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EXAMINATIONS BY 
PSI LICENSURE:CERTIFICATION 

 
This Candidate Information Bulletin provides you with 
information about the examination and application process for 
becoming registered as a Medication Aide in the 
Commonwealth of Virginia. You need to pass an examination to 
confirm that you have attained at least a minimum level of 
knowledge regarding the principles, practices, statutes and 
regulations relating to medication aide in an assisted living 
facility.  Eligibility for examination is determined by the 
Board of Nursing (BON).   
 
The Virginia BON has contracted with PSI to conduct its 
examination program.  PSI provides examinations through a 
network of computer examination centers in Virginia.  PSI 
works closely with the Virginia Board of Nursing (the Board), a 
board within the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to 
be certain that examinations meet local as well as national 
requirements in basic principles of medication aide 
examination development standards. 
 
Once you have been approved to test by the Board, you are 
responsible for contacting PSI to register and schedule an 
appointment to take your examination.   

CONTACT INFORMATION 

 
Prior to sitting for the examination with PSI, you must apply for 
registration by examination with the Board of Nursing.  
Applications to PSI for testing will not be accepted without 
Board approval.   Your registration application and 
documentation must be sent to: 

 
Commonwealth of Virginia 
Virginia Board of Nursing 

Department of Health Professions 
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Richmond, VA 23233 
(804) 367-4515 

www.dhp.virginia.gov 
 
All questions and requests for information pertaining to the 
examination after approval by the Virginia Board of Nursing 
should be directed to PSI. 
 

PSI licensure:certification 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
(800) 733-9267    Fax (702) 932-2666 

www.psiexams.com 

REGISTRATION & SCHEDULING 
PROCEDURES 

 
Upon Board approval of eligibility to test, PSI will mail a 
postcard to you containing instructions for scheduling an 
appointment to take the examination.  Eligibility is valid for a 
period of 2 years from the date of program completion. 
 

The Examination Registration Form is found at the end of 
this Candidate Information Bulletin on page 8.  You must 
pay at the time you register.  Be sure the registration form is 
complete, accurate, signed, and that you include the correct 
fee.  

 
The following fee table lists the applicable fee for the 
examination.  The fee is for each registration, whether you 
are taking the examination for the first time or repeating.  
 You have 3 attempts to pass an examination within 2 

years from the date of program completion.  
 If you fail the third time, your application with the Board 

becomes void and you must re-apply directly with the 
Board. 

 
Examination Fee $70 

 
NOTE:  REGISTRATION FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE OR 
TRANSFERABLE. The fee for testing is a separate fee from 
the BON fee for registration. 
 

INTERNET REGISTRATION 

 
For the fastest and most convenient test scheduling process, 
PSI recommends that candidates register for their exams 
using the Internet.  In order to register over the Internet, 
candidates will need to have a valid credit card (Visa, 
MasterCard, American Express or Discover). Candidates 
register online by accessing PSI’s registration website at 
www.psiexams.com.  Internet registration is available 24 
hours a day.   In order to register by Internet, complete the 
steps below: 
 
1. Log onto PSI’s website and create an account.  Please 

enter your email address and first and last name. This 
information must match exactly with the information the 
Board has on file. Be sure to check the box next to 
“Check here to attempt to locate existing records for 
you in the system” 

2. You will be asked to select the examination and enter 
the ID# that the Board has on file.  Your record will be 
found and you will now be ready to pay and schedule for 
the exam.  Enter your zip code and a list of the testing 
sites closest to you will appear.  Once you select the 
desired test site, available dates will appear.  If you have 
problems contact PSI at (800) 733-9267 for help. 

TELEPHONE REGISTRATION 

For telephone registration, you will need a credit card (Visa, 
MasterCard, American Express or Discover). 
 
1. Complete the Examination Registration Form, including 

your credit card number and expiration date, so that you 
will be prepared with all of the information needed to 
register by telephone. 

2. PSI registrars are available at (800) 733-9267, Monday 
through Friday between 7:30 am and 10:00 pm, or 
Saturday and Sunday between 9:00 am and 5:30 pm, 
Eastern Time, to receive the information listed on your 
Examination Registration Form and to schedule your 
appointment for the examination. 

