|Board of Long-Term Care Administrators|
Phone: (804) 367-4595
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
Fee Increase - Effective October 22, 2014
Healthcare Workforce Data Findings
Voluntary Preceptor Directory
We have added a new question to this year’s ALFA renewal form: “Do you wish to be added to the Voluntary Preceptor List”. This list allows board staff to share contact information with individuals seeking to find a preceptor.
For a list of licensed Preceptors who volunteered their contact information be posted in a public directory, please click on the following link: Preceptor Directory
Please be informed that effective April 11, 2013, NAB revoked the NCERS Certified Provider status and approval of all continuing education programs for the following continuing education provider:
ApprovedNABceus Inc: http://www.approvednabceus.com/index.asp
Please be aware that the Virginia Board will not accept continuing education certificates for programs dated April 11 2013 or later from this provider.
New Law: A new law became effective on July 1, 2011 requiring an Assisted Living Facility to immediately notify the Board of Long Term Care Administrators and the regional licensing office of the Department of Social Services if their licensed ALF administrator dies, resigns, is discharged, or becomes unable to perform his duties.
The facility must immediately employ a licensed administrator or appoint an acting administrator who is qualified by education for an approved AIT program and has a minimum of one year of administrative or supervisory experience in a health care or long-term care facility, or has completed such a program and is awaiting licensure.
The facility shall give immediate notice to the regional licensing office of the Department of Social Services and to the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and shall provide the last date of employment of the licensed administrator.
If an acting administrator is named, he shall notify the Department of Social Services of his employment and, if intending to assume the position permanently, submit a completed application for an approved AIT program to the Board of Long Term Care Administrators within 10 days of employment.
An Assisted living facility may be operated by an acting administrator for not more than 150 days, or not more than 90 days if the acting administrator has not applied for licensure.
The Department of Social Services may grant a thirty day extension if the acting administrator has applied for licensure, has completed the AIT program, has taken and is awaiting the results of the national examination. In no case shall an ALF be operated with an acting administrator for more than 180 days, including the 30 day extension.
No ALF shall operate under the supervision of an acting administrator more than one time during any two year period unless specifically authorized by the Department of Social Services.
The Board of Long Term Care has a designated application for the “Acting” AIT Applicants. If the application is approved, the applicant will receive an official approval letter and certificate that will specify the 150 day expiration date. All applications can be found on our website on our Forms & Applications page
Please refer to the full text in the Code of Virginia, Section 54.1-3103.1. The Board is required to promulgate new regulations relating to the oversight of the acting administrator and has initiated the process.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
The Board of Long-Term Care Administrators would like to remind
facilities of the following requirement:
§ 54.1-3103. Administrator required for operation of nursing home; operation after death, illness, etc., of administrator; notification of Board.
All licensed nursing homes within the Commonwealth shall be under the supervision of an administrator licensed by the Board. If a licensed nursing home administrator dies, becomes ill, resigns or is discharged, the nursing home that was administered by him at the time of his death, illness, resignation or discharge may continue to operate until his successor qualifies, but in no case for longer than is permitted by the licensing authority for the nursing home. The temporary supervisor or administrator shall immediately notify the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and the Commissioner of Health that the nursing home is operating without the supervision of a licensed nursing home administrator.
Public Health Information
Verification Information: To request a verification of licensure submit your request in writing; include your full name, license number or social security number, your current mailing address and the address of where you want the verification sent. Attach the required processing fee of $35.00 check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
Allow three to five business days for processing. The board verifies profession, license number, issue date, expiration date, how the licensee obtained Virginia licensure, and if there have been any disciplinary actions. Should a licensee need their national scores verified they should contact the National Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards (NAB) https://www2.proexam.org/NAB/Candidate
Verifications received without the required fee will not be processed.
Mail your request and fee to:
Board of Long Term Care Administrators
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
You may request a fax confirmation of your licensure information at no additional charge by calling our automated verification line at 804-270-6836. Just enter your license number or social security number and you will be prompted to enter a fax number for delivery of the fax. You may also verify licensure information online by using License Lookup
Online Licensing - Licensees can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation
- More information...
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
Applications & FormsDownload the available forms and applications from the Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators.
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators.
- Nursing Home Administrators
- Nursing Home Preceptors
- Assisted Living Facility Administrators
- Assisted Living Facility Preceptors
Laws & RegulationsLaws and Regulations Governing Long-Term Care Administrators
Laws Governing All Health Professions
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current Members of the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators.
View the Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.