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BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF A VETERINARY ESTABLISHMENT AND
CHANGES/UPDATES TO A REGISTERED ESTABLISHMENT
READ THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION CAREFULLY BEFORE PROCEEDING

· Laws and Regulations: Application requires an attestation to having read the applicable laws and regulations.
· Inspection: An inspection is required prior to practicing in a new, change of service upgrade, change of location or renovation of a surgical suite. Date of the anticipated opening of the veterinary establishment must be recorded on the application. The inspector will make every effort to schedule the inspection as close to the requested inspection date as possible. At time of inspection, the veterinary establishment must be in compliance with all applicable standards set forth in the Board’s regulations. If a second inspection is required, a re-inspection fee may be assessed. Guidance Document 76-21.2.1, Veterinary Establishment Inspection Report provides a description of the inspection requirements.
· Veterinarian-In-Charge: A Veterinarian-in-Charge (VIC) who holds an active Virginia license must be identified and the “Veterinarian-in-Charge” section of the application must be completed.
· Application processing and fee: Submit the required application and fee of $300.00 by postal mail at least 45 days prior to anticipated opening date; make check or money order, made payable to “Treasurer of Virginia.” For issues related to the application, send email to vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov. An incomplete application and failure to select the appropriate boxes will delay processing. All fees are nonrefundable. Email confirmation of receipt of application are typically sent within 21 business days and when veterinary establishment registration is issued. (Note: Veterinary establishments are not registered until they receive notification from the Board that the registration has been issued. An application in process or completed inspection is not sufficient to operate.)
· Application payment receipt: A receipt may be requested by email to vetbd@dhp.virginia.gov.
· Registration expiration date: Registrations issued prior to July 1 expire on December 31 of the current year. Registrations issued on or after July 1 expire December 31 of the following year.
· Board Communication: The Board’s method of communication to applicants is via email.
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VETERINARY ESTABLISHMENT REGISTRATION FORM
NEW or	CHANGE

	Name of Veterinary Establishment:
	Registration No. (if applicable):
	Anticipated Inspection Date:

	
	
	

	Address of Veterinary Establishment:
	City:
	State:
	Zip Code:

	
	
	
	

	Email to Receive Board Communication	Public or	Private
	Website (if available)
	Veterinary Establishment Phone Number:

	
	
	

	Name of Veterinarian-in-Charge (VIC)
	VIC’s Email	Public or	Private
	VIC’s Phone #	Public or	Private

	
	
	Cell

	VIC’s License Number:
	
	Other

	New, STATIONARY OPEN 24 Hours: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-200(A) & (B)(1) establishment must be open 24 hours and encompasses all aspects of health care for small and/or large animals; on site lab, radiology and surgical services; equipped to handle emergency critical care and hospitalization; and licensed personnel on premises at all times. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.

Small Animal Only	Large Animal Only	Mixed Laboratory services on site
Radiology/Imaging on site Hospitalization
Licensed personnel on premises at all times

Does the establishment operate mobile unit(s) from which veterinary services are provided (i.e. RV unit)?	Yes	No.  If yes, how many units?  	 How many mobile units have surgery suites?  	


APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY
	APPLICANT #
	FEE
	RECEIPT #
	Date Received
	Inspection Date
	Registration Number
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	New, STATIONARY OPEN LESS THAN 24 HOURS: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-200(A) & (B)(2) establishment open less than 24 hours must encompass all aspects of health care for small and/or large animals; on site surgical services; and licensed personnel are available during advertised hours of operation. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.
Small Animal Only	Large Animal Only	Mixed
Licensed personnel available during advertised hours of operation Laboratory services:		In-house or		Outside services Radiology/Imaging:		In-house or	Outside services Hospitalization:	Yes or	No
Does the establishment operate mobile unit (s) from which veterinary services are provided (i.e. RV unit)?	Yes	No.  If yes, how many units?  	 How many mobile units have surgery suites?  	

	New, LIMITED STATIONARY: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-200(A) & (C) establishment scope of practice is less than full service. Inspection and fee of
$300.00 required.
Small Animal Only	Large Animal Only	Mixed
Licensed personnel available during advertised hours of operation Laboratory services:		In-house or		Outside services Radiology/Imaging:		In-house or	Outside services Hospitalization:	Yes or	No
Describe all limited services provided (i.e. general surgery, spay/neuter clinic; orthopedics; cardiology; dentistry; endocrinology; ophthalmology; dermatology; oncology, chiropractic; acupuncture; wellness/vaccine clinics; behavior modification; and/or physical therapy or rehabilitation):

	
Does the establishment operate mobile unit(s) from which veterinary services are provided (i.e. RV unit)?	Yes	No.  If yes, how many units?  	 How many mobile units have surgery suites?  	

	New, AMBULATORY AGRICULTURAL or EQUINE: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-201(A) establishment is an ambulatory practice in which health care is performed at the location of the animal. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.
Agricultural Only	Equine Only	Agricultural/Equine Mixed









	New, AMBULATORY HOUSE CALL AND PROCEDURALIST: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-201(B) establishment is an ambulatory practice in which health care of small animals is performed at the residence or owner or another establishment registered by the Board. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.
Is surgery a service provided (pursuant to 18VAC150-20-201(B)(1) surgery may only be performed in an inspected surgical suite)?	Yes	No
For Proceduralists, describe all services provided (i.e. euthanasia; hospice; dentistry; chiropractic; acupuncture; wellness/vaccinations; behavior modification; and/or physical therapy or rehabilitation):
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	New, AMBULATORY MOBILE SERVICE: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-201(C) establishment is a veterinary clinic or hospital that can be moved from one location to another and from which veterinary services are provided. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.
How many units will be operated under this establishment registration?  	 How many mobile units have surgery suites?  	
Laboratory services:		In-house or		Outside services Radiology/Imaging:		In-house or	Outside services Hospitalization:	Yes or	No

	CHANGE TO CURRENT SURGICAL SUITE: Pursuant to 18VAC150-20-180(A)(3), a reinspection is required for any addition or renovation of a stationary or ambulatory establishment that involves changes to the structure or composition of a surgery room; and pursuant to 18VAC150-20-201(B)(1), surgery may only be performed in an inspected surgical suite. Inspection and fee of $300.00 required.

Adding a surgical suite(s) Renovation of surgical suite(s)

	CHANGE of LOCATION: Inspection and fee of $300.00 required. Ambulatory mobile establishments are allowed change of location without an inspection, but change of address notification is required.

	CHANGE OF NAME OF VETERINARY ESTABLISHMENT: No Inspection or fee.

	Does this establishment replace one currently registered by the Board? If yes, what is the name and registration number?
	YES
	NO



 (
Date
Signature of Veterinarian-in-Charge
Print Name of Veterinarian-in-Charge
ATTESTATION OF VETERINARIAN-IN-CHARGE:
I
 
agree to serve as the Veterinarian-in-Charge at the establishment name herein and assume the duties and responsibilities incumbent to the role as specified in the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (18VA150-20-10 et seq.) of the Virginia Board of Veterinary Medicine. By signing my name below, I acknowledge that I have read and understand the responsibilities of the Veterinarian-in-Charge and agree to perform those
 
duties.
)
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