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CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS 

LICENSURE BY EXAMINATION APPLICATION 
Check One:   RN $190    LPN $170 

 COMPACT INFORMATION: 

Virginia is a Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) participating state. Virginia implemented the Enhanced Nurse Licensure 

Compact (eNLC) on January 19, 2018. In order to receive a license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet all 

Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C. If you do not meet all Uniform 

Licensure Requirements (ULRs) OR you reside in a ‘non-compact’ state, you may be eligible for a single-state license 

authorizing practice only in Virginia.   

 

If your Primary State of Residence (PSOR) is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (home state).  

Primary state of residence (PSOR) is defined by the NLC as: the state of a person’s declared fixed permanent and principal 

home or domicile for legal purposes.  If your PSOR is Virginia or a non-compact state, you must obtain a Virginia license 

to practice as a nurse in Virginia. Please indicate on the application your primary state of residence.  

 In accordance with Virginia law Virginia Code §54.1-3040.3 (C): If you meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements 

(ULRs) and your PSOR is Virginia, you will be granted a license with multi-state privilege which allows you to practice 

in other compact states. For current information on the NLC go to: https://www.ncsbn.org/enhanced-nlc-

implementation.htm. 

REQUIREMENTS listed below to submit an application by Examination 

Please check COMPLETED applicable items that are included with your application: 

   Completed Licensure Application to VBON* and required Fee: Acceptable fees include payment by credit/debit 

card (online applicants only); or if required to apply by mail, include check or money order made payable to Treasurer 

of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment and fees are non-

refundable. 
 

{*Note: A Paper application must be submitted by mail if you do not have a social security number (SSN) or Virginia DMV Control 
Number. If submitting a paper application, the fee (check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia) must be sent to 
the VBON address}.   

   Complete fingerprint-based Criminal Background Check (CBC): Required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Register 

for fingerprinting exclusively through Fieldprint Va.   

 Online applicants will receive an application confirmation receipt which contains a VBON Fieldprint Code required 

to register for fingerprinting. *Online applicants will also see their Fieldprint Code at the top of the checklist 

instructions page.   
 If you apply by mail, you must contact the VBON CBC unit for your Fieldprint Code that is required to register for 

fingerprinting. More information for initiating the CBC may be found at VBON CBC Info. 

  Official Attestation of Graduation: Contact your nursing program to see if your school transmits an Attestation of 

Graduation Letter.  If you graduated from a program outside of Virginia OR your program does not submit an 

Attestation Letter, you must request an Official transcript from the registrar’s office to be sent to the Virginia Board of 

Nursing at the address above or sent electronically to transcriptbyexam@dhp.virginia.gov. Information sent electronically 

must include in the subject line of the email: Applicant’s Name: Official Transcript; OR (if applicable) Attestation Letter.  

   Graduates of nursing schools located in other states - Verification of Clinical Hours: Request your nursing 

program to submit the following to the VBON: A letter on school letterhead, specific to you, that includes the name of 

the course, the type of clinical experience completed in each course, and the number of clock hours per subject and 

overall.  Registered Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 500 direct client care hours across the 

lifespan and Licensed Practical Nurse applicants must have completed a minimum of 400 direct client care hours 

across the lifespan. For more information regarding clinical hours see Guidance Document 90-21 on the Board’s 

website at www.dhp.virginia.gov.nursing/guidancedocuments.   

  Complete a Separate Application with Pearson Vue to take the NCLEX  Exam:  

       Online at www.pearsonvue.com/nclex or by phone at 1-866-496-2539.  You can pay with either credit or debit using one 

of the following: Visa, MasterCard or American Express. 
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Licensure by Examination Instructions: Continued 

 

   Submit CGFNS Professional Report: Exam licensure applicants educated in a foreign country must request the CES 

Professional Report from Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS) and request that it be made 

available to the VBON. For more information, click on these regulation(s): 18 VAC 90-19-130. 

  

 To contact CGFNS you may call 215-349-8767 or visit their website at www.cgfns.org.  
 NOTE: Canadian RN Nurses who have taken the CRNE may apply for licensure by Endorsement. 

SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (IF APPLICABLE) 

 

 Official Transcript/Attestation: Mailed or emailed to the VBON directly from your nursing program. 

 

 Requesting Accommodations: If you are requesting accommodations for testing, see Guidance Document 90-22 for 

required documentation. 

 

 Graduate from Out of State School: Letter from nursing education program detailing clinical hours. 

 

 Certified Copies of Court Documents:  if applicable. 

 

 Name Change: If your name on the transcript or any additional documentation is different from the name on your 

application, submit a copy of your marriage certificate, naturalization certificate or the court order authorizing the 

change.  If there is a name discrepancy, you may not be admitted for NCLEX testing. 
 

 Submit acceptable proof of Primary State of Residence (PSOR): includes copy of current (VA) driver’s license, voter’s 

registration card, a federal income tax return, military form #2058 (active duty military personnel only) or W2 from U.S. 

government. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

 

 License application processing times are between 30-45 business days to complete. 

 

 Periodically log into your DHP license application portal: https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/Login.aspx  to 

monitor progress of your application and remember “unchecked” items may have been received but are pending review.  

 

 Check your license status by going to: License Lookup (*license information is posted in real time). 

 

 Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

 

 An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit.  If not completed within one year, 

a new application may be necessary.  
 

 A licensure application shall be held in abeyance in accordance with the compact regulations when a license is under 

investigation in another compact state. 

 

 Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing.  

INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE INCLUDED WITH PAPER APPLICATION 

     End of Instructions           Revised: 1/3/2018 
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