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9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 

www.dhp.virginia.gov/funeral 

(804) 367-4479 (Tel) 
(804) 939-5973 (Fax) 

Email: 
fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov   

 
CHECKLIST AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR  

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDERS 
 

To be considered for approval, you must submit the application 60 days prior to offering continuing education course(s). 
 

Requirements for continuing education can be found at Virginia Code § 54.1-2816.1 and 18VAC65-20-152 of the Board’s 
Regulations Governing Funeral Directors and Embalmers.   

 
Board approval of continuing education providers shall expire on July 1 of each year and may be renewed in accordance with 
18VAC65-20-152(B).  
 
Please contact the Board if there are any changes to the courses and instructors offered, such as the title, content, etc.   

 
 APPLICATION – This application will not be considered until all sections have been completed.  

 
 FEE – The fee for this application is $400.00. All fees are non-refundable whether approval is granted or denied. Make 

check or money order payable to the Treasurer of Virginia. 
 

 COURSE CONTENT COMPACT DISC (CD) – One (1) CD of course content must be submitted for consideration as PDF 
files. Do not protect the CD. The CD will not be returned to the applicant.  

 
To facilitate review, Continuing Education Providers are asked to bookmark CD items as listed below: 

• Title of course, objectives, and number of continuing education hours; 
• Syllabus of course; 
• Instructional plan; 
• Course instructor credentials; 
• Evaluation forms to be used with program; 
• Sample certificate of completion for CE; and 
• Advertising brochure for program. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/funeral
mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2816.1/
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CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER APPLICATION 

 
CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER INFORMATION 

CONTINUING EDUCATION PROVIDER NAME 
 
 
MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 
 
 

   

LOCATION ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE 
 
 

   

TELEPHONE NUMBER 
 
 

EMAIL ADDRESS 
 

NAME AND TITLE OF PERSON RESPONSIBLE FOR CE PROGRAM 
 
 
COURSE TITLE 
 
 

NUMBER OF PROPOSED CE HOURS 

 
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
 

By signing below as the applicant or representative of the applicant, I attest to the following: 
 

• The information contained and statements in this application and the supporting documentation are true and accurate; 
• I understand that providing any false information in this application shall constitute cause for denial of or withdrawal of 

approval to provide continuing education by the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (“Board”);   
• I understand that, as a Board-approved Continuing Education Provider, an authorized agent of the Board may conduct 

onsite or remote monitoring of the program(s) without payment of registration fees;  
• I agree to provide to the Board, upon request anytime within two years of the program date, documentation of program 

content, names of participants, hours awarded, and certificates of completion; and 
• I acknowledge that I have read and understand the statutes and regulations of the Board. 

 
Print Name of Applicant/Person Responsible for CE Program: _______________________________________________ 

Signature: _______________________________________________________________________ Date: _____________ 

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE – FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 
APPROVED BY 
 

DATE SENT TO COMMITTEE 
 

CE PROVIDER NUMBER APPLICANT NUMBER RECEIPT NUMBER 

NUMBER OF PROPOSED HOURS APPROVAL 
 YES      NO 

NUMBER OF APPROVED HOURS 

 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/funeral
mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov

