reports the matter directly to the attending 

physician at the hospital to which the child is transported, who shall make such report forthwith; 

16. Any athletic coach, director or other person 18 years of age or older employed by or 

volunteering with a public or private sports organization or team; 

17. Administrators or employees 18 years of age or older of public or private day camps, youth 

centers and youth recreation programs; 

18. Any person employed by a public or private institution of higher education other than an 

attorney who is employed by a public or private institution of higher education as it relates to 

information gained in the course of providing legal representation to a client; and 

19. Any minister, priest, rabbi, imam, or duly accredited practitioner of any religious 

organization or denomination usually referred to as a church, unless the information supporting 

the suspicion of child abuse or neglect (i) is required by the doctrine of the religious organization 

or denomination to be kept in a confidential manner or (ii) would be subject to § 8.01-400 or 

19.2-271.3 if offered as evidence in court. 

If neither the locality in which the child resides nor where the abuse or neglect is believed to 

have occurred is known, then such report shall be made to the local department of the county or 

city where the abuse or neglect was discovered or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and 

neglect hotline. 
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If an employee of the local department is suspected of abusing or neglecting a child, the report 

shall be made to the court of the county or city where the abuse or neglect was discovered. Upon 

receipt of such a report by the court, the judge shall assign the report to a local department that is 

not the employer of the suspected employee for investigation or family assessment. The judge 

may consult with the Department in selecting a local department to respond to the report or the 

complaint. 

If the information is received by a teacher, staff member, resident, intern or nurse in the course of 

professional services in a hospital, school or similar institution, such person may, in place of said 

report, immediately notify the person in charge of the institution or department, or his designee, 

who shall make such report forthwith. If the initial report of suspected abuse or neglect is made 

to the person in charge of the institution or department, or his designee, pursuant to this 

subsection, such person shall notify the teacher, staff member, resident, intern or nurse who 

made the initial report when the report of suspected child abuse or neglect is made to the local 

department or to the Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline, and of the name of 

the individual receiving the report, and shall forward any communication resulting from the 

report, including any information about any actions taken regarding the report, to the person who 

made the initial report. 

The initial report may be an oral report but such report shall be reduced to writing by the child 

abuse coordinator of the local department on a form prescribed by the Board. Any person 

required to make the report pursuant to this subsection shall disclose all information that is the 

basis for his suspicion of abuse or neglect of the child and, upon request, shall make available to 

the child-protective services coordinator and the local department, which is the agency of 

jurisdiction, any information, records, or reports that document the basis for the report. All 

persons required by this subsection to report suspected abuse or neglect who maintain a record of 

a child who is the subject of such a report shall cooperate with the investigating agency and shall 

make related information, records and reports available to the investigating agency unless such 

disclosure violates the federal Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (20 U.S.C. § 1232g). 

Provision of such information, records, and reports by a health care provider shall not be 

prohibited by § 8.01-399. Criminal investigative reports received from law-enforcement agencies 

shall not be further disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall they be subject to public 

disclosure. 

B. For purposes of subsection A, "reason to suspect that a child is abused or neglected" shall, due 

to the special medical needs of infants affected by substance exposure, include (i) a finding made 

by a health care provider within six weeks of the birth of a child that the child was born affected 

by substance abuse or experiencing withdrawal symptoms resulting from in utero drug exposure; 

(ii) a diagnosis made by a health care provider within four years following a child's birth that the 

child has an illness, disease, or condition that, to a reasonable degree of medical certainty, is 

attributable to maternal abuse of a controlled substance during pregnancy; or (iii) a diagnosis 

made by a health care provider within four years following a child's birth that the child has a 

fetal alcohol spectrum disorder attributable to in utero exposure to alcohol. When "reason to 

suspect" is based upon this subsection, such fact shall be included in the report along with the 

facts relied upon by the person making the report. Such reports shall not constitute a per se 

finding of child abuse or neglect. If a health care provider in a licensed hospital makes any 
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finding or diagnosis set forth in clause (i), (ii), or (iii), the hospital shall require the development 

of a written discharge plan under protocols established by the hospital pursuant to subdivision B 

6 of § 32.1-127. 