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
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FAX REGISTRATION 

 
For fax registration, you will need a valid credit card (Visa, 
MasterCard, American Express or Discover). 
 
1. Complete the Examination Registration Form, including 

your credit card number and expiration date. 
 
2. Fax the completed form to PSI (702) 932-2666.  Fax 

registrations are accepted 24 hours a day. 
 
3. If your information is incomplete or incorrect, it will be 

returned for correction. 
 
4. Please allow 4 business days to process your Registration. 

After 4 business days, you may schedule your 
examination using a touch-tone phone, by calling PSI 24 
hours a day at (800) 733-9267.  To schedule with a PSI 
registrar, call Monday through Friday between 7:30 am 
and 10:00 pm, and Saturday-Sunday between 9:00 am 
and 5:30 pm, Eastern Time.  You may also schedule 
online by accessing PSI’s registration website at 
www.psiexams.com. 

 

STANDARD MAIL REGISTRATION 

 
In order to register by standard mail, please follow the steps 
below: 

 
1. Complete the PSI Examination Registration Form (found 

at the end of this bulletin on page 10). BE SURE TO READ 
ALL DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY BEFORE COMPLETING THE 
EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORMS.  IMPROPERLY 
COMPLETED FORMS WILL BE RETURNED TO YOU 
UNPROCESSED. 

 
2. Payment of fees may be made by money order or 

company check or cashier’s check.  Make your money 
order or check should payable to PSI and print your social 
security number on it to ensure that your fees are 
properly assigned.  CASH and PERSONAL CHECKS ARE 
NOT ACCEPTED. 

 
3. Mail the completed examination registration form and 

payment to: 
 

PSI  
Registration Examination 

3210 E Tropicana 
Las Vegas, NV  89121 

 (800) 733-9267  •  Fax (702) 932-2666 
www.psiexams.com 

 
If your application or fees are not correct, we will return 
them to you immediately with instructions on correct 
application procedures. 

 
4. Please allow 2 weeks to process your Registration. After 

2 weeks, you may call PSI after 7:30 a.m., Eastern Time 
at (800) 733-9267 to schedule the examination  

SCHEDULING INFORMATION 

 
▪ Only the candidate may schedule an appointment 

through a Customer Service Representative (CSR), not a 
friend or relative. 

▪ If space is available in the examination site of your 
choice, you may schedule an examination 1 day prior to 
the examination date of your choice, up to 7:00 p.m. 
Eastern Time. 

CANCELING AN EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT 

 
You may cancel and reschedule an examination appointment 
without forfeiting your fee if your cancellation notice is 
received 2 days before the scheduled examination date.  For 
example, for a Monday appointment, the cancellation notice 
would need to be received on the previous Saturday. You may 
call PSI at (800) 733-9267.  
 
Note:  A voice mail message is not an acceptable form of 
cancellation.  Please use the PSI Website or call PSI and 
speak directly to a Customer Service Representative.  
 

SCHEDULING A RE-EXAMINATION 

 
It is not possible to make a new examination appointment on 
the same day you have taken an examination; this is due to 
processing and reporting scores. A candidate who tests 
unsuccessfully on a Wednesday can call the next day, 
Thursday, and retest as soon as Friday, depending upon space 
availability.  In order to retest, you must re-register follow 
the steps for registration and scheduling as outlined earlier.  
You may re-register over the Internet, telephone or by mail.  
Once registered, you can reschedule for your re-examination  
 

MISSED APPOINTMENT OR LATE CANCELLATION 

 
Your registration will be invalid, you will not be able to take 
the examination as scheduled, and you will forfeit your 
examination fee, if you: 
 
▪ Do not cancel your appointment 2 days before the 

scheduled examination date; 
▪ Do not appear for your examination appointment; 
▪ Arrive after examination start time; 
▪ Do not present proper identification when you arrive for 

the examination. 

