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COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Perimeter Center: 9960 MAYLAND DRIVE, Suite 300 

HENRICO, VIRGINIA  23233-1463 

(804) 367-4515 or www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing  

 

 

INSTRUCTIONS FOR 

 REGISTRATION FOR VOLUNTEER NURSING PRACTICE 

 

Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3001.11 and Regulation 18 VAC 90-20-271, the following documentation is 

required to submit an application for Registration for Volunteer Nursing Practice: 

 

 Completed application submitted to board at least 5 business days prior to engaging in such practice. 

 

 Applicants must hold a current, valid unrestricted license to practice nursing.  

 

 NOTE: If you hold an unrestricted license or multi-state privilege to practice nursing in 

Virginia you do not need to file this application to perform covered volunteer services
1
.  

 

 A copy of a current, valid unrestricted license to practice nursing. 

 

 The name of the nonprofit organization, date(s) and location(s).  The complete address, including zip 

 code, of the location(s) is required to complete your application. 

 

 Registration fee: The fee for a Registration for Volunteer Practice is $10 and must be paid with a 

 certified check, cashier’s check or money order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. Your 

 application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted payment. Pursuant to 

 Regulation 18VAC60-21-230(E), fees are non-refundable. 

 

 Completed Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration form. 

 

 

 

 
 

 

                                                 
1
  Covered volunteer services are indicated in Virginia Code § 54.1-3001.11. 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3001/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter20/section271/

