Board of Health Professions
ANNOUNCEMENT REGARDING DIALYSIS PATIENT CARE TECHNICIAN TRAINEE PROVISIONAL PRACTICE
A person receiving training to become certified as a dialysis patient care technician may now practice under the provisions of House Bill 618
(Acts of the Assembly 75(2006)). This measure was signed into law and became effective on March 10, 2006. It provides for persons who are being
trained to become a dialysis patient care technicians to gain the practical experience required to obtain certification. This practice may only occur
as part of the training program and must be under the direct (on premises) supervision of a licensed registered nurse. Further, any person practicing
under the provision of this law must be identified to the public as a "trainee" while working at the dialysis facility.
For further details, review the text of Chapter 75 (2006) of the Acts of the Assembly (HB618), provided through the following link to the General Assembly's website.
The below documents are in Microsoft Word format. If you do not have Microsoft Word, you can get the Microsoft® Word Viewer 97/2000 to view and print DHP's documents.
Laws as of July 1, 2020 - Selected sections of the Code of Virginia
- Regulations regarding Dietitians and Nutritionists - 10-19-2016 - Repealed
- Regulations of the Board of Health Professions Governing Practitioner Self-Referral - 9-10-07
- Regulations Governing
Certification of Dialysis Technicians - 5-18-05
Click here to view the legislation behind these regulations.
Inquiries may be directed to:
NNCC Nephrology Nursing Certification Commission
Entry-level candidates may wish to contact NNCC as they offer certifying examinations upon completion of training programs of less than 6 months. NNCC has asked that entry-level candidates contact them with questions directly at (253) 426-6806.
BONENT Board of Nephrology Examiners Nursing & Technology
NNCO National Nephrology Certification Organization
- Public Participation Guidelines - 1-12-2017
- Click here to obtain a Petition for Rule-making. If you would like the Board to consider amending one of its regulations or rules, you may file a "petition for rule-making". The Board is required to publish your petition in the Virginia Register and post it online at www.townhall.virginia.gov to begin a 21-day comment period on the request. Within 90 days after the comment period or 14 days after its next scheduled meeting, the Board will issue a decision on whether it will grant or deny the petition. A copy of the petition form is provided. You may email the petition to the address below, fax it to the number on the form or mail it to the Board address.