 

EXAM ACCOMMODATIONS  

 
All examination centers are equipped to provide access in 
accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 
1990, and exam accommodations will be made in meeting a 
candidate’s needs.  Applicants with disabilities or those who 
would otherwise have difficulty taking the examination must 
contact the Board of Nursing. Note:  Request for exam 
accommodations must be approved by the Board of 
Nursing.  

http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
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EXAMINATION SITE CLOSING FOR AN EMERGENCY 

 
In the event that severe weather or another emergency 
forces the closure of an examination site on a scheduled 
examination date, your examination will be rescheduled.  PSI 
personnel will attempt to contact you in this situation.  
However, you may check the status of your examination 
schedule by calling (800) 733-9267.  Every effort will be made 
to reschedule your examination at a convenient time as soon 
as possible. 

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER CONFIDENTIALITY 

 
PSI will use your social security number only as an 
identification number in maintaining your records and 
reporting your examination scores to the state.  A Federal 
law requires state agencies to collect and record the social 
security numbers of all professional licensure/registration by 
state.  

COMPUTER EXAMINATION CENTER 
LOCATIONS 

The following are the examination centers where you may take 
the examination. 
 
VIENNA AREA 
1919 GALLOWS RD, SUITE 360 
VIENNA, VA   22182 
From I-495 S – Take exit 47 A-B to merge onto VA-7 
W/Leesburg Pike towards Tyson’s Corner.  Use the left lane 
to turn left onto Gallows Rd.  Turn left at the first cross 
street onto Boone Blvd.  The complex will be your right.  The 
building where the test center is located is on the left side 
of the circle drive.  Take the elevator to the third floor.  The 
test center is in suite 360.   
 
Surface and garage parking is available on site.  The first 
hour is free.  It is $4 for 1-2 hours and $6 for anything above 
that. Parking will be validated.  Please give yourself extra 
time to park when arriving to take your exam. 
 
VIRGINIA BEACH 
484 Viking Dr, Suite 105 
Virginia Beach, VA 23452 
From I-264E – take exit 19A for Lynnhaven Pkwy S.  Merge 
onto Lynnhaven Pkwy S.  In about ½ mile turn right onto 
Viking Dr.  The office is in the second building on the right.   
 
From VA-615/Princess Anne Rd going north – turn left onto 
Seaboard Plaza. In about 2.5 miles turn left onto VA-
149/Princess Anne Rd. In 1 mile, turn right onto VA-
410/Holland Rd.  In about 4 miles, turn right onto VA-
414N/Lynnhaven Pkwy. In roughly 2.5 miles, turn left onto 
Viking Dr.  The office is in the second building on the right.   
 
Suite 105 is located on the first floor.  For easiest access, 
park on the left side of the lot.  If you enter on the south 
side entrance (this would be the entrance on the left side of 
the building when looking straight at the building at the 
building), the PSI test center will be the first door on your 
left once you walk in. 

RICHMOND  
Moorefield VI Building 
620 Moorefield Park Drive 
Suite 205 
Richmond, VA 23236 
From I-64E, take the Parham Rd exit and turn right.  N 
Parham Rd/VA-73 S becomes VA-150 S/Chippenham Pkwy.  
Merge onto VA-76 S/Powhite Pkwy.  Merge onto Midlothian 
Turnpike West. Turn left on Moorefield Park Dr. 
 
ROANOKE AREA 
Fralin and Waldron Office Park 
2847 Penn Forest Blvd 
Building D, Suite 200 
Roanoke, Virginia 24018  
From 81 – take 220 Exit (Downtown Roanoke).  From 220 take 
the Franklin Road Exit (not the Franklin Bus Exit).  At the 
stop light make a right.  Franklin Road will turn into Electric 
Road.  Keep going straight until you come to Chaparral Dr 
and go left.  You will see the Fralin & Waldron Bldg to your 
left.  At the next stop light go left.  
If you are traveling from 220 take the first exit, Franklin 
Road.  Follow directions above. 
 
FREDERICKSBURG - MD TECH SOLUTIONS 
2217 Princess Anne Street, Suite 105-11 
Fredericksburg, VA  22401 
Driving Directions: From Richmond to MD Tech Solutions:95 
South to exit 130A: SR-3 East 1.5 miles make a Right on US-1 
North.1.7 miles make a Right on Princess Anne Street. 0.3 
miles make a Left onto the Facility “General Washington 
Executive Center” Across street From Carl’s Ice Cream. 
 
