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Part I.  General Provisions. 

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to 

them in § 54.1-3700 of the Code of Virginia: 

Baccalaureate social worker 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Master's social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter shall have the following meanings 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social work accredited by the Council on 

Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level of licensure for which an applicant is 

seeking licensure in Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 12-month period.  

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case management, recordkeeping, referral, and 

coordination of services. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work that includes specialized advanced courses 

in human behavior and the social environment, social justice and policy, psychopathology and 

diversity issues; research; clinical practice with individuals, families, and groups; and a clinical 

practicum that focuses on diagnostic, prevention and treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of social work principles and methods in 

performing assessments and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of mental and emotional 

disorders or recognized system of problem definition, preventive and early intervention services and 

treatment services, including psychosocial interventions, psychotherapy and counseling for mental 

disorders, substance abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused by social and 

psychological stress or health impairment.  

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 

licensure as defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3700/
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3701/
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"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of the individuals involved in the 

supervisory relationship during either individual or group supervision or the use of technology that 

provides real-time, visual contact among the individuals involved. 

"LBSW" means a licensed baccalaureate social worker. 

"LMSW" means a licensed master's social worker. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the conditions of exemption from the requirements 

of licensure as defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a supervisory contract and has received board 

approval to provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a supervisor and supervisee in which the 

supervisor directs, monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice while promoting 

development of the supervisee's knowledge, skills and abilities to provide social work services in an 

ethical and competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-20. [Repealed]  

18VAC140-20-30. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

1. Registration of supervision $50 

2. Addition to or change in registration of supervision $25 

3. Application processing  

 

a. Licensed clinical social worker $165 

b. LBSW 

c. LMSW 

$115 

$115 

4. Annual license renewal    

a. Registered social worker $25 

b. Associate social worker  $25 

c. LBSW 

d. LMSW 

$65 

$65 

e. Licensed clinical social worker  $90 

5. Penalty for late renewal  

 

a. Registered social worker $10 

b. Associate social worker  $10 

c. LBSW 

d. LMSW 

$20 

$20 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-3701/
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e. Licensed clinical social worker  $30 

6. Verification of license to another jurisdiction  $25 

7. Additional or replacement licenses $15 

8. Additional or replacement wall certificates  $25 

9. Returned check $35 

10. Reinstatement following disciplinary action  $500 

B. Fees shall be paid by check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia and 

forwarded to the board. All fees are nonrefundable.  

 

C. Examination fees shall be paid directly to the examination service according to its requirements.  

18VAC140-20-35. Sex offender treatment provider certification.  

Anyone licensed by the board who is seeking certification as a sex offender treatment provider shall 

obtain certification under the Board of Psychology and adhere to the board's Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers, 18VAC125-30-10 et seq.  

18VAC140-20-37. Licensure; general.  

LBSWs and LMSWs may practice in exempt practice settings under appropriate supervision. In 

accordance with § 54.1-3700 of the Code of Virginia, an LBSW shall engage in the practice of social 

work under the supervision of a master's social worker. Only licensed clinical social workers may 

practice at the autonomous level.  

 

Part II.  Requirements for Licensure.  

18VAC140-20-40. Requirements for licensure by examination as a clinical social worker.  

Every applicant for examination for licensure as a licensed clinical social worker shall: 

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-20-49 and experience 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-20-50. 

2. Submit a completed application to the board office within two years of completion of 

supervised experience to include: 

a. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the successful completion of the 

supervised experience requirements of 18VAC140-20-50 along with documentation of the 

supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable. Applicants whose former supervisor is 

deceased, or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the board a notarized 

affidavit from the present chief executive officer of the agency, corporation or partnership 

in which the applicant was supervised. The affidavit shall specify dates of employment, 

job responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known address, and the total number of 

hours spent by the applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision;  
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b. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30;  

c. Official transcript or documentation submitted from the appropriate institutions of 

higher education that verifies successful completion of educational requirements set forth 

in 18VAC140-20-49;  

d. Documentation of any other health or mental health licensure or certification, if 

applicable; and 

e. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

3. Provide evidence of passage of the examination prescribed in 18VAC140-20-70.  

18VAC140-20-45. Requirements for licensure by endorsement.  

A. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall submit in one package:  

1. A completed application and the application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

2. Documentation of active social work licensure in good standing obtained by standards 

required for licensure in another jurisdiction as verified by the out-of-state licensing agency. 

Licensure in the other jurisdiction shall be of a comparable type as the licensure that the 

applicant is seeking in Virginia. 

3. Verification of a passing score on a board-approved national exam at the level for which 

the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia.  

4. Documentation of any other health or mental health licensure or certification, if applicable. 

5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB).  

6. Verification of: 

a. Active practice at the level for which the applicant is seeking licensure in another United 

States jurisdiction for 24 out of the past 60 months;  

b. Active practice in an exempt setting at the level for which the applicant is seeking 

licensure for 24 out of the past 60 months; or  

c. Evidence of supervised experience requirements substantially equivalent to those 

outlined in 18VAC140-20-50 A 2 and A 3 and 18VAC140-20-60 C 2 and C 3. 

7. Certification that the applicant is not the respondent in any pending or unresolved board 

action in another jurisdiction or in a malpractice claim.  
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B. If an applicant for licensure by endorsement has not passed a board-approved national 

examination at the level for which the applicant is seeking licensure in Virginia, the board may 

approve the applicant to sit for such examination. 

18VAC140-20-49. Educational requirements for a licensed clinical social worker. 

A. The applicant for licensure as a clinical social worker shall document successful completion of 

one of the following: (i) a master's degree in social work with a clinical course of study from a 

program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, (ii) a master's degree in social work 

with a nonclinical concentration from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education 

together with successful completion of the educational requirements for a clinical course of study 

through a graduate program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, or (iii) a program 

of education and training in social work at an educational institution outside the United States 

recognized by the Council on Social Work Education. 

 

B. The requirement for a clinical practicum in a clinical course of study shall be a minimum of 600 

hours, which shall be integrated with clinical course of study coursework and supervised by a person 

who is a licensed clinical social worker or who holds a master's or doctor's degree in social work and 

has a minimum of three years of experience in clinical social work services after earning the graduate 

degree. An applicant who has otherwise met the requirements for a clinical course of study but who 

did not have a minimum of 600 hours in a supervised field placement/practicum in clinical social 

work services may meet the requirement by obtaining an equivalent number of hours of supervised 

practice in clinical social work services in addition to the experience required in 18VAC140-20-50. 

18VAC140-20-50. Experience requirements for a licensed clinical social worker. 

A. Supervised experience. Supervised post-master's degree experience without prior written board 

approval will not be accepted toward licensure, except supervision obtained in another United States 

jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the requirements of that jurisdiction. 

 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain supervised post-master's degree 

experience in Virginia shall, prior to the onset of such supervision, or whenever there is an 

addition or change of supervised practice, supervisor, clinical social work services or location: 

 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and completed by the supervisor and the 

supervised individual; and  

 

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 18VAC140-20-30. 

 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised post-

master's degree experience in the delivery of clinical social work services and in ancillary 

services that support such delivery. A minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours of 

face-to-face supervision shall be provided per 40 hours of work experience for a total of at 

least 100 hours. No more than 50 of the 100 hours may be obtained in group supervision, nor 

shall there be more than six persons being supervised in a group unless approved in advance 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency140/chapter20/section50/
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by the board. The board may consider alternatives to face-to-face supervision if the applicant 

can demonstrate an undue burden due to hardship, disability or geography. 

 

a. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor more than four 

consecutive years. 

 

b. Supervisees shall obtain throughout their hours of supervision a minimum of 1,380 

hours of supervised experience in face-to-face client contact in the delivery of clinical 

social work services. The remaining hours may be spent in ancillary services supporting 

the delivery of clinical social work services. 

 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision requirement after four consecutive 

years of supervised experience may request an extension of up to 12 months. The request for 

an extension shall include evidence that demonstrates extenuating circumstances that 

prevented completion of the supervised experience within four consecutive years. 

 

B. Requirements for supervisors. 

 

1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a licensed clinical social worker 

in the jurisdiction in which the clinical services are being rendered with at least two years of 

post-licensure clinical social work experience. The board may consider supervisors with 

commensurate qualifications if the applicant can demonstrate an undue burden due to 

geography or disability or if supervision was obtained in another United States jurisdiction. 

