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EXAMINATIONS BY PSI 
 
This candidate information bulletin provides you with general 
information about the testing procedure.  The Board of 
Dentistry (The Board) offers this competency examination to 
assist its applicants and licensees in evaluating their 
understanding of the applicable laws and regulations.  
 
The Board requires applicants to attest to having read, 
understood and to remain current with the laws and regulations 
governing the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. This attestation is required for 
licensure pursuant to the Regulations Governing the Practice of 
Dentistry and Dental Hygiene at 18 VAC 60-20-80.9.  The Board 
also requires all dentists and dental hygienists to attest annually 
at the time of license renewal of having a current 
understanding of the laws and regulations governing the 
practice of dentistry and dental hygiene.  
 
The Board has contracted with PSI to conduct its examination 
program.  PSI works closely with the State to be certain that 
examinations meet local as well as national requirements in 
basic principles and examination development standards. 
 
All questions and requests for information about the 
examination should be directed to PSI. 
 

PSI licensure:certification 
3210 E Tropicana * Las Vegas, NV  * 89121 

Examination Registration Number (800) 620-5802 
Technical Support Number (702) 939 6780 

Fax Number (702) 932-2666 
www.psiexams.com 

 

Both licensed and unlicensed candidates are eligible to take 
the examination. 

If you are licensed in Virginia, you will need to provide your 
license number during registration. 
 
VERY IMPORTANT:  You must have read the Laws and 
Regulations before testing. 
 

 

EXAMINATION REGISTRATION 
 

FEE 
 
The following table lists the applicable fee for the 
examination.  The fee is for each registration, whether you 
are taking the examination for the first time or repeating.  
 
You may take the examination as many times as necessary to 
obtain a passing score. 
 
Upon valid registration, each test taker will receive an email 
granting on-line access to the examination.  This access is 
valid for one year after which the test taker is required to re-
register. 
 

EXAMINATION FEE 
 
Examination Fee   $52 
 

NOTE:  REGISTRATION FEES ARE NEITHER REFUNDABLE OR 
TRANSFERABLE 

 
TELEPHONE REGISTRATION 

 
PSI registrars are available by phone, (800) 620-5802, Monday 
through Friday, between 7:00 am and 8:00 pm and Saturday, 
between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time to handle your 
registration.  For telephone registration, you will need a valid 
VISA or MasterCard. 
 
1. Complete the Examination Registration Form, including 

your credit card number, expiration date, and card 
verification number, so that you will be prepared with all 
of the information needed to register by telephone. 

 
You will receive an email with the link and PIN number to 
access the examination within 2 hours from the telephone 
registration. 

 
FAX REGISTRATION 

 
For Fax registration, you will need a valid VISA or MasterCard. 
 
Complete the Examination Registration Form, including your 
credit card number and expiration date. 
 
1. Fax the completed form to PSI (702) 932-2666.  Fax 

registrations are accepted 24 hours a day. 
 
2. If your information is incomplete or incorrect, it will be 

returned for correction. 
 
You will receive an email with the link and PIN number to 
access the examination within 4 business days from the 
receipt of the fax. 
 

STANDARD MAIL REGISTRATION 
 
For mail registration, please follow the steps below. 
 
1. Complete the Examination Registration Form.  Mail the  

Registration Form and $52.00 to PSI.  Payment of fees 
can be made by VISA, MasterCard, Money Order, or 
Cashier’s Check only (made payable to PSI).  CASH, 
COMPANY CHECKS and PERSONAL CHECKS ARE NOT 
ACCEPTED. 
 

PSI licensure:certification 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
 (800) 620-5802    Fax (702) 932-2666 

www.psiexams.com 
 
BE SURE TO READ ALL DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE 
COMPLETING THE EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORMS.  
IMPROPERLY COMPLETED FORMS WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU 
UNPROCESSED. 
 
If your application or fees are not correct, PSI will return 
them to you immediately with instructions on correct 
application procedures. 
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You will receive an email with the link and PIN number to 
access the examination within 2 weeks from the receipt of 
the mailed Registration Form. 
 

REREGISTERING FOR AN EXAMINATION 
 

If you need to reregister for another exam due to a failing 
score, you must complete and submit a new Examination 
Registration Form with the appropriate fee to PSI.  You may 
pay with VISA, MasterCard, Cashier’s Check, or Money Order 
(made payable to PSI).  Cash and Personal and company 
checks are not accepted. 
 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER CONFIDENTIALITY 
 
PSI will use your social security number only as an 
identification number in maintaining its records and reporting 
your examination scores to the state.  A Federal law requires 
state agencies to collect and record the social security 
numbers of all professional licensees licensed by the state.  
 

TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
You will be receiving an email with the link and key (PIN 
number) to access the examination. 
 
After you have completed your examination, a score report 
will be mailed to you the following  business day.  You should 
receive your results within 7 days.   

You can write to PSI to request a duplicate of your score 
report.  The fee for a duplicate score report is $10.  Money   
Order, certified check, or cashier's check ONLY.  
 
