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	In addition to the information in this application booklet, you are required to carefully review the Statutes and Regulations Governing the Practice of Certified Substance Abuse Counseling in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

You can access this information online:

REGULATIONS:  www.dhp.virginia.gov/counseling
These documents include requirements for certification in the Commonwealth of Virginia and are to be used as

a primary outline.  The regulations that were in effect when an applicant began his/her first supervision are

the regulations applicable during the licensure process. 
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	HOW TO BECOME A CERTIFIED SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELOR ASSISTANT IN THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA


You must hold the Substance Abuse Counselor Assistant credential in order to represent yourself as such in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION:  This application process is for those who have never held a substance abuse counseling certification and is explained in more detail on other pages.
Step One:  Apply for Certification and Pay $90 Fee
ALL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE, NON-TRANSFERABLE AND SUBJECT TO CHANGE

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS

HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA or a GED:   Official documentation of a high school diploma or a GED is required.  In addition, 300 clock hours (120 hours of didactic training and 180 hours of experiential tasks) of substance abuse education from one of the following programs is required:

O
an accredited college or university

O
an integrated program approved by the Board

O
an individualized program of seminars and workshops to be approved by the Board


at the time of application.
	REQUIRED 120 HOURS OF DIDACTIC TRAINING:


A minimum of ten (10) clock hours in EACH of the eight areas below are required:
1.
Understanding the dynamics of human behavior;

2.
Signs and symptoms of substance abuse;

3.
Treatment approaches, group dynamics and other adjunctive treatment and


recovery support groups;

4.
Continuum of care and case management skills;

5.
Recovery process and relapse prevention models;

6.
Ethics;
7.
Professional identity in the provision of substance abuse services

8.
Crisis intervention.
IN ADDITION TO THE ABOVE:
Each applicant is required to have at least 20 hours in each of the following two areas:

  9.
Substance abuse counseling treatment and planning and substance abuse research;

10.
Group counseling.
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	EXAMINATION


I.
To become certified by the Board you must pass the Certified Substance Abuse


Counselor Assistant Examination.  This is the Virginia Board of Counseling

Jurisprudence Examination.  

II.
After your application has been received and is approved by the Board you will be

sent the Jurisprudence examination and a copy of the regulations as a study guide.


You will complete the exam and return it to the Board by the date indicated in the


top left hand corner of the examination booklet.  

III.
Examinations not received in the Board office by the specified deadline will be


considered null and void and you will have to retake the exam in order to receive


 your certification.

	THE CSAC-A APPLICATION PROCESS 


WHAT YOU NEED TO DO PRIOR TO SENDING YOUR APPLICATION:  Before you submit any documentation make copies of all your documents with the exception of your sealed transcript and any other sealed documents.    All materials, once received, become the property of the Board and copies are not sent back to applicants.  Make sure all forms are completely  filled out, signed and dated when applicable.
Applications may NOT be submitted via fax or email.  Send your application and payment to:

Board of Counseling

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Richmond, Virginia  23233
Make checks and money orders payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”.

All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.

	VERIFICATION OF EDUCATION DOCUMENTS




O
The documents you submit to verify your educational requirements




must be official and sealed when it reaches the Board office and must 


show completion of a high school diploma or GED. 


O
Faxes and photocopies will not be accepted.
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	AFTER YOUR APPLICATION HAS BEEN RECEIVED




O
When your packet is received it is date stamped and your check is




processed.



O
An administrative review is completed on your file.


O
You are notified in writing of any discrepancies and are asked to




remedy any noted situation.


O
Upon receipt of corrections and additional information your file then




receives another administrative review.  This process continues until




it appears that your file is complete.



O
When your file appears to be complete it is presented to the Credentials



Review Committee (CRC) for approval to sit for the exam.


O
You will be notified in writing of the CRC’s findings.

	THE APPLICATION PROCESS IS NOT A SHORT PROCESS.  THE LENGTH OF TIME IT TAKES VARIES FOR EVERY APPLICANT.  THE MORE COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION IS UPON RECEIPT THE SMOOTHER THE PROCESS WILL GO.  IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT TO FOLLOW ALL DIRECTIONS AND COMPLETE ALL FORMS IN THEIR ENTIRITY.


	CERTIFICATION BY EXAMINATION 
SUBMIT CSAC-A APPLICATION MATERIALS


THE FOLLOWING MATERIALS MUST BE INCLUDED IN YOUR APPLICATION PACKET
1.
Certification Application (Form CSAC-A-2)


This form must be completed and notarized.

2.
Official Documents Verifying Your Education

You must submit an official documents verifying your level of education to

 the Board of Counseling.