 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training in supervision, consisting of a three 

credit-hour graduate course in supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing education offered 

by a provider approved under 18VAC140-20-105. The graduate course or hours of continuing 

education in supervision shall be obtained by a supervisor within five years immediately 

preceding registration of supervision. 

 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family member or provide supervision 

for anyone with whom he has a dual relationship. 

 

4. The board may consider supervisors from jurisdictions outside of Virginia who provided 

clinical social work supervision if they have commensurate qualifications but were either (i) 

not licensed because their jurisdiction did not require licensure or (ii) were not designated as 

clinical social workers because the jurisdiction did not require such designation. 

 

C. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 

 

1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the supervisee as set forth in this subsection 

once the supervisory arrangement is accepted; 
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2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and treatment plan of a representative 

sample of the clients assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. The sample 

should be representative of the variables of gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and 

treatment method within the client population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's 

responsibility to assure the representativeness of the sample that is presented to the supervisor; 

 

3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities for which the supervisor has 

determined the applicant is competent to provide to clients; 

 

4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which the supervisor is qualified by 

education, training and experience; 

 

5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document minimal competencies in the areas of 

an identified theory base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing and monitoring 

a treatment plan, development and appropriate use of the professional relationship, assessing 

the client for risk of imminent danger, understanding the requirements of law for reporting 

any harm or risk of harm to self or others, and implementing a professional and ethical 

relationship with clients; 

 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled basis for supervision;  

 

7. Maintain documentation, for five years post-supervision, of which clients were the subject 

of supervision; and 

 

8. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in supervision or if supervision has ended 

or been terminated by the supervisor. 

 

D. Responsibilities of supervisees. 

 

1. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered or in any way represent themselves 

as independent, autonomous practitioners, or licensed clinical social workers.  

 

2. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use their names and the initials of their 

degree, and the title "Supervisee in Social Work" in all written communications.  

 

3. Clients shall be informed in writing of the supervisee's status and the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number. 

 

4. Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical social work services provided by 

another person. 

18VAC140-20-51. Requirements for licensure by examination as an LBSW or LMSW. 
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A. In order to be approved to sit for the board-approved examination as an LBSW or an LMSW, an 

applicant shall:  

1. Meet the education requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60. 

2. Submit a completed application to the board office to include: 

a. The application fee prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30; and 

b. Official transcripts submitted from the appropriate institutions of higher education. 

B. In order to be licensed by examination as an LBSW or an LMSW, an applicant shall: 

1. Meet the requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-20-60; and 

2. Submit, in addition to the application requirements of subsection A of this section, the 

following: 

a. Verification of a passing score on the board-approved national examination;  

b. Documentation of any other health or mental health licensure or certification, if 

applicable; and 

c. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB). 

3. For licensure as a LBSW, submit documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the successful 

completion of the supervised experience requirements of 18VAC140-20-60 along with 

documentation of the supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable. An applicant, whose 

former supervisor is deceased or whose whereabouts is unknown, shall submit to the board a 

notarized affidavit from the present chief executive officer of the agency, corporation, or 

partnership in which the applicant was supervised. The affidavit shall specify dates of 

employment, job responsibilities, supervisor's name and last known address, and the total 

number of hours spent by the applicant with the supervisor in face-to-face supervision. 

18VAC140-20-60. Education and experience requirements for an LBSW or LMSW. 

A. Education. The applicant for licensure as an LBSW shall hold a bachelor's degree from an 

accredited school of social work. The applicant for licensure as an LMSW shall hold a master's degree 

from an accredited school of social work. Graduates of foreign institutions must establish the 

equivalency of their education to this requirement through the Foreign Equivalency Determination 

Service of the Council on Social Work Education. 

B. Master's degree applicant. An applicant who holds a master's degree may apply for licensure as 

an LMSW without documentation of supervised experience. 