If you encounter problems taking the Virginia Dental 
Examination, you may contact the PSI help desk at 1-702-939-
6780, Monday through Friday, between 7:00 am and 8:00 pm 
and Saturday, between 11:00 am and 5:00 pm, Eastern Time.  
Alternatively, you may email PSI at 
techsupport@psionline.com.  Please include your telephone 
number in the email.  PSI will respond to your technical 
support email within 6 hours of receipt (during PSI help desk 
hours stated above). 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

EXAMINATION CONTENT OUTLINE  
 
Effective December 14, 2007:  When you voluntarily take 
and pass the Law examination, the Virginia Board of 
Dentistry will grant 3 hours of continuing education credit 
towards the continuing education requirement for renewal 
of a dental or dental hygiene license. 
 
 

DENTAL EXAMINATION 
 
VERY IMPORTANT:  You must have read the Laws and 
Regulations before testing. 
 
 

# of Questions Minimum Passing 
Score 

Time 
Allowed 

50 
 

 40 (80%) Correct 
Answers  

  75 minutes 

 
CONTENT OUTLINE 

 

Topic # of 
Items 

Dentistry Chapter of the Code of Virginia (§54.1-
2700 et seq 7 

Public Participation Guidelines (18VAC60-11-10 
et seq) and  Regulations Governing the Practice 
of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene (18VAC60-20-10 
et seq) 

25 

Virginia Drug Control Act (§54.1-3408 through 
3411)   10 

Additional Statutes  Pertaining to Dentistry 
Patient Health Records (§32.1-127.1:03) 
Health Practitioner Intervention Program 
(§ 54.1-2515 et  seq) 
General Powers & Duties of Health 
Regulatory Boards (§54.1-2400 et seq) 

8 

 
 

REFERENCE LIST  
 
The following is a list of possible study materials for the 
Virginia Dental examination.  These materials are available 
online at http://www.dhp.virginia.gov. 
 
 Entire Dentistry Chapter §54.1-2700 et seq 
 Entire Public Participation Guidelines 18VAC60-10-10 et 

seq 
 Entire Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry 

and Dental Hygiene 18VAC60-20-10 et seq 
 §54.1-3408 through §54.1-3411 of the Virginia Drug 

Control Act  
 Entire Law on Patient Health Records §32.1-127.1:03 
 Entire Health Practitioner Intervention Program Chapter 

§54.1-2515 et seq 
 Entire General Provisions Chapter §54.1-2400 et seq 

 
 
 
 



 

                  VIRGINIA DENTAL EXAMINATION  
MAIL-IN OR FAX REGISTRATION FORM

 
Read the Candidate Information Bulletin before filling out this registration form.  You must provide all information requested and submit the 
appropriate fee.  PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY.  Registration forms that are incomplete, illegible, or not accompanied by the proper fee will be 
returned unprocessed. Registration fees are not refundable or transferable. 
 

1.  Legal Name:                                

                              Last Name                                                                First Name                                       M.I. 

2.  Social Security:    -   -     (FOR IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY) 

 
3.  License Number:            (REQUIRED FOR LICENSED CANDIDATES) 

 
4.  Mailing Address:                                

                                          Number, Street                                                                                                                 Apt/Ste  

                          -      

                                           City                                                                              State       Zip Code   

5. Telephone:      Home        -              Office        -      

 
6.  Email (MANDATORY): ____________________________________________@________________________________________ 

     

7.  Examination: (Check One) 

 

                      

 Dental Examination $52    

       
 FIRST TIME  RETAKE    

 
8. Total Fee Included:  $____________  (VISA, MasterCard, Cashier’s Check, or Money Order (made payable to PSI) only.  Cash and Personal and company  
                                                                                      checks are not accepted.) 
 
       Credit card (MasterCard or VISA) payment accepted for phone or fax registrations only. (Check One):

 
 MC  VISA 

       Card No:___________________________________________________________           Exp. Date:________________________________  

  

       Card Verification No:__________________ 

 
For your security, PSI requires you to enter the card identification number located on  
your credit card.  The card identification number is located on the back of the card and  
consists of the last three digits on the signature strip.

        Cardholder Name (Print):______________________________________ Signature:___________________________________________ 

  
 
9. Affidavit:  I certify that the information provided on this registration form (and/or telephonically to PSI) is correct. I have read 

and understand the examination information bulletin. 
 

Signature:___________________________________________________ Date:_____________________________________  
 

IF YOU ARE REGISTERING BY MAIL OR FAX, SIGN AND DATE THIS REGISTRATION FORM ON THE LINES PROVIDED. 
 

Complete and forward this registration form with the applicable examination fee to: 
PSI licensure:certification * ATTN:  Examination Registration VA DENT 

3210 E Tropicana Ave * Las Vegas * NV  *  89121 
Fax  (702) 932-2666 * (800) 620-5802 * TTY (800) 735-2929 

www.psiexams.com 
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