|Board of Physical Therapy|
Phone: (804) 367-4674
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
Looking for a career in healthcare?
|Other Citizen Services|
Effective February 7, 2018, updates to the Board’s regulations became effective to recognize the oPTion online assessment tool offered by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) as a means for physical therapists to self-assess their competency level and to review PT concepts. The updates replace reference to the Practice Review Tool (PRT), which was discontinued by FSBPT in November 2016.
According to FSBPT,
oPTion is a self-assessment tool created by the FSBPT to allow physical therapists to compare their knowledge, skills, and abilities to current entry-level general physical therapy practice. It is also an opportunity to review PT fundamentals.
Licensees may earn continuing education credit for completion of the oPTion assessment tool
5. A physical therapist who can document that he attained at least Level 2 on the FSBPT assessment tool may receive five hours of Type 1 credit for the biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. A physical therapist who can document that he attained at least Level 3 or 4 on the FSBPT assessment tool may receive 10 hours of Type 1 credit for the biennium in which the assessment tool was taken. Continuing competency credit shall only be granted for the FSBPT assessment tool once every four years.
In addition, licensees seeking reinstatement of their lapsed or inactive licenses have the choice of using the FSBPT assessment tool to meet certain requirements for reinstatement or reactivation, as applicable. For more information, please refer to 18VAC112-20-135 (Inactive License) and 18VAC112-20-136 (Reinstatement Requirements), or contact the Board with questions.
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
This information has been added to assist the public in understanding Physical Therapy practice and selecting a Physical Therapist or a Physical Therapist Assistant.
- Verify a Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant license (License Lookup)
- Learn Physical Therapy basics
- Choosing Wisely
- Understanding Your Rights
- How to file a complaint
Important Licensure Renewal Information
Please click here to read important information regarding your 2016 renewal.
Licensure Verification and Change of Name/Address Information
Please click here for information on how to request a verification of licensure.
Please click here for information on how to change your address or make a name change.
Online Licensing - Physical Therapy licensees can renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Use aPTitude for Tracking your CEU's
Read more about the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) aPTitude System
Continuing Education Courses
To review Type 1 and Type 2 continuing education requirements for renewal and reinstatement of a Physical Therapist or a Physical Therapist Assistant license please click here for more information.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Discipline Case Information:
The Board of Physical Therapy would like to share with you the top three types of cases that came before the board during FY15 (July 1, 2014 – June 30, 2015) and that resulted in disciplinary action:
- Fraudulent billing cases
- Cases that resulted from out of state disciplinary orders
- Continuing Education violations
Healthcare Workforce Data Findings
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation
- More information...
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
View and download the list of available guidance documents from the Board of Physical Therapy. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards. Please click here for more information on how to become a Registered Public User of the Regulatory Town Hall.