C. Supervised experience requirement for bachelor's degree applicants. Supervised experience 

without prior written board approval will not be accepted toward licensure, except supervision 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the requirements of that 

jurisdiction.  
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1. Registration. Prior to the onset of supervision, an individual who proposes to obtain 

supervised experience in Virginia shall: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and completed by the supervisor and the 

supervised individual; and  

b. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. Bachelor's degree applicants shall have completed a minimum of 3,000 hours of 

supervised post-bachelor's degree experience in casework management and supportive 

services under supervision satisfactory to the board. A minimum of one hour and a maximum 

of four hours of face-to-face supervision shall be provided per 40 hours of work experience 

for a total of at least 100 hours. 

3. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than two nor more than four consecutive 

years from the beginning of the supervised experience. An individual who does not complete 

the supervision requirement after four consecutive years of supervised experience may request 

an extension of up to 12 months. The request for an extension shall include evidence that 

demonstrates extenuating circumstances that prevented completion of the supervised 

experience within four consecutive years. 

D. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor providing supervision shall hold an active, unrestricted license as a licensed 

social worker with a master's degree, or a licensed social worker with a bachelor's degree and 

at least three years of post-licensure social work experience or a licensed clinical social worker 

in the jurisdiction in which the social work services are being rendered. If this requirement 

places an undue burden on the applicant due to geography or disability, the board may 

consider individuals with comparable qualifications. 

2. The supervisor shall: 

a. Be responsible for the social work practice of the prospective applicant once the 

supervisory arrangement is accepted by the board; 

b. Review and approve the assessment and service plan of a representative sample of cases 

assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. The sample should be 

representative of the variables of gender, age, assessment, length of service and casework 

method within the client population seen by the applicant. It is the applicant's 

responsibility to assure the representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 

supervisor. The supervisor shall be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 

basis for supervision. The supervisor will maintain documentation, for five years post 

supervision, of which clients were the subject of supervision;  

c. Provide supervision only for those casework management and support services activities 

for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is competent to provide to clients;  

d. Provide supervision only for those activities for which the supervisor is qualified;  

e. Evaluate the supervisee in the areas of professional ethics and professional competency; 

and 

f. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in supervision or if the supervision has 

ended or has been terminated by the supervisor. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family member or provide supervision 

for anyone with whom the supervisor has a dual relationship. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency140/chapter20/section30/
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Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC140-20-70. Examination requirement. 

A. An applicant for licensure by the board as an LBSW, an LMSW, or clinical social worker shall 

pass a written examination prescribed by the board. 

1. The examination prescribed for licensure as a clinical social worker shall be the licensing 

examination of the Association of Social Work Boards at the clinical level. 

2. The examination prescribed for licensure as an LBSW shall be the licensing examination 

of the Association of Social Work Boards at the bachelor's level. 

3. The examination prescribed for licensure as an LMSW shall be the licensing examination 

of the Association of Social Work Boards at the master's level. 

B. An applicant approved by the board to sit for an examination shall take that examination within 

two years of the date of the initial board approval. If the applicant has not passed the examination by 

the end of the two-year period here prescribed, the applicant shall reapply according to the 

requirements of the regulations in effect at that time in order to be approved for another two years in 

which to pass the examination.  

C. If an applicant for clinical social work licensure has not passed the examination within the second 

two-year approval period, the applicant shall be required to register for supervision and complete one 

additional year as a supervisee before approval for another two-year period in which to re-take the 

examination may be granted.  

18VAC140-20-80 to 18VAC140-20-90. [Repealed]  

Part IV.  Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement.  

18VAC140-20-100. Licensure renewal.  

A. Beginning with the 2017 renewal, licensees shall renew their licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year and pay the renewal fee prescribed by the board.  

 

B. Licensees who wish to maintain an active license shall pay the appropriate fee and document on 

the renewal form compliance with the continued competency requirements prescribed in 18VAC140-

20-105. Newly licensed individuals are not required to document continuing education on the first 

renewal date following initial licensure.  

 

C. A licensee who wishes to place his license in inactive status may do so upon payment of a fee 

equal to one-half of the annual license renewal fee as indicated on the renewal form. No person shall 

practice social work or clinical social work in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A 
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licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may become active by fulfilling the reactivation 

requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-110.  