EASTERN SHORE AREA 
Beaglin Park Plaza 
1323 Mt. Hermon Rd., Suite 2A 
Salisbury, MD 21801 

The complex is south of Route 50 and west of the 13 By-pass. 
 From Route 50, turn south on Beaglin Park Drive.  Turn left 
at the first light, Mt Hermon Rd.  Turn left into Beaglin Park 
Plaza. 
 
CHARLOTTESVILLE 
2114 Angus Road, Suite #105-B 
Charlottesville, VA 22901 
If going West on US-250, turn right onto US-29N/N Emmet 
St.  Continue on Emmet Street and turn left on Angus Rd. 
If going East on US-250, turn left onto US-29N/N Emmet St.  
Continue on Emmet Street and turn left on Angus Rd. 

 
JOHNSON CITY 
904 Sunset Drive, Ste 7A 
Johnson City, TN 37604 
Take I-26 to Exit 19 (Old number 36).  Go South on Highway 
381 (North State of Franklin Road) approximately 2.2 miles.  
At the 4th light turn left (this is Sunset Drive), go 
approximately .7 tenths of a mile.  There is a large building 
on the left hand side of the road.  This is 904 Sunset Drive.  
Suite 7A is in the row of office spaces behind this building. 
 
Additionally, PSI has examination centers in many other 
regions across the United States.  You may take this 
examination at any of these locations by calling (800) 733-
9267.  You will need to speak with a Customer Service Rep 
to schedule outside of Virginia. 
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REPORTING TO THE EXAMINATION 
CENTER 

On the day of the examination, you should arrive at least 30 
minutes before your appointment.  This extra time is for sign-
in and identification and familiarizing yourself with the 
examination process.  If you arrive late, you may not be 
admitted to the examination center and you will forfeit your 
registration fee. 

REQUIRED IDENTIFICATION 

You must provide 2 forms of identification.  One must be a 
VALID form of government-issued identification (Driver's 
License, State ID, Passport) which bears your signature and has 
your photograph.  The second ID must have your signature and 
preprinted legal name.  All identification provided must match 
the name on the registration form and your Examination 
Eligibility Form. 
 
If you cannot provide the required identification, you must call 
(800) 733-9267 at least 3 weeks prior to your scheduled 
appointment to arrange a way to meet this security 
requirement.  Failure to provide ALL of the required 
identification at the time of the examination without 
notifying PSI is considered a missed appointment and you 
will not be able to take the examination at that time. 

NOTE:  If you recently changed your name, or if your last 
name includes a generation indicator (e.g., Jr., III), be sure 
that your name is the same on your education verification, 
your Examination Registration Form, and your 2 forms of 
identification. 

 
SECURITY PROCEDURES 
 
▪ You will be given scratch paper and a pencil. These will 

be returned to the proctor at the end of your 
examination. 

▪ Only non-programmable calculators that are silent, 
battery-operated, do not have paper tape printing 
capabilities, and do not have a keyboard containing the 
alphabet will be allowed in the examination site. 

▪ Candidates may take only approved items into the 
examination room. 

▪ All personal belongings of candidates should be placed in 
the secure storage provided at each site prior to entering 
the examination room. Personal belongings include, but 
are not limited to, the following items:  
- Electronic devices of any type, including cellular / 

mobile phones, recording devices, electronic 
watches, cameras, pagers, laptop computers, 
tablet computers (e.g., iPads), music players (e.g., 
iPods), smart watches, radios, or electronic 
games.  

- Bulky or loose clothing or coats that could be used 
to conceal recording devices or notes.  For security 
purposes outerwear such as, but not limited to: open 
sweaters, cardigans, shawls, scarves, hoodies, vests, 
jackets and coats are not permitted in the testing 
room. In the event you are asked to remove the 
outerwear, appropriate attire, such as a shirt or 
blouse should be worn underneath. 

- Hats or headgear not worn for religious reasons or 
as religious apparel, including hats, baseball caps, or 
visors. 

- Other personal items, including purses, notebooks, 
reference or reading material, briefcases, 
backpacks, wallets, pens, pencils, other writing 
devices, food, drinks, and good luck items. 

