Revised 8/2020

MD / DO Reinstatement Instructions and Application for MD and DO licenses in EXPIRED status
for more than two years ONLY.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION OF LICENSE FOR

MD AND DO

NOTE

AN APPLICATION THAT IS NOT COMPLETE EXPIRES ONE YEAR AFTER IT IS
SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD. IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE APPLICANT TO
ENSURE THAT ALL NECESSARY SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARRIVE AT THE
BOARD PRIOR TO THE EXPIRATION DATE. IF THE ORIGINAL APPLICATION
EXPIRES, THE APPLICANT MUST SUBMIT ANOTHER APPLICATION, PAY A NEW
APPLICATION FEE, AND ENSURE THAT NEW SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS ARE
SUBMITTED TO THE BOARD.

Reinstatement occurs after the license has been expired for 2 years. Do not complete this
application if your license has been expired for less than 2 years or if you are trying to
reactivate a license in inactive status.

A completed application must be returned to this office along with the reinstatement fee of
$497.00. Applications and fees must be received together. Only checks or money orders are
accepted. Please make your payment instrument payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia.”

Certain forms may be faxed to 804-527-4426.  The phone number to the Virginia Board of
Medicine is 804-367-4600. The Board’s email address is medbd@dhp.virginia.gov

Mailing Address:
Virginia Board of Medicine
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233-1463

The Board of Medicine discourages the use of the United States Postal Service to send documents.
If possible, and if noted below, you are encouraged to have your documents sent by pdf attachment
or FAX. The Board is unable to trace documents not delivered by the post office. If you wish to
send your documents by overnight mail, please use FED EX or UPS.


mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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INFORMATION REQUIRED TO COMPLETE YOUR APPLICATION
(This form is designed to be used as a checklist for submitting required documentation)

If you answer “yes” to any of the licensure questions in #5-16, please provide a written explanation on a
separate piece of paper and attach it to the application. If you have disciplinary action with another
Board, attach a copy of the Board Order or other documentation. If you have medical mal

practice claims, attach a narrative that includes dates, your treatment of the patient, and any payment
made per settlement or judgement. You may also provide a letter from your attorney. If you have
misdemeanor or felony convictions, attach a copy of the court documents.

List all hospitals, clinics, doctor’s offices and all other locations where you have provided professional
service for the past 2 years, including locations where you only held privileges since your Virginia license
expired.

For applicants practicing as locum tenens physicians, or if you are practicing telemedicine, have
the company you are affiliated with provide a complete list of all locations and dates where you
have provided service.

Verification of all medical licenses from each jurisdiction within the United States, its territories and
possessions or Canada in which you have been issued a full license must be received by the Board. Please
contact the applicable jurisdiction where you have been issued a license to practice medicine to
inquire about having documentation forwarded to the Virginia Board of Medicine. Verification must
come from the jurisdiction and may be sent by email to medbd@dhp.virginia.gov, faxed to (804) 527-4426
or mailed. Many medical boards use www.veridoc.org to send their license verifications. Check
with Veridoc to see if your other state license boards use Veridoc.

NPDB Self Query — Complete the online Place a Self-Query Order form. Be ready to provide:

o ldentifying information such as name, date of birth, Social Security number
o State health care license information (if you are licensed)
o Credit or debit card information for the $4.00 fee (charged for each copy you request)

Verify your identity. This can be done electronically as part of your order or by completing a paper
form and having it notarized. You will receive full instructions as you complete your order.

Wait for your response. Once your identity is verified, the NPDB will process your order. A paper
copy of your response will be sent the next business day by regular U.S. mail. The Board does not
accept emailed copies of the NPDB report. When you receive your report in the mail from NPDB, DO
NOT OPEN IT. Place your unopened NPDB report in an oversized envelope and forward it to the
Virginia Board of Medicine. The Board recommends using Fed EX or UPS for tracking purposes.

The Board of Medicine is unable to track any mail or other package that is sent via the United
States Postal Service.

Any NPDB report received for an application not completed within 3 months of receipt of the
NPDB report will have to be resubmitted.


mailto:medbd@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.veridoc.org/
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ext/selfquery/SQHome.jsp

[ ]5. Provide documentation of having completed continuing education hours equal to the requirement for the
number of years in which the license has been lapsed.

Please use the following guidelines to determine the continuing education hours needed for
reinstatement.

If your license has been expired for 2 to 2.5 years, provide 60 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 2.5 to 3 years, provide 75 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 3 to 3.5 years, provide 90 hours of CME.

If your license has been expired for 3.5 to 4 years, provide 105 hours of CME.
If your license has been expired for 4 or more years, provide 120 hours of CME.

If a practitioner has not engaged in active practice in his profession for more than four years and wishes to
reinstate or reactivate his license, the board may require the practitioner to pass one of the following
examinations.

1. The Special Purpose Examination (SPEX) given by the Federation of State Medical Boards.

2. The Comprehensive Osteopathic Medical Variable Purpose Examination—USA (COMVEX-USA) given by
the National Board of Osteopathic Examiners.

[_]6 .Copies of documentation supporting any name change since your initial licensure in Virginia.
Please note:
Applications will be acknowledged after receipt of the application of items that are missing. Applications not

completed within 12 months may be purged without notice from the board. Additional information may be
requested after review by Board representatives.

Application fees are non-refundable.