 

D. Each licensee shall furnish the board his current address of record. All notices required by law or 

by this chapter to be mailed by the board to any such licensee shall be validly given when mailed to 

the latest address of record given by the licensee. Any change in the address of record or the public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such 

change. 

18VAC140-20-105. Continued competency requirements for renewal of an active license.  

A. Licensed clinical social workers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 30 contact 

hours of continuing education and LBSWs and LMSWs shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing education prior to licensure renewal in even years. 

Courses or activities shall be directly related to the practice of social work or another behavioral 

health field. A minimum of six of those hours for licensed clinical social workers and a minimum of 

three of those hours for licensed social workers must pertain to ethics or the standards of practice for 

the behavioral health professions or to laws governing the practice of social work in Virginia. Up to 

two continuing education hours required for renewal may be satisfied through delivery of social work 

services, without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving health services through a local 

health department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of those services, 

as verified by the department or clinic. Three hours of volunteer service is required for one hour of 

continuing education credit. 

 

1. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to one year for the completion of 

continuing education requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal date. 

Such extension shall not relieve the licensee of the continuing education requirement.  

 

2. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the continuing education requirements due to 

circumstances beyond the control of the licensee such as temporary disability, mandatory military 

service, or officially declared disasters upon written request from the licensee prior to the renewal 

date.  

 

B. Hours may be obtained from a combination of board-approved activities in the following two 

categories:  

 

1. Category I. Formally Organized Learning Activities. A minimum of 20 hours for licensed clinical 

social workers or 10 hours for licensed social workers shall be documented in this category, which 

shall include one or more of the following:  

a. Regionally accredited university or college academic courses in a behavioral health discipline. A 

maximum of 15 hours will be accepted for each academic course.  

b. Continuing education programs offered by universities or colleges accredited by the Council on 

Social Work Education.  

c. Workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses in the behavioral health field offered by federal, 

state or local social service agencies, public school systems or licensed health facilities and licensed 

hospitals.  
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d. Workshops, seminars, conferences or courses in the behavioral health field offered by an 

individual or organization that has been certified or approved by one of the following:  

(1) The Child Welfare League of America an d its state and local affiliates.  

(2) The National Association of Social Workers and its state and local affiliates.  

(3) The Association of Black Social Workers and its state and local affiliates.  

(4) The Family Service Association of America and its state and local affiliates.  

(5) The Clinical Social Work Association and its state and local affiliates.  

(6) The Association of Social Work Boards. 

(7) Any state social work board.  

 

2. Category II. Individual Professional Activities. A maximum of 10 of the required 30 hours for 

licensed clinical social workers or a maximum of five of the required 15 hours for licensed social 

workers may be earned in this category, which shall include one or more of the following:  

a. Participation in an Association of Social Work Boards item writing workshop. (Activity will count 

for a maximum of two hours.)  

b. Publication of a professional social work-related book or initial preparation or presentation of a 

social work-related course. (Activity will count for a maximum of 10 hours.)  

c. Publication of a professional social work-related article or chapter of a book, or initial preparation 

or presentation of a social work-related in-service training, seminar or workshop. (Activity will count 

for a maximum of five hours.)  

d. Provision of a continuing education program sponsored or approved by an organization listed 

under Category I. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours and will only be accepted one 

time for any specific program.)  

e. Field instruction of graduate students in a Council on Social Work Education-accredited school. 

(Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.)  

f. Serving as an officer or committee member of one of the national professional social work 

associations listed under subdivision B 1 d of this section or as a member of a state social work 

licensing board. (Activity will count for a maximum of two hours.)  

g. Attendance at formal staffings at federal, state or local social service agencies, public school 

systems or licensed health facilities and licensed hospitals. (Activity will count for a maximum of 

five hours.)  

h. Individual or group study including listening to audio tapes, viewing video tapes, or reading 

professional books or articles. (Activity will count for a maximum of five hours.)  

18VAC140-20-106. Documenting compliance with continuing education requirements.  

A. All licensees in active status are required to maintain original documentation for a period of three 

years following renewal.  

 

B. The board may conduct an audit of licensees to verify compliance with the requirement for a 

renewal period.  

 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation as follows:  

 

1. Documentation of Category I activities by submission of:  
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a. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned; or  

 

b. Certificates of participation.  