▪ Person(s) accompanying an examination candidate may 
not wait in the examination center, inside the building or 
on the building's property. This applies to guests of any 
nature, including drivers, children, friends, family, 
colleagues or instructors. 

▪ No smoking, eating, or drinking is allowed in the 
examination center. 

▪ During the check in process, all candidates will be asked 
if they possess any prohibited items. Candidates may also 
be asked to empty their pockets and turn them out for 
the proctor to ensure they are empty. The proctor may 
also ask candidates to lift up the ends of their sleeves 
and the bottoms of their pant legs to ensure that notes 
or recording devices are not being hidden there. 

▪ Proctors will also carefully inspect eyeglass frames, tie 
tacks, or any other apparel that could be used to harbor 
a recording device. Proctors will ask to inspect any such 
items in candidates’ pockets. 

▪ If prohibited items are found during check-in, candidates 
shall put them in the provided secure storage or return 
these items to their vehicle. PSI will not be responsible 
for the security of any personal belongings or prohibited 
items. 

▪ Any candidate possessing prohibited items in the 
examination room shall immediately have his or her test 
results invalidated, and PSI shall notify the examination 
sponsor of the occurrence. 

▪ Any candidate seen giving or receiving assistance on an 
examination, found with unauthorized materials, or who 
violates any security regulations will be asked to 
surrender all examination materials and to leave the 
examination center.  All such instances will be reported 
to the examination sponsor.   

▪ Copying or communicating examination content is 
violation of a candidate’s contract with PSI, and federal 
and state law. Either may result in the disqualification of 
examination results and may lead to legal action. 

▪ Once candidates have been seated and the examination 
begins, they may leave the examination room only to use 
the restroom, and only after obtaining permission from 
the proctor.  Candidate will not receive extra time to 
complete the examination. 

 

TAKING THE EXAMINATION BY COMPUTER 

 
The examination will be administered via computer.  You will 
be using a mouse and computer keyboard. 

 
IDENTIFICATION SCREEN 

You will be directed to a semiprivate testing station to take 
the examination.  When you are seated at the testing station, 
you will be prompted to confirm your name, identification 
number, and the examination for which you are registered. 
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TUTORIAL 

Before you start your examination, an introductory tutorial is 
provided on the computer screen.  The time you spend on 
this tutorial, up to 15 minutes, DOES NOT count as part of 
your examination time.  Sample questions are included 
following the tutorial so that you may practice answering 
questions, and reviewing your answers. 

 
TEST QUESTION SCREEN 

The “function bar” at the top of the test question provides 
mouse-click access to the features available while taking the 
examination. 

One question appears on the screen at a time.  During the 
examination, minutes remaining will be displayed at the top of 
the screen and updated as you record your answers.   
 
IMPORTANT:  After you have entered your responses, you will 
later be able to return to any question(s) and change your 
response, provided the examination time has not run out. 
 

EXPERIMENTAL ITEMS 
 
In addition to the number of examination items specified in the 
"Examination Content Outlines", a small number (5 to 10) of 
"experimental" questions may be administered to candidates 
during the examinations.  These questions will not be scored 
and the time taken to answer them will not count against 
examination time.  The administration of such unscored, 
experimental questions is an essential step in developing future 
licensing examinations. 

EXAMINATION REVIEW 

PSI, in cooperation with the Board of Nursing and Occupational 
Regulation, will be consistently evaluating the examinations 
being administered to ensure that the examinations accurately 
measure competency in the required knowledge areas. 
Comments may be entered by clicking the Comments link on 
the function bar of the test question screen. 
 
Comments will be analyzed by PSI examination development 
staff.  While PSI does not respond to individuals regarding 

these comments, all substantive comments are reviewed.  
If an error affecting examination scores is discovered as a 
result, which occurs very rarely, the examination scores of all 
affected candidates will be automatically adjusted.  This is 
the only review of the examination available to candidates.  
 

SCORE REPORTING 

 
In order to pass the examination, you must achieve a 
minimum score of 70%. 
Your score will be given to you immediately following 
completion of the examination.  The following summary 
describes the score reporting process: 
▪ On screen – your score will appear immediately on the 

computer screen.  This will happen automatically at the 
end of the time allowed for the examination; if you are 
using review features, you will be able to obtain your 
score immediately when you indicate that you have 
finished and would like to see your results. 

