|Board of Veterinary Medicine|
| Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, Virginia 23233-1463
Phone: (804) 367-4497
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Mandatory PMP Reporting Requirements for Veterinarians
The 2018 General Assembly Session amended the Code of Virginia (SB226) to require reporting by veterinarians to the PMP under certain conditions. These requirements will become effective on July 1, 2018.
Please review the FAQs regarding the new PMP reporting requirements for veterinarian. This document contains links to the legislation, applicable PMP forms, and the DEA registration website. As additional information becomes available, the document will be updated and posted on the Board’s website.
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
Emergency Regulations for Opioid Prescribing - Effective June 26, 2017
In response to the escalating opioid crisis in Virginia, the Board of Veterinary Medicine promulgated emergency regulations on the prescribing of opioids and buprenorphine for treatment of pain in animals. The emergency regulations became effective on June 26,2017, will remain in effect until December 25, 2018, and will be replaced by permanent regulations during that time.
The promulgation of replacement regulations is in the proposed stage. The Board is seeking public comment on the replacement regulations from December 11, 2017 until February 8, 2018. A public hearing will be held on February 8, 2018.
Regulatory Changes from Periodic Review
A periodic review of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine which started in December 15, 2015, became effective on October 25, 2017. There are significant changes to Part V. Veterinary Establishments including new veterinary establishment categories. However, each veterinary establishment will renew its registration as currently categorized. Over the next year, veterinary establishments will be re-categorized according to the new regulations. Additional information about the re-categorization process will be sent in January 2018.
The specific changes made to the Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine are available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall.
The Guidance Documents affected by the regulatory changes, including the Veterinary Establishment Inspection Report, have been updated and are available for review.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
New Veterinary Establishment Inspection Form – The Board of Veterinary Medicine’s Animal Inspection Report has been revised and renamed as Veterinary Inspection Report. The revised form can be found under the Veterinary Establishment heading in the Forms Section of the Board’s website.
The Board of Veterinary Medicine is in the process of updating the overall inspection process and revising the inspection form is the first step of many to come. The new form incorporates the addition of a column designating a law or regulation as major or minor. The designation indicates whether the violation of the law or regulation is likely to result in direct patient harm.
Veterinary Establishment Inspectors began using the new form on December 5, 2011. Please direct questions about the form to email@example.com .
Online Licensing - Licensees can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Guidance documents – Documents developed by the Board of Veterinary Medicine to provide information for interpreting or implementing the regulations are available online for review.
Address of Record vs. Public Address
The 2009 session of the General Assembly passed SB1282 (Acts of Assembly Chapter 687) regarding the collection of addresses from health professionals. Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia (Code) requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from each health professional licensed, registered, or certified by a health regulatory board within the department. The official address of record is to be used by DHP for agency purposes and otherwise remain confidential.
In addition, § 54.1-2400.02.C requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no public address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to DHP. When a public address is not provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address and may at certain times be disclosed. (Note: the License Lookup feature on the DHP public website does not contain the full address of the health professional. However, public addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal, at any
time by written notification to the Board, or at any time by accessing
your licensure information through the online system. Any change that
is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other
address. Address information should be kept current at all times.
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
- Equine Dental Technician
- Full Service Veterinary Facility
- Restricted Veterinary Facility
- Veterinary Technician
Applications & Forms
Download Applications and Instructions available from the Board
For information on the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE) from the National Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners: http://www.nbvme.org/
For information on the Veterinary Technician National Examination (VTNE), national examination score transfers, continuing education approval, and more from the American Association of Veterinary State Boards: http://www.aavsb.org/
View and download the list of available guidance documents from the Board of Veterinary Medicine. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current Members of the Board of Veterinary Medicine.
View the Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Frequently Asked Questions
Find the answers to common questions.