 

2. Attestation of completion of Category II activities.  

 

D. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order shall not be used to satisfy renewal 

requirements.  

18VAC140-20-110. Late renewal; reinstatement; reactivation.  

A. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker whose license has expired may renew that license 

within one year after its expiration date by:  

1. Providing evidence of having met all applicable continuing education requirements.  

2. Paying the penalty for late renewal and the renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC140-20-30.  

 

B. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker who fails to renew the license after one year and 

who wishes to resume practice shall apply for reinstatement and pay the reinstatement fee, which 

shall consist of the application processing fee and the penalty fee for late renewal, as set forth in 

18VAC140-20-30. An applicant for reinstatement shall also provide: 

1. Documentation of having completed all applicable continued competency hours equal to 

the number of years the license has lapsed, not to exceed four years; 

2. Documentation of any other health or mental health licensure or certification held in another 

United States jurisdiction, if applicable; and  

3. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services National 

Practitioner Data Bank. 

C. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection B of this section, an applicant for reinstatement 

whose license has been lapsed for 10 or more years shall also provide evidence of competency to 

practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months 

immediately preceding application;  

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months 

immediately preceding reinstatement of licensure in Virginia. The supervised practice shall 

include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-

face supervision. 

D. An LBSW, LMSW, or clinical social worker wishing to reactivate an inactive license shall submit 

the difference between the renewal fee for active licensure and the fee for inactive licensure renewal 
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and document completion of continued competency hours equal to the number of years the license 

has been inactive, not to exceed four years. An applicant for reactivation who has been inactive for 

10 or more years shall also provide evidence of competency to practice by documenting: 

1. Active practice in another United States jurisdiction for at least 24 out of the past 60 months 

immediately preceding application; 

2. Active practice in an exempt setting for at least 24 out of the past 60 months immediately 

preceding application; or 

3. Practice as a supervisee under supervision for at least 360 hours in the 12 months 

immediately preceding reactivation of licensure in Virginia. The supervised practice shall 

include a minimum of 60 hours of face-to-face direct client contact and nine hours of face-to-

face supervision. 

18VAC140-20-120. [Repealed]  

18VAC140-20-130. Renewal of registration for associate social workers and registered social 

workers.  

The registration of every associate social worker and registered social worker with the former 

Virginia Board of Registration of Social Workers under former §54-775.4 of the Code of Virginia 

shall expire on June 30 of each year.  

 

1. Each registrant shall return the completed application before the expiration date, accompanied by 

the payment of the renewal fee prescribed by the board.  

 

2. Failure to receive the renewal notice shall not relieve the registrant from the renewal requirement.  

18VAC140-20-140. [Repealed]  

Part V. Standards of Practice. 

18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and the best interest of the public shall be 

the primary guide in determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons whose 

activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the delivery method, whether in person, by 

telephone or electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of social work. 

B. Persons licensed as LBSWs, LMSWs, and clinical social workers shall: 

1. Be able to justify all services rendered to or on behalf of clients as necessary for diagnostic or 

therapeutic purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be interrupted or terminated. 
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3. Practice only within the competency areas for which they are qualified by education and 

experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations governing the 

practice of social work. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other forms of remuneration for referral of 

clients for professional services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services and the limitations on confidentiality and 

ensure that clients have provided informed written consent to treatment. 

8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with clients and disclose client records to others 

only with written consent of the client, with the following exceptions: (i) when the client is a danger 

to self or others; or (ii) as required by law. 

9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure that such advertising is neither fraudulent 

nor misleading. 

10. As treatment requires and with the written consent of the client, collaborate with other health or 

mental health providers concurrently providing services to the client. 

