Guidance document:  140-11		Revised:  September 20, 2019

[bookmark: _GoBack]
VIRGINIA BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK

DISPOSITION OF DISCIPLINARY CASES INVOLVING PRACTICING WITH AN EXPIRED LICENSE


The Board of Social Work (“Board”) delegates to the Executive Director for the Board the authority to offer a prehearing consent order to resolve disciplinary cases in which a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW), a Licensed Master’s Social Worker (LMSW), or Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) has been found to be practicing with an expired license.

Disciplinary Action for Practicing with an Expired License
The Board adopts the following guidelines for resolution of cases of practicing with an expired license:

	Cause
	Possible Action

	First offense; 90 days or less
	Confidential Consent Agreement; 


	First offense; 91 days to one year
	Consent Order; Reprimand; 
Monetary Penalty of $500

	First offense; more than one year
	Consent Order; Reprimand; 
Monetary Penalty of $1,000

	First offense; more than two years
	Consent Order; Reprimand; 
Monetary Penalty of $1,500

	First offense; more than five years
	Consent Order; Reprimand; 
Monetary Penalty of $2,000

	Second offense
	Consent Order; Reprimand; 
Monetary Penalty of $3,000



In order to engage in the practice of social work, it shall be necessary to hold a license in accordance with Code of Virginia § 54.1-3706 unless the practice setting is exempt from the requirements for licensure as outlined in Code of Virginia § 54.1-3701.
