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INSTRUCTIONS FOR REGISTRATION FOR VOLUNTEER DENTAL PRACTICE 
 

A completed application shall include the following unless otherwise stated below.  An incomplete application and/or fee 
will delay the processing of your application.  Incomplete applications remain active for one year from the date of receipt.  
After one year from date of receipt, you would need to reapply for Virginia licensure.  Documents submitted with an 
application are the property of the Board of Dentistry and cannot be returned.   
 

Pursuant to §54.2701.5 of the Code of Virginia and Regulation 18VAC60-21-230(F), the following documentation is 
required to submit an application for Registration for Volunteer Dental Practice: 
 

____ 1. Application:  Please be sure that all information and questions are completed on the application and 
submitted to board at least 5 days prior to engaging in such practice. 
 

____ 2. Registration Fee:  The fee for a registration for volunteer practice is $10 and must be paid with a check 
or money order, made payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. The fee can be used for one year from date of 
receipt. Pursuant to 18VAC60-21-40(G), all fees are non-refundable. Your application will not be reviewed 
until you have submitted payment. 
 

____ 3. Applicants must hold a current, valid unrestricted license to practice dentistry. 
 

____ 4. A copy of a current, valid unrestricted license to practice dentistry. 
 

____ 5. The name of the nonprofit organization, date(s) and location(s).  The complete address, including zip code, of 
the location(s) is required to complete your application. 
 

____ 6. Completed Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration form. 
 

____ 7. Please be aware that your signed application affidavit authorizes the release of confidential information, 
affirms that your application is complete and correct, and attests that you have read, understand, and will 
remain current with the laws and regulations governing the practice of dentistry in Virginia.  Review the laws 
and regulations via the “Laws and Regulations” tab at www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry. 
 

____ 8. Name Change:  Documentation must be provided to show each name change, if your name has ever been 
changed since graduation from a CODA or CDAC accredited program or were licensed in other jurisdictions 
or other than what is listed on your application. Photocopies of marriage licenses or court orders are 
accepted. (May be mailed, faxed or emailed to the Board.) 
 

____ 9. Address of Record and Publically Disclosable Address:  Consistent with Virginia law §54.1.2400.02 and 
the mission of the Department of Health Professions, addresses of licensees are made available to the 
public. Normally, the Address of Record is the publically disclosable address. If you do not want your Address 
of Record to be made public, state law allows you to provide a second, publically disclosable address. 
Typically, this other address is the work or practice address. If you would like for your Address of Record to 
be made available to the public, complete both sections with the same address. 

 

NOTES:   
 Completed applications cannot be accessed or edited once they have been submitted.   

 
 To receive notice that your supporting documents have been delivered to the board, it is suggested that the documents 

be mailed by Fed-Ex or UPS with “Delivery Confirmation”.  
 

 Applicants will be notified of missing application items within approximately 15 business days of receipt of an 
application.  Once your application is complete, allow 30 business days processing time. 

mailto:denbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry


 
Volunteer Dental Practice Revised August 2020                                                                                                                                                                    2 

 

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION FOR VOLUNTEER DENTAL PRACTICE 
 

INSTRUCTIONS:  Type or print clearly.  Complete all sections.  If the space provided for any answer is insufficient, 
complete your answer on a separate page, specify the number of the question to which it relates, sign the page and 
enclose it with the application.   
 

I.  GENERAL INFORMATION:  COMPLETE ALL SECTIONS (PRINT OR TYPE) 
Name: Last* First Middle/Maiden Suffix 

Date of Birth 
 

_____________/_________/_______________ 
       Month               Day                Year 

Social Security Number or Virginia DMV control 
Number** 
 

____ ____ ____---____ ____--____ ____ ____ ____ 

Address of record (Mailing Address) City State Zip Code Telephone 
Number 

Email Address Fax# 

List all jurisdictions in which you currently hold or have ever held a license/registration/certification to practice as a dental hygienist or as 

another health care professional: 
 

State                     Profession                       Number Issued                          Issue Date            Expiration Date 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Has your license to practice as a dentist or as any other health care professional in any state/jurisdiction ever been 
suspended or revoked?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page. 

No  _______Yes_______ 

Date(s) of Volunteer Practice  
 

COMPLETE Physical address of Volunteer Practice 
Location: 
 

Name of Sponsoring Organization: 
         ________ Remote Area Medical (RAM) 
         ________ Other: Full name of organization: ___________________________________________________ 
 

ATTACH A COMPLETED CERTIFICATION FORM FROM THE SPONSORING ORGANIZATION 

Have you ever been convicted of a violation or plead Nolo Contedere, to any federal, state or local statue, regulation or 
ordinance, or entered into any plea bargaining relating to a felony or misdemeanor (excluding traffic violations, except 
convictions for driving under the influence)?  If yes, give details, jurisdiction(s) and date(s) on a separate page, and 
include a copy of the disposition/record certified by the Clerk of the Court.  No  _______________    Yes _____________ 

I acknowledge that the licensure exemption sought through this application shall only be valid, in compliance with the 
Board’s regulations, during the limited period that such free health care is made available through the volunteer, nonprofit 
organization on the dates and at the location filed with the Board. 
 
SIGNATURE: ___________________________________________________________ DATE:____________________ 

*Name change: Documentation must be provided to show name change(s) if name has ever been changed from the time you 
attended school or while you were licensed in other jurisdictions.  
 

**In accordance with § 54.1-116 of the Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your 
control number issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application 
will be suspended and fees will not be refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for 
identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law.  Federal and state law requires that this 
number be shared with other agencies for child support enforcement activities. 
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SPONSOR CERTIFICATION FOR VOLUNTEER REGISTRATION 
 

 

APPLICANT: THIS FORM IS TO BE COMPLETED BY A REPRESENTATIVE OF THE NONPROFIT 
ORGANIZATION SPONSORING YOUR VOLUNTEER PRACTICE. 

 
PRINT CLEARLY OR TYPE: 
 
I ________________________ certify that ___________________________ is a publicly 

supported all volunteer, nonprofit organization that sponsors the provision of health care to 

populations of underserved people. 

 
 
 
_______________________________________ 
Signature of Sponsor/Representative 
 
 _______________________________________ 
Title of Sponsor Representative 
 
 
 
State of ___________________ 
 
County/City of ________________________. 
 
Sworn and subscribed to, before me this __________day of __________________, _______. 
                                                                        Day                                     Month                           Year 

 
My Commission expires on _____________________.   
 

 
SEAL 

____________________________________ 
Signature of Notary Public 

 
____________________________________ 

                                          Print Name 
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