11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which one's personal problems are likely to lead to 

inadequate or harmful services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of the nature and directions of loyalties and 

responsibilities involved. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each client to include identifying information 

and assessment that substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans. Each record shall include a 

diagnosis and treatment plan, progress notes for each case activity, information received from all 

collaborative contacts and the treatment implications of that information, and the termination 

process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of the requirements of confidentiality, and 

provide for the destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner that ensures client 

confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' expressed written consent or that of their 

legally authorized representative or as mandated by law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and clinical materials by obtaining informed 

consent from clients or their legally authorized representative before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio 
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recording, (iii) permitting third-party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing or public presentations. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as otherwise required by law from the date 

of termination of the therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be maintained for six years after attaining the age of 

majority or 10 years following termination, whichever comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or federal law to be maintained for a longer 

period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental health professional or have been given to 

the client or his legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a supervisee that could impair professional 

judgment or increase the risk of exploitation or harm to the client or supervisee. (Examples of such 

a relationship include familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or a close personal relationship 

with a client or supervisee.) Social workers shall take appropriate professional precautions when a 

dual relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of romantic relationship or sexual intimacies with a client or those included in 

collateral therapeutic services, and not provide services to those persons with whom they have had a 

romantic or sexual relationship. Social workers shall not engage in romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacies with a former client within a minimum of five years after terminating the professional 

relationship. Social workers who engage in such a relationship after five years following 

termination shall have the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that such a 

relationship did not have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of therapy, amount 

of time since therapy, termination circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, adverse 

impact on the client. A client's consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a social worker does not change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any romantic or sexual relationship or establish a therapeutic relationship with a 

current supervisee or student. Social workers shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a 

supervisee or student in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student, or the potential for interference with the supervisor's professional judgment. 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of the nature and directions of loyalties and 

responsibilities involved. 

5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client in which there is a risk of exploitation 

or potential harm or if the former client continues to relate to the social worker in his professional 

capacity. 
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E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable probability that another mental health 

provider is or may be guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in statute or regulation, 

persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC140-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or denial of issuance of a license or 

registration. 

The board may refuse to admit an applicant to an examination; refuse to issue a license or 

registration to an applicant; or reprimand, impose a monetary penalty, place on probation, impose 

such terms as it may designate, suspend for a stated period of time or indefinitely, or revoke a 

license or registration for one or more of the following grounds: 

1. Conviction of a felony or of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude; 

2. Procurement of license by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to make the practice a danger to the health and 

welfare of one's clients or to the public. In the event a question arises concerning the continued 

competence of a licensee, the board will consider evidence of continuing education. 

4. Being unable to practice social work with reasonable skill and safety to clients by reason of 

illness, excessive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals or any other type of material or as a 

result of any mental or physical condition; 

5. Conducting one's practice in a manner contrary to the standards of ethics of social work or in 

violation of 18VAC140-20-150, standards of practice; 

6. Performing functions outside the board-licensed area of competency; 

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency requirements set forth in 18VAC140-20-105; 

and 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any statute applicable to the practice of social 

work or any provision of this chapter; and 

9. Failure to provide supervision in accordance with the provisions of 18VAC140-20-50 or 

18VAC140-20-60. 

18VAC140-20-170. Reinstatement following disciplinary action.  

Any person whose license has been suspended, revoked, or denied renewal by the board under the 

provisions of 18VAC140-20-160 shall, in order to be eligible for reinstatement, (i) submit a new 

application to the board for a license, (ii) pay the appropriate reinstatement fee, and (iii) submit any 

other credentials as prescribed by the board. After a hearing, the board may, at its discretion, grant 

the reinstatement.  
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18VAC140-20-171. Criteria for delegation of informal fact-finding proceedings to an agency 

subordinate. 

A. Decision to delegate.  In accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of the Code of Virginia, the board 

may delegate an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon determination that 

probable cause exists that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary action. 

 

B. Criteria for delegation. Cases that may not be delegated to an agency subordinate include 

violations of standards of practice as set forth in 18 VAC 140-20-150, except as may otherwise be 

determined by the probable cause committee in consultation with the board chair. 

 

C. Criteria for an agency subordinate. 

 

1. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding 

may include board members and professional staff or other persons deemed knowledgeable by virtue 

of their training and experience in administrative proceedings involving the regulation and discipline 

of health professionals. 

 

2. The executive director shall maintain a list of appropriately qualified persons to whom an informal 

fact-finding proceeding may be delegated. 

 

3. The board may delegate to the executive director the selection of the agency subordinate who is 

deemed appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on the qualifications of the subordinate 

and the type of case being heard. 

 