If you pass, you will immediately receive a 
successful notification. 
If you do not pass, you will immediately receive an 
unsuccessful notification on the screen along with a 
diagnostic report indicating your strengths and 
weaknesses by examination type.  Registration forms 
for submittal to PSI to retake the examination will 
be available at the examination site. 

▪ On paper – an official score report will be printed at the 
examination site. 

DUPLICATE SCORE REPORTS 

 
You may request a duplicate score report after your 
examination by emailing scorereport@psionline.com or by 
calling 800-733-9267.  The fee for a duplicate score report is 
$15. 
 

Now you can take the practice exam online at 
www.psiexams.com to prepare for your Virginia Medication 

Aide Examination. 

Please note that practice exams are intended only to help testing 
candidates become familiar with the general types of questions that 
will appear on a licensing examination. They ARE NOT a substitute 
for proper education and study.  Furthermore, scoring well on the 
practice exam does not guarantee a positive outcome on an actual 
licensing examination. 

Note:  You may take the practice exams an unlimited number of 
times, however you will need to pay each time. 

 
 

EXAMINATION CONTENT OUTLINE AND 
REFERENCE MATERIAL 

The Examination Content Outline has been approved by the 
Virginia Department of Health Professions.  This outline 
reflects the minimum knowledge required by medication aide 
professionals to perform their duties to the public in a 
competent and responsible manner.   

Use the outline as the basis of your study.  The outline lists the 
topics that are on the examination and the number of items for 
each topic.  Do not schedule your examination until you are 

DESCRIPTION OF EXAMINATIONS   

mailto:scorereport@psionline.com
mailto:scorereport@psionline.com
http://www.psiexams.com/
http://www.psiexams.com/
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familiar with all topics in the outline. 

 

# of 
Questions 

Minimum 
Passing Score 

Time Allowed 

80 70% (56 correct) 2 Hours 

 
CONTENT OUTLINE 
 
I. Legal and Ethical Issues (8 items) 

a. Identify legal and ethical issues in medication 
management 

b. Identify client rights regarding medication, 
treatment decisions and confidentiality 

c. Identify laws and regulations relating to 
administration of medications in Virginia Assisted 
Living Facilities 

d. Identify permitted practices and practices prohibited 
by medication aides in Virginia 

e. Identify requirement to report client abuse, neglect 
or exploitation 

II. Preparing for Safe Administration of Medication (12 
items) 
a. Explain principles of maintaining aseptic conditions 
b. Recognize emergencies and other health-threatening 

conditions 
c. Explain principles of communicating with the 

cognitively impaired client 
d. Measure vital signs 
e. Explain the use of International Time 
f. Identify the Five Rights of Medication Administration 

III. Introduction to Pharmacology (8 items) 
a. Define key pharmacology terms, medical 

terminology and abbreviations 
b. Explain how drugs are classified 
c. Identify factors that affect drug action 
d. Explain how to facilitate client awareness of the 

purpose and effects of medication 
e. Demonstrate the use of selected drug information 

sources 
f. Identify Virginia drug labeling requirements 

IV. Administration of Prepared Instillations and 
Treatments (16 items) 
a. Identify basic principles of medication 

administration 
b. Administer or assist with self-administration of oral 

medication 
c. Administer or assist with self-administration of eye 

drops 
d. Administer or assist with self-administration of ear 

drops 
e. Administer or assist with self-administration of nasal 

drops and sprays 
f. Administer or assist with self-administration of 

topical preparations 
g. Administer or assist with administration of medicinal 

solutions by way of compresses and dressings 
h. Administer or assist with self-administration of 

vaginal products 
i. Administer or assist with self-administration of rectal 

products 
j. Administer or assist with self-administration of 

medicinal solutions by way of soaks and Sitz-Baths 
k. Assist with the use of oral hygiene products 
l. Administer or assist with self-administration 

inhalation medications 
m. Administer or assist with self-administration of 

medications by way of a nebulizer 
n. Administer or assist with self-administration of trans-

dermal patches 
o. Administer or assist with self-administration of Epi-

pens injection 
V. Documentation (12 items) 