C. Any person who makes a report or provides records or information pursuant to subsection A 

or who testifies in any judicial proceeding arising from such report, records, or information shall 

be immune from any civil or criminal liability or administrative penalty or sanction on account 

of such report, records, information, or testimony, unless such person acted in bad faith or with 

malicious purpose. 

D. Any person required to file a report pursuant to this section who fails to do so as soon as 

possible, but not longer than 24 hours after having reason to suspect a reportable offense of child 

abuse or neglect, shall be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and for any subsequent 

failures not less than $1,000. In cases evidencing acts of rape, sodomy, or object sexual 

penetration as defined in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 18.2, a person who 

knowingly and intentionally fails to make the report required pursuant to this section shall be 

guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

E. No person shall be required to make a report pursuant to this section if the person has actual 

knowledge that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or the 

Department's toll-free child abuse and neglect hotline. 

1975, c. 341, § 63.1-248.3; 1976, c. 348; 1978, c. 747; 1993, c. 443; 1994, c. 840; 1995, c. 810; 

1998, cc. 704, 716; 1999, c. 606; 2000, c. 500; 2001, c. 853; 2002, cc. 747, 860; 2006, cc. 530, 

801; 2008, cc. 43, 268; 2012, cc. 391, 504, 640, 698, 728, 740, 815; 2013, cc. 72, 331; 2014, c. 

285; 2017, cc. 176, 428; 2019, cc. 98, 295, 414; 2020, cc. 461, 860, 861. 

 

Immunity for Reporting: 

§ 63.2-1512. Immunity of person making report, etc., from liability.  

Any person making a report pursuant to § 63.2-1509, a complaint pursuant to § 63.2-1510, or 

who takes a child into custody pursuant to § 63.2-1517, or who participates in a judicial 

proceeding resulting therefrom shall be immune from any civil or criminal liability in connection 

therewith, unless it is proven that such person acted in bad faith or with malicious intent.  

(1975, c. 341, § 63.1-248.5; 1988, c. 686; 2002, c. 747.)  

Adult Abuse 

To report suspected financial exploitation or other kinds of abuse to the elderly or adults with a 

disability, call your local department of social services or the Virginia Department of Social 

Services' 24-hour, toll-free APS hotline at: (888) 832-3858.  

Code of Virginia requires reporting of adult abuse as follows:   
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§ 63.2-1606. Protection of aged or incapacitated adults; mandated and voluntary reporting. 

A. Matters giving reason to suspect the abuse, neglect or exploitation of adults shall be reported 

immediately upon the reporting person's determination that there is such reason to suspect. 

Medical facilities inspectors of the Department of Health are exempt from reporting suspected 

abuse immediately while conducting federal inspection surveys in accordance with § 1864 of 

Title XVIII and Title XIX of the Social Security Act, as amended, of certified nursing facilities 

as defined in § 32.1-123. Reports shall be made to the local department or the adult protective 

services hotline in accordance with requirements of this section by the following persons acting 

in their professional capacity: 

1. Any person licensed, certified, or registered by health regulatory boards listed in § 54.1-2503, 

with the exception of persons licensed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine; 

2. Any mental health services provider as defined in § 54.1-2400.1; 

3. Any emergency medical services provider certified by the Board of Health pursuant to § 32.1-

111.5, unless such provider immediately reports the suspected abuse, neglect or exploitation 

directly to the attending physician at the hospital to which the adult is transported, who shall 

make such report forthwith; 

4. Any guardian or conservator of an adult; 

5. Any person employed by or contracted with a public or private agency or facility and working 

with adults in an administrative, supportive or direct care capacity; 

