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Perimeter Center 
9960 Mayland Drive 
Suite 300 
Henrico, VA 23233-1463 

Email: massagetherapy@dhp.virginia.gov 
Phone: (804) 367-4515  Fax: (804) 527-4455 
Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing  

 

 

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS  
FOR REINSTATEMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST 

 

 

Pursuant to 18 VAC 90-50-80 of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapist, a massage therapist whose 

license has lapsed for more than one renewal period shall file a reinstatement application. However, if your license is not active because of 

a suspension or revocation, you must file an Application for Reinstatement Following Suspension or Revocation. 

 

To avoid delays in the processing of your APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST be sure to follow 

the instructions carefully before submitting your application. It is important to complete all the requirements and send in all of the required 

supporting documents listed below based on the method by which you are applying. (Please visit our website at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/ for a copy of the Laws Governing Nursing and 

the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapists.) 

 
 

 REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Reinstatement. 
 
 

 APPLICATION: Applications for Reinstatement as a Massage Therapist must be downloaded from the Board of Nursing 

website at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/nursing/forms/MT_ReinstatementApp.pdf, completed, and mailed 

to the Board office. 

 
 

 APPLICATION FEE: $150.00 application fee by check, cashier’s check or money order made payable to Treasurer of 

Virginia must be mailed with your application. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted 

payment. (Pursuant to 18VAC90-50-30(A), application fees are non-refundable) 

 
 

 COMPLETED CRIMINAL HISTORY BACKGROUND CHECK: Required pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1:  
Within 7-10 business days after confirmed payment receipt for your filed application, you will receive a Fieldprint Code. This 

code is required to register for fingerprinting, which must be done exclusively through Fieldprint. You must have a confirmed 

application filed with Virginia Board of Nursing prior to registering for fingerprinting. If you do not receive your Fieldprint 

Code within 7-10 business days, you must contact the VBON CBC unit. More information regarding the Criminal Background 

Check may be found at VBON CBC Info. 

 
 

 CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS: Provide evidence with your application that you have completed the 

continuing competency requirements pursuant to 18 VAC 90-50-75 of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Massage Therapist during the period in which the license has been lapsed. 

 

 SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (if applicable) 
 

 Detailed explanation of conviction(s) (detailed explanation should describe the circumstances that caused each conviction; 

what happened, when it happened, why it happened, and what you have done or are doing to ensure these incidents will not 

happen again) To avoid delays this information should be included on the application. 
 

 Certified Court Order(s)- To avoid delays, contact the court(s) and request a certified copy of the conviction record(s) from the 

appropriate court clerk’s office (either the arrest warrant with the back filled out by the judge (misdemeanor) or the final 

Sentencing Order if it were a felony for conviction.  If the Sentencing Agreement makes mention of a pre-hearing or 

probationary report, that report must also be included. Certified documents must be mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, 

Attention Massage Therapy. 
 

If court records are no longer available, contact the court(s) and request a certified statement that your records are no longer available. 

Certified statement must be mailed to the Virginia Board of Nursing, Attention Massage Therapy. 
 

 Proof all court ordered requirements have been met (for example: payment of fines/fees/restitutions/status of an approved 

payment plan, completion of community service, completion of any treatment programs, status of probation) 
 

 Name Change Document – To avoid delays, if proof of name change to current name has not been filed with this office, 

please submit with your application a copy of your marriage certificate, divorce decree or court order authorizing the change, 

with the Board of Nursing Name Change Form. 
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter50/section80/
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https://fieldprintvirginia.com/
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https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter50/section75/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/media/dhpweb/docs/nursing/forms/BONNamechangeform.pdf
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 ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
 

 The Board may request additional evidence that you are prepared to resume practice in a competent manner. 

 

 Applications are processed in the order received and may take 30-45 business days to review/compelte from the initial application 

date. Please allow time for a thorough review of all your application documentation before contacting the Board, as it may slow 

down the review process of your application as well as others. 

 

 Laws Governing Nursing and the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure of Massage Therapist may be obtained at: 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/LawsRegulations/. 

 

 Documents submitted to the Virginia Board of Nursing are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

 

 An incomplete application for licensure will be retained on file only as required for audit.  If not completed within one year, a 

new application may be necessary. 

 

 Providing false or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application 

or as part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking 

disciplinary action against an existing license. 

 

 Supporting documentation should be mailed to: 

 

Virginia Board of Nursing 

Attn: Massage Therapy Licensure 

Perimeter Center 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Henrico, VA 23233 

 

 

PLEASE NOTIFY THIS OFFICE WITHIN THIRTY DAYS OF A NAME CHANGE OR ADDRESS CHANGE. 

 
End of instructions 
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FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (Finance Division) 
Fee Paid 

 $150 
 

Applicant ID # Receipt # 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (BON Staff) 
Originally Applied By 

 
 

Name Change Rcvd Cont. Comp. Req. Rcvd Date CBC Completed 

Acknowledgement Sent 

 
License Number Expired 

 
Date Reinstated 

 
Reinstatement Approved By 

 

  

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT AS A MASSAGE THERAPIST 

 
I hereby make application to reinstate my license as a Massage Therapist in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following information 

in support of my application is submitted with a check or money order in the amount of $150.00 made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia.  The application fee is non-refundable. 
 

Disclosure of Addresses 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of Record is the 

publicly disclosed address.  If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second, publicly disclosable 

address (e.g. work, practice address or Post Office Box). If you would like your Address of Record to be publically available please 

complete both sections with same address.  
 