5.
Substance Abuse Education Outline Form (Form CSAC-A-EO)

6.
Substance Abuse Educational Tasks Form (Form CSAC-A-ET)
7.
CSAC-A Application & Initial Certification Fee

This $90 fee is non-refundable and non-transferable.  Please -make checks


payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.
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CSAC-A
CERTIFICATION APPLICATION
All documentation, including official transcript(s), must be submitted with this form.

 MUST SUBMIT $90 APPLICATION FEE WITH THIS DOCUMENT   
                 _____   Certification by Examination         _____ Certification by Endorsement                           

	CSAC-A
Certified 

Substance

Abuse

Counselor

Assistant

Complete All

Sections

Application

Fees Are

Non-Refundable

Application forms lacking a Social Security or DMV number will not be processed.

Mail form, transcript(s) and other documentation to the Board of Counseling,

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond,

VA  23233 


	Name (First, Middle)

Last Name

Other Names Used on Official Documents (i.e. transcripts)

Street Address

City                                                                                            State            Zip Code

Home Phone                                                                Fax

Business Phone                                                           Extension

Email

Social Security Number (or DMV #)                                   Date of Birth

Education/Training:  List is chronological order all graduate schools attended.  Transcripts must be included.

** Will you be requesting any special exam accommodations.        YES           NO

    If yes, briefly describe accommodations you will need. ___________________________

Are you the spouse of a member of the U. S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to accompany your spouse to Virginia?

YES              NO

[   ]         
[   ]
                                                            


Rev6/14





-6-
CERTIFICATION APPLICATION – PAGE TWO

Ethics Attestation:  Please answer the five questions below.  If you answer yes to any question, include a detailed explanation or supporting documentation in a separate, sealed envelope marked ETHICS.
1.
Have you ever been denied the privilege of taking an occupational or certification exam?        Y    N

             If yes, state type of exam and state/location. ___________________________________

2.
Have you ever had any disciplinary action taken against an occupational license to                   Y    N

             practice or are any such actions pending?

3.
Have you ever been convicted of a violation, or pled nolo contendre (no contest)                      Y    N


to any federal, state or local statute, regulation or ordinance or entered into any plea


bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor (excluding traffic violations, except

for driving under the influence).
4.
Have you ever been terminated or asked to withdraw from employment in any health

care facility, agency or practice?           






       Y    N

5.
Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the past 10 years?                          Y    N

Licenses / Certifications You Hold:  List all the states in which you now hold, or ever have held, an occupational license or certificate.
	State
	License/Certificate Number
	Issue Date
	Type of License/Certificate

	
	
	
	


Attestation of Accuracy & Review of Virginia Regulations & Statutes:  By signing this document, I hereby certify that he information provided in this application is true, accurate and complete to the best of my knowledge.  I also certify that I have carefully reviewed and agree to apply the Statutes and Regulations Governing the Practice of Substance Abuse Counseling as stated on the front page of this application packet.  I understand that my signature below must be notarized.

Signature of Applicant: _______________________________________  Date: _________

AFFIDAVIT:  The following statement must be executed by a Notary Public.

State of _____________________________, County of ____________________________

Name ___________________________, being duly sworn, says that he/she is the person who is referred to in the foregoing application for certification as a substance abuse counselor in the Commonwealth of Virginia; that the statements herein contained are true in every respect, that he/she has complied with all requirements of the law; and that he/she has read and understands this affidavit.

Subscribed to and sworn to before me this _______ day of ___________, 20_____.      
My commission expires on __________.  Signature of Notary: ____________________________________. 
                                                                                                                  SEAL
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                  Commonwealth                                   

                      of Virginia

              Board of Counseling
SUBSTANCE ABUSE EDUCATION OUTLINE
Applicants Name: __________________________________________________
	Content Area
	Course Title
	Clock

Hours
	Institution/Agency

	1.  Understanding the dynamics of human
     Behavior.


	
	
	

	2.  Signs & symptoms of substance abuse

	
	
	

	3.  Treatment approaches, group dynamics 
     and other adjunctive treatment recovery

     support groups


	
	
	

	4.  Case management skills & continuum
     of care
	
	
	

	5.  Recovery process and relapse
     prevention


	
	
	

	6.  Ethics

	
	
	

	7.  Professional Identity in the provision
     of substance abuse services


	
	
	

	8.  Crisis intervention 

	
	
	

	*One semester credit is equivalent to 15 clock hours.  One quarter credit is equivalent to 10 clock hours.  Must be accompanied by the transcript.
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SUBSTANCE ABUSE EDUCATION TASKS

APPLICANTS NAME: _______________________________________________________
A minimum of 180 hours of experience performing the following tasks must be documented

with at least 8 hours in each of the twelve core functions.  Please provide transcripts for

practicums & internships.  If tasks were completed on the job supervisors must sign the

form verifying EACH task completed and the number of hours completed.  Any

supervisor that signs for hours on this form must be qualified to be an approved CSAC

supervisor and they have to have completed “Supervisor Verification – page 10.
	TASKS
	# OF HOURS
	INSTITUTION OR

AGENCY
	SUPERVISOR’S SIGNATURE (or course # and title of practicum / internship)
	DATE

	A. Screening clients and gathering infor-
     mation used in making the

     determination for the need for
     additional professional assistance.
	
