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Virginia Board of Dentistry

Policy on Recovery of Disciplinary Costs
Applicable Law and Regulations
· §54.1-2708.2 of the Code of Virginia.  
The Board of Dentistry (the Board) may recover from any licensee against whom disciplinary action has been imposed reasonable administrative costs associated with investigating and monitoring such licensee and confirming compliance with any terms and conditions imposed upon the licensee as set forth in the order imposing disciplinary action. Such recovery shall not exceed a total of $5,000. All administrative costs recovered pursuant to this section shall be paid by the licensee to the Board. Such administrative costs shall be deposited into the account of the Board and shall not constitute a fine or penalty.  
· 18VAC60-15-10 of the Regulations Governing the Disciplinary Process.  The Board may assess:

· the hourly costs to investigate the case, 

· the costs for hiring an expert witness, and

· the costs of monitoring a licensee’s compliance with the specific terms and conditions imposed up to $5,000, consistent with the Board’s published guidance document on costs.  The costs being imposed on a licensee shall be included in the order agreed to by the parties or issued by the Board.
Policy
In addition to the sanctions to be imposed which might include a monetary penalty, the Board will specify the costs to be recovered from a licensee in each pre-hearing consent order offered and in each order entered following an administrative proceeding.  The amount to be recovered will be calculated using the assessment of costs specified below and will be recorded on a Disciplinary Cost Recovery Worksheet (the worksheet).  All applicable costs will be assessed as set forth in this guidance document.  Board staff shall complete the worksheet and assure that the cost to be assessed is included in Board orders.  The completed worksheets shall be maintained in the case file.  Assessed costs shall be paid within 45 days of the effective date of the Order, unless a payment plan has been requested and approved.
Assessment of Costs

Based on the expenditures incurred in the state’s fiscal year which ended on June 30, 2016, the following costs will be used to calculate the amount of funds to be specified in a board order for recovery from a licensee being disciplined by the Board:
· $107 per hour for an investigation multiplied by the number of hours the DHP Enforcement Division reports having expended to investigate and report case findings to the Board.
· $114 per hour for an inspection conducted during the course of an investigation, multiplied by the number of hours the DHP Enforcement Division reports having expended to inspect the dental practice and report case findings to the Board. 
· If applicable, the amount billed by an expert upon acceptance by the Board of his expert report.

· The applicable administrative costs for monitoring compliance with an order as follows: 
· $ 123.50   Base cost to open, review and close a compliance case  
·      68.75   For each continuing education course ordered

·      18.25   For each monetary penalty and cost assessment payment
·      18.25   For each practice inspection ordered

·      36.50   For each records audit ordered

·    109.50   For passing a clinical examination
·    101.00   For each practice restriction ordered 
·      82.75   For each report required.

Inspection Fee

In addition to the assessment of administrative costs addressed above, a licensee shall be charged $350 for each Board-ordered inspection of his practice as permitted by 18VAC60-21-40 of the Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry.
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