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A) , you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by the 

Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles*.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be 

refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other 

purposes except as provided for by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child support 

enforcement activities. Under Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (B), foreign nationals who are otherwise qualified as an applicant for a license, 

certificate or registration may be issued a temporary license or authorization to practice, effective for not longer than 90 days. 

 

Please provide the information requested below and on all the pages to follow. Use full name and not initials. (Print or Type) 

1. APPLICANT PERSONAL INFORMATION 

Last Name: First Name: Middle/Maiden Name: Suffix: 
 

 

Address of Record (Mailing Address):  
 

City: State: Zip Code: 

 
 

Publicly Disclosable Address:  
 

City: State: Zip Code: 
 
 

Date of Birth: (MM/DD/YYYY) 
                               ___  ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___ 

 Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number*: 

 
 
 

Email Address: 

 
 

Telephone Number:   (               )                   – 

Virginia Massage License Number: 

0019- 
 

Full Name at the Time of Initial Licensure: Date First License Issued: 

If proof of name change to current name has not been filed with this office, please submit a copy of your marriage certificate, 

divorce decree or court order authorizing the change with your application. 
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2. LICENSURE HISTORY QUESTIONS 
 
 

A. This question applies to any license/certificate/registration as a massage therapist, registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

aide, medication aide or other license/certificate/registration as a health care provider that may have been issued to you. Please  

answer YES or NO to EACH of the following: 

i. Have you ever been denied a license/certificate/registration in a health related field or jurisdiction? YES   NO  

ii. Has any license/certificate/registration issued to you ever been voluntarily surrendered to prevent disciplinary action?       

YES   NO  

iii. Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license/certificate/registration by any licensing 

authority in any state/jurisdiction:  placed on probation, suspended, revoked or otherwise disciplined?   YES   NO   

iv. Have you ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority?  YES   NO   

If you answered YES to any of the above questions, please explain in detail under the Explanation section and, if 

applicable, have certified copies of any applicable orders sent directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing office. 

 

3. CURRENT LICENSURE HISTORY 
 

a. Have you ever been licensed /certified/ registered in another state/jurisdiction as a Massage Therapist? YES   NO   If 

YES, what other states/jurisdictions have you been licensed/certified/registered: 
 

State: Year Licensed: Expiration Date: License #:  

State: Year Licensed: Expiration Date: License #: 

State: Year Licensed: Expiration Date: License #: 

State: Year Licensed: Expiration Date: License #: 

State: Year Licensed: Expiration Date: License #: 

 
 

 

4. CONTINUING COMPETENCY REQUIREMENTS 
 

Have you completed the continuing competency requirements for the period in which your Virginia Massage Therapist license has 

been suspended or revoked, pursuant to 18 VAC 90-50-75 and 18 VAC 90-50-80 of the Virginia Regulations Governing the Licensure 

of Massage Therapist?  YES    NO   (Please submit copies of all related documents with your application.) 
 

 

5. CONVICTION QUESTION 
 

Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other statute or ordinance 

constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the influence, but excluding traffic violations)           

YES    NO  If yes, please explain in detail under the explanation section and have a certified copy of the court order(s) 

mailed directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing office. 

 

By entering your initials, you certify that you understand that a Criminal Background Check (CBC) is required by law for all initial, 

endorsement, and reinstatement Massage Therapy applicants. The CBC requirements and process details are available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ApplicantResources/CriminalBackgroundChecks/.                                  ______ (initials) 

 

Please list all previous names used (enter N/A if not applicable): ________________________________________________________ 
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6. ADDITIONAL LICENSURE QUESTIONS 
 
 

A. Within the past five (5) years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to practice in 

a competent and professional manner? YES   NO   If YES, detail under Explanation section. 

 

B. Within the past five (5) years, have you been disciplined by any entity? YES   NO    If YES, detail under Explanation 

section. 

 

C. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations 

and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the 

condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing Licensed Massage Therapist.  

YES  NO   If YES, detail under Explanation section.  

 

D. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the 

obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so 

that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing Licensed Massage Therapist.  

YES  NO   If YES, detail under Explanation section.  

 

E. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits your ability to 

perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means 

recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing Licensed 

Massage Therapist?  YES  NO   If YES, detail under Explanation section.  

 

F. Within the past five (5) years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to avoid disciplinary 

action by any entity? YES   NO   If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a copy of a 

current participation contract and summary of compliance and/or documentation of successful completion.  You may consider 

providing this documentation with your application or have the program send this documentation directly to the Board). 
 

NOTE: If you answered YES to any of the above questions in Section 6, the Board may request a letter from your current 

treatment provider addressing your current condition and ability to safely practice. You may consider providing this 

documentation with your application, or have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board. Have certified 

copies of any applicable orders mailed directly to the Virginia Board of Nursing office. 

 

7. MILITARY SPOUSE 
 
 

A. Did you relocate with a spouse who is the subject of a military transfer to the Commonwealth of Virginia?  YES  NO  

 

B. Are you active-duty military?  YES      NO   

 

PLEASE BE SURE THAT YOU HAVE ANSWERED EACH OF THE ABOVE QUESTIONS. 
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8. EXPLANATION 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Attach additional pages if necessary. 

 
 

11. CERTIFICATION  
 

 

I certify by entering my signature below, I am the person applying for licensure and meet the qualifications required by 

Virginia law and regulations.  Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided 

and reviewed by me and that statements made on the application are true and complete.  I understand that providing false 

or misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application or as 

part of the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking 

disciplinary action against an existing license. 

 
Signature: Date: 
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