a. Identify three commonly used forms for 
documentation 

b. Demonstrate procedures for receiving and 
transcribing health care provider orders 

c. Document medication administration using 
appropriate form 

d. Document medication errors using appropriate form 
VI. Storage and Disposal of Medication (8 items) 

a. Identify procedures for storing and securing 
medication 

b. Identify procedures to maintain an inventory of 
medication including controlled substances 

c. Identify proper procedures for disposal of 
medications 

VII. Special Issues in Medication Administration (8 items) 
a. Identify common concerns of drug use in the elderly 
b. Recognize special considerations for psychotropic 

drug use 
c. Identify procedures for monitoring therapeutic drug 

levels 
d. Recognize when a drug is a chemical restraint 
e. Define the Beer’s Criteria of medications for the 

elderly population 
f. List ways of dealing with medication non-compliance 
g. Issues related to over-the-counter medications and 

herbal preparations 
VIII. Insulin Administration (8 items) 

a. Explain basic facts about Diabetes Mellitus 
b. Identify activities involved in the management of 

diabetes 
c. List signs and symptoms of hypoglycemia and 

hyperglycemia 
d. Perform finger-stick for blood-glucose monitoring 
e. Administer insulin injections 

 
REFERENCE LIST 

 
The following is a list of possible study materials for the 
medication aide examination. The list is given to identify 
resources and does not constitute an endorsement by PSI or by 
the Virginia Board of Nursing. 

This examination is CLOSED BOOK. 

The following reference material is NOT allowed in the 
examination center: 

 Commonwealth of Virginia Board of Nursing Medication 
Aide Curriculum. 

 Virginia Board of Nursing, Proposed Regulations 
Governing the Registration of Medication Aides: 
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_laws_regs.
htm 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_laws_regs.htm
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_laws_regs.htm
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_laws_regs.htm
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_laws_regs.htm


 

                       

 

 

 VIRGINIA MEDICATION AIDE  
EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORM 

 

 
Read the Candidate Information Bulletin before filling out this registration form.  You must provide all information requested and 
submit the appropriate fee.  PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT LEGIBLY.  Registration forms that are incomplete, illegible, or not accompanied 
by the proper fee will be returned unprocessed. Registration fees are not refundable or transferable. 
 

1. Legal Name:                                

                                                        First Name                                                              Last Name                                       M.I. 

2. Social Security:    -   -     (FOR IDENTIFICATION PURPOSES ONLY) 

 

3. Mailing Address:                                

                                                        Number, Street                                                                                                              Apt/Ste 

                          -      

                                                 City                                                                              State          Zip Code   

4. Telephone:      Home        -              Office        -      

 
5. Birth Date:         -   -                              

                                                         MM           DD           YY 

6. Email:____________________________________________@________________________________________ 

     
7. Examination:  Medication Aide ($70)                       

 
8. Total Fees:  $70.  You may pay by credit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover), money order, cashier’s check 

or company check.  Personal checks and cash are NOT accepted. 

If paying by credit card, check one:  ❑ VISA    ❑ MasterCard    ❑ American Express    ❑ Discover 

Card No: __________________________________________________ Exp. Date: ________________________________ 

Card Verification # ____________ 

The card verification number may be found on the back of the card (last three digits on the  
signature strip) or on the front of card (4 digits above and to the right of the credit card  
number). 

Billing Street Address: ____________________________________________________ Billing Zip Code: __________________

 

Cardholder Name (Print):_________________________________Signature:_________________________________________ 

 
9. Affidavit:  I certify that the information provided on this registration form (and/or telephonically to PSI) is correct.  I 

understand that any falsification of information may result in denial of registration or possible disciplinary action by the Board 
of Nursing.  I have read and understand the examination information bulletin. 

 
_______________________________________________________          __________________________________        
Signature of Applicant                                                                                                Date     

 
To register by mail, complete and send with examination fee to: 

PSI licensure:certification * ATTN:  Examination Services VA MED 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
(800) 733-9267 * TDD (800) 735-2929 * Fax (702) 932-2666 

www.psiexams.com 



 

                       

 

PSI licensure:certification 
3210 E Tropicana 

Las Vegas, NV  89121 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
  