6. Any person providing full, intermittent or occasional care to an adult for compensation, 

including, but not limited to, companion, chore, homemaker, and personal care workers; and 

7. Any law-enforcement officer. 

B. The report shall be made in accordance with subsection A to the local department of the 

county or city wherein the adult resides or wherein the adult abuse, neglect or exploitation is 

believed to have occurred or to the adult protective services hotline. Nothing in this section shall 

be construed to eliminate or supersede any other obligation to report as required by law. If a 

person required to report under this section receives information regarding abuse, neglect or 

exploitation while providing professional services in a hospital, nursing facility or similar 

institution, then he may, in lieu of reporting, notify the person in charge of the institution or his 

designee, who shall report such information, in accordance with the institution's policies and 

procedures for reporting such matters, immediately upon his determination that there is reason to 

suspect abuse, neglect or exploitation. Any person required to make the report or notification 

required by this subsection shall do so either orally or in writing and shall disclose all 

information that is the basis for the suspicion of adult abuse, neglect or exploitation. Upon 

request, any person required to make the report shall make available to the adult protective 

services worker and the local department investigating the reported case of adult abuse, neglect 

or exploitation any information, records or reports which document the basis for the report. All 
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persons required to report suspected adult abuse, neglect or exploitation shall cooperate with the 

investigating adult protective services worker of a local department and shall make information, 

records and reports which are relevant to the investigation available to such worker to the extent 

permitted by state and federal law. Criminal investigative reports received from law-enforcement 

agencies shall not be further disseminated by the investigating agency nor shall they be subject to 

public disclosure; such reports may, however, be disclosed to the Adult Fatality Review Team as 

provided in § 32.1-283.5 or to a local or regional adult fatality review team as provided in § 

32.1-283.6 and, if reviewed by the Team or a local or regional adult fatality review team, shall be 

subject to applicable confidentiality requirements of the Team or a local or regional adult fatality 

review team. 

C. Any financial institution staff who suspects that an adult has been exploited financially may 

report such suspected financial exploitation and provide supporting information and records to 

the local department of the county or city wherein the adult resides or wherein the exploitation is 

believed to have occurred or to the adult protective services hotline. For purposes of this section: 

"Financial exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, improper, or fraudulent use of the 

funds, property, benefits, resources, or other assets of an adult, as defined in § 63.2-1603, for 

another's profit, benefit, or advantage, including a caregiver or person serving in a fiduciary 

capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful use of or access to such funds, property, 

benefits, resources, or other assets. "Financial exploitation" includes (i) an intentional breach of a 

fiduciary obligation to an adult to his detriment or an intentional failure to use the financial 

resources of an adult in a manner that results in neglect of such adult; (ii) the acquisition, 

possession, or control of an adult's financial resources or property through the use of undue 

influence, coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to pay for goods or services 

against his will for another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the adult did not agree, or was 

tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to pay for such goods or services. 

"Financial institution staff" means any employee, agent, qualified individual, or representative of 

a bank, trust company, savings institution, loan association, consumer finance company, credit 

union, investment company, investment advisor, securities firm, accounting firm, or insurance 

company. 

D. Any person other than those specified in subsection A who suspects that an adult is an abused, 

neglected or exploited adult may report the matter to the local department of the county or city 

wherein the adult resides or wherein the abuse, neglect or exploitation is believed to have 

occurred or to the adult protective services hotline. 

E. Any person who makes a report or provides records or information pursuant to subsection A, 

C, or D, or who testifies in any judicial proceeding arising from such report, records or 

information, or who takes or causes to be taken with the adult's or the adult's legal 

representative's informed consent photographs, video recordings, or appropriate medical imaging 

of the adult who is subject of a report shall be immune from any civil or criminal liability on 

account of such report, records, information, photographs, video recordings, appropriate medical 

imaging or testimony, unless such person acted in bad faith or with a malicious purpose. 
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F. An employer of a mandated reporter shall not prohibit a mandated reporter from reporting 

directly to the local department or to the adult protective services hotline. Employers whose 

employees are mandated reporters shall notify employees upon hiring of the requirement to 

report. 

