Virginia Board of Medicine
Laws and Regulations
The below documents are in Microsoft Word format. If you do not have Microsoft Word, you can get the Microsoft® Word Viewer to view and print DHP's documents.
- Click here to obtain a Petition for Rule-making. If you would like the Board to consider amending one of its regulations or rules, you may file a "petition for rule-making". The Board is required to publish your petition in the Virginia Register and post it online at www.townhall.virginia.gov to begin a 21-day comment period on the request. Within 90 days after the comment period or 14 days after its next scheduled meeting, the Board will issue a decision on whether it will grant or deny the petition. A copy of the petition form is provided. You may email the petition to the address below, fax it to the number on the form or mail it to the Board address.
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry and Chiropractic - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine - 8-8-2018
- Regulations Governing
the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists - 3-5-2020
Form for recommending diagnosis examination
- Regulations Governing Prescriptive Authority for Licensed Nurse Practitioners - Revised 7-22-2020
- Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners - Revised 7-22-2020
- Regulations Governing the Licensure of Occupational Therapists and Occupational Therapy Assistants - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing
the Practice of Physician Assistants - 3-5-2020
For changes related to 2019 legislation, please see emergency regulations below.
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Radiologic Technology - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Respiratory Therapists - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Licensed Midwives - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing the Licensure of Athletic Trainers - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Behavior Analysis - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate - revised 7-27-2005
- Public Participation Guidelines - 12-15-2016
- Regulations for Collaborative Practice Agreements - 11-25-2020
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists - 3-5-2020
- Regulations Governing the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Registration of Surgical Technologists - 10-14-2020
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Genetic Counselors - 3-5-2020
- None at this time.
- Nurse Practitioners: Autonomous Practice - Effective 1-7-2019 to 12-5-2020
- Emgergency Regulations Governing the Practice of Physician Assistants - 10-1-2019 to 3-31-2021
By law, the persons licensed as health care practitioners have a duty to report to the Virginia Department of Social Services or the local departments of social services any known or suspected incidences of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of children or elderly and incapacitated adults. Contact information and a copy of the law may be obtained at: Legal Requirements to Report Child Abuse and Adult Abuse