	
	
	

	B.  Intake of clients by performing the
     administrative tasks necessary for 
     admission to a program.
	
	
	
	

	c.  Orientation of new clients to program’s
     rules, goals, procedures, services,

     costs and  the rights of the clients.
	
	
	
	

	D.  Assisting the client in identifying and

      ranking problems to be addressed,
      establish goals and agree on

      treatment processes.
	
	
	
	

	E.  Implemenation of a substance abuse

      treatment plan as directed by the

     supervisor. 
	
	
	
	

	F.  Implementation of case management
     activities that bring services, agencies,

     people and resources together in a

     planned framework of action to

     achieve established goals.
	
	
	
	

	G.  Assitance in identifying appropriate

      crisis intervention responses to

      clients’ needs during acute mental,
      emotional or physical distress.
	
	
	
	

	H.  Education of clients by providing infor-
     mation about drug abuse available

     services and resources.
	
	
	
	

	I.   Facilitating the clients utilization of

     available support systems and

     community resources to meet needs

     identified in clinical evaluation of 

     treatment planning.

	
	
	
	

	J.  Reporting and charting information
     about client’s treatment, progress,

     and other client-related data.
	
	
	
	

	K.  Consultation  with other professionals
     to assure comprehensive quality care

     for the client.
	
	
	
	

	NOTE:  Groups and classes attended by the applicant as part of a therapy or treatment program will NOT be accepted as any part of the

             educational experience.  **Workshops, seminars and classroom hours – with the exception of internships and practicums –
             cannot be used in this section. 
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SUPERVISION CONTRACT CONTINUED:

AFFIDAVIT:
I, ______________________, agree to provide supervision as described within this agreement.  I agree to supervise ___________________ in accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of Counseling governing the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors Assistants.  I also agree to report the performance of the supervisee on a form provided by the Board at the conclusion of the supervised experience.  As supervisor, I assume responsibility for the professional activities of the individual registered under my supervision.  I agree to not provide supervision for activities for which this individual has not had appropriate education, and will only provide supervision for those substance abuse counseling services which I am qualified to render.

Signature of Supervisor: ___________________________________________ Date: __________________

Signature of Trainee:      ___________________________________________ Date: __________________

SUPERVISOR VERIFICATION INFORMATION:
	                          CATEGORY
	CERTIFICATE OR             LICENSE NUMBER
	ISSUE DATE
	EXPIRATION

      DATE

	Virginia CSAC with 2 years post certification experience
	
	
	

	Virginia CSAC & National Certification in Substance Abuse Training (Include copy of certificate)
	
	
	

	Virginia Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner
	
	
	

	Virginia Mental Health Professional & National Certification

in Substance Abuse Training (include copy of certificate)
	
	
	

	Virginia Mental Health Professional & VA CSAC
	
	
	


NOTE:  A Virginia Mental Health Professional must be a licensed LPC, MFT, LCP, LCSW, medical doctor or

            registered nurse.  Supervisors who meet one of the above categories can proceed to the

            signature section of the next page.

SUPERVISORS WHO ARE VIRGINIA MENTAL HEALTH PROFESSIONALS BUT DO NOT MEET ONE OF THE CATEGORIES ABOVE MUST DOCUMENT ONE YEAR OF EXPERIENCE IN SUBSTANCE ABUSE EXPERIENCE AND 100 HOURS OF DIDACTIC TRAINING IN SUBSTANCE ABUSE.

	Dates of Employment
	Employment Address
	Duties of position or attach a job description

	
	
	

	
	
	

	
	
	


SUPERVISORS DOCUMENTATION OF DIDACTIC EDUCATION:

	COURSE TITLE
	DATES
	UNIVERSITY – PROGRAM - WORKSHOP
	HOURS

	Understanding the dynamics of human behavior
	
	
	

	Signs & Symptoms of substance abuse
	
	
	

	Counseling & treatment approaches
	
	
	

	Continuum of care and case management skills
	
	
	

	Recovery process and relapse prevention
	
	
	

	Ethics and professional identity
	
	
	


I DECLARE UNDER PENALTY OF PERJURY UNDER THE LAWS OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA THAT THE FOREGOING IS TRUE AND CORRECT.

SIGNATURE OF SUPERVISOR:  _________________________________________________________

**Original Signatures are required on this form.
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Certification by Examination – Step 2


Certification by Endorsement – Step 1


  FORM CSAC-A EO


REQUIRED FOR ALL APPLICANTS








Certification by Examination – Step 2


FORM CSAC-A-ET


REQUIRED FOR ALL APPLICANTS