G. Any person 14 years of age or older who makes or causes to be made a report of adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation that he knows to be false is guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor. Any 

subsequent conviction of this provision is a Class 2 misdemeanor. 

H. Any person who fails to make a required report or notification pursuant to subsection A shall 

be subject to a civil penalty of not more than $500 for the first failure and not less than $100 nor 

more than $1,000 for any subsequent failures. Civil penalties under subdivision A 7 shall be 

determined by a court of competent jurisdiction, in its discretion. All other civil penalties under 

this section shall be determined by the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative Services or 

his designee. The Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative Services shall establish by 

regulation a process for imposing and collecting civil penalties, and a process for appeal of the 

imposition of such penalty pursuant to § 2.2-4026 of the Administrative Process Act. 

I. Any mandated reporter who has reasonable cause to suspect that an adult died as a result of 

abuse or neglect shall immediately report such suspicion to the appropriate medical examiner 

and to the appropriate law-enforcement agency, notwithstanding the existence of a death 

certificate signed by a licensed physician. The medical examiner and the law-enforcement 

agency shall receive the report and determine if an investigation is warranted. The medical 

examiner may order an autopsy. If an autopsy is conducted, the medical examiner shall report the 

findings to law enforcement, as appropriate, and to the local department or to the adult protective 

services hotline. 

J. No person or entity shall be obligated to report any matter if the person or entity has actual 

knowledge that the same matter has already been reported to the local department or to the adult 

protective services hotline. 

K. All law-enforcement departments and other state and local departments, agencies, authorities 

and institutions shall cooperate with each adult protective services worker of a local department 

in the detection, investigation and prevention of adult abuse, neglect and exploitation. 

L. Financial institution staff may refuse to execute a transaction, may delay a transaction, or may 

refuse to disburse funds if the financial institution staff (i) believes in good faith that the 

transaction or disbursement may involve, facilitate, result in, or contribute to the financial 

exploitation of an adult or (ii) makes, or has actual knowledge that another person has made, a 

report to the local department or adult protective services hotline stating a good faith belief that 

the transaction or disbursement may involve, facilitate, result in, or contribute to the financial 

exploitation of an adult. The financial institution staff may continue to refuse to execute a 

transaction, delay a transaction, or refuse to disburse funds for a period no longer than 30 

business days after the date upon which such transaction or disbursement was initially requested 

based on a good faith belief that the transaction or disbursement may involve, facilitate, result in, 

or contribute to the financial exploitation of an adult, unless otherwise ordered by a court of 
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competent jurisdiction. Upon refusing to execute a transaction, delaying a transaction, or 

refusing to disburse funds, the financial institution shall report such refusal or delay within five 

business days to the local department or the adult protective services hotline. Upon request, and 

to the extent permitted by state and federal law, financial institution staff making a report to the 

local department of social services may report any information or records relevant to the report 

or investigation. Absent gross negligence or willful misconduct, the financial institution and its 

staff shall be immune from civil or criminal liability for refusing to execute a transaction, 

delaying a transaction, or refusing to disburse funds pursuant to this subsection. The authority of 

a financial institution staff to refuse to execute a transaction, to delay a transaction, or to refuse 

to disburse funds pursuant to this subsection shall not be contingent upon whether financial 

institution staff has reported suspected financial exploitation of the adult pursuant to subsection 

C. 
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891; 1997, c. 687; 1999, c. 749; 2001, c. 191; 2002, c. 747; 2004, cc. 749, 1011; 2008, c. 539; 

2009, c. 538; 2012, cc. 803, 835; 2013, cc. 72, 331; 2015, c. 108; 2017, c. 195; 2019, cc. 339, 

420, 421; 2020, c. 931. 
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