Do not begin practice until you have been notified of approval. Submission of an application does not guarantee
reinstatement. A review of your application could result in the finding that you may not be eligible pursuant to
Virginia laws and regulations.
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MD and DO Reinstatement

MD /DO REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION:

Virginia Department of Board of Medicine

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 Phone: (804) 367-4600

" Health Professions Bty

Application for REINSTATEMENT of license To Practice Medicine

To the Board of Medicine of Virginia: | hereby make reinstatement application for a license to practice as
an (check which license applies) MD or a DO in the Commonwealth of Virginia and
submit the following statements:

1. Name in Full (Please Print or Type)

Last First Middle

Date of Birth Maiden Name Virginia License Number Social Security No. or VA Control No.*
Mo. Day Yr.

Public Address: This address will be public | House No. Street or PO Box City, State and Zip

information

Board Address: This address will be used House No. Street or PO Box City, State and Zip

for Board Correspondence and may be the

same or different from the public address.

Work Phone Number Home/Cell Number Email Address

Please submit address changes in writing immediately. Please attach check or money order for $497.00 payable to the “Treasurer of Virginia”.
Application will not be processed without the fee. It will be returned. Do not submit fee without an application or an application without a fee.
IT WILL BE RETURNED.

APPLICANTS DO NOT USE SPACES BELOW THIS LINE — FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPROVED BY

Date

LICENSE NUMBER FEE EXPIRATION DATE REINSTATEMENT DATE
010__- $497

*In accordance with §54.1-116 Code of Virginia, you are required to submit your Social Security Number or your control number** issued by the Virginia Department of
Motor Vehicles. If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be refunded. This number will be used by the Department of
Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other purposes except as provided by law. Federal and state law requires that this number be shared
with other state agencies for child support enforcement activities. NO LICENSE WILL BE ISSUED TO ANY INDIVIDUAL WHO HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE ONE OF
THESE NUMBERS.

**In order to obtain a Virginia driver’s license control number, it is necessary to appear in person at an office of the Department of Motor Vehicles in Virginia. A fee and
disclosure to DMV of your Social Security Number will be required to obtain this number.




2. List in chronological order all professional practices to include the location of service since the expiration date of your Virginia license
including any periods of non-professional activities or employment. Please account for all time. If engaged in private practice, list all
hospital affiliations. If none, please explain._CVs may be attached but do not substitute for completion of this page.

From To Name and Location Position Held

Please provide a telephone number and email address where you can be reached during the day.

Work Number Home Number Email Address




3.

4. List all jurisdictions in which you have been issued a full license to practice medicine active, inactive or expired. Indicate number

Do you intend to engage in the active practice of medicine/osteopathy in the Commonwealth of Virginia? [J Yes [ No

and date issued. Temporary or intern / resident licenses need not be included.

Jurisdiction Number Issued Active/lnactive/Expired

QUESTIONS MUST BE ANSWERED. If any of the following questions (5-16) is answered Yes, explain in a narrative to be attached to the

application and include any relevant documentation from courts or attorneys.

malpractice suits or criminal complaints.

10.

11.

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

Have you ever been denied a license or the privilege of taking a licensure/competency examination by any
testing entity or licensing authority?

Have you ever been convicted of a violation of local, state or federal statute, regulation or ordinance, or entered into
any plea agreement relating to a felony or misdemeanor? (Exclude traffic violations, except convictions for driving
under the influence and reckless driving.

. Have you ever been denied clinical privileges or voluntarily surrendered your clinical privileges for any reason?

Have you ever been placed on a corrective action plan, placed on probation or been dismissed or suspended or
requested to withdraw from any professional school, training program, hospital, etc.?

. Have you ever been terminated from employment or resigned in lieu of termination from any training

program, hospital, healthcare facility, healthcare provider, provider network or malpractice insurance carrier?

Have you ever had any disciplinary actions taken against any of your professional license/certificate/permit/registration
related to your professional practice, are any actions pending or are you currently under investigation?

Have you ever had any membership in a state or local professional society revoked, suspended, or sanctioned?

Have you voluntarily withdrawn from any professional society while under investigation?

Do you have a physical disease, mental disorder, or any condition, which could affect your performance of
professional duties?

Have you been physically or emotionally dependent upon the use of alcohol/drugs or treated by, consulted with,
or been under the care of a professional for any substance abuse within the last two (2) years?

Have you been in a health practitioner's monitoring program within the last two (2) years?

Have you had any malpractice suits brought against you in the last ten (10) years? If so, how many?
If your answer is, “yes” please provide a written explanation on a separate sheet of paper.

Are you a spouse of someone who is on federal active duty orders pursuant to Title 10 of the U.S. Code or a
veteran who has left active-duty service within one year of submission of this application and who is accompanying
your spouse to Virginia or an adjoining state of the District of Columbia?

Are you active duty military?

Yes

Letters may be submitted by your attorney regarding

No



19. AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT

I, , attest that | am the person referred to
in the foregoing application and supporting documents.

| hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations, my references, personal physicians, employers (past
and present), business and professional associates (past and present), and all governmental agencies and instrumentalities
(local, state, federal, or foreign) to release to the Virginia Board of Medicine any information, files or records requested by the
Board in connection with the processing of individuals and groups listed above, any information which is material to me and
my application.

I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely, without reservations
of any kind, and | declare under penalty of perjury that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.
Should I furnish any false information in this application, | hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for the denial,
suspension, or revocation of my license to practice medicine, or osteopathic medicine in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

I have carefully read the laws and regulations related to the practice of my profession which are available at www.dhp.virginia.gov
and | understand that fees submitted as part of the application process shall not be refunded.

Signature of Applicant
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