
 

Suite 300 
9960 Mayland Drive 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515                  www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing 

CHECKLIST INSTRUCTIONS FOR 
REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FOLLOWING 

SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION 

Check One:       RN            LPN  
Fee: $300 

Check here if you are requesting reinstatement after a 
Mandatory Suspension  

Pursuant to Virginia nursing regulation 18 VAC 90-19-190 a Nurse whose license was suspended or revoked may apply for reinstatement. 
If previous license(s) revoked, must wait until three (3) years have elapsed from the revocation order entry date.   
Note: Virginia is a compact state under the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC).  Under the eNLC, to receive and/or maintain an 
RN/LPN license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with Virginia 
Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C. If you do not meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements (ULRs) OR you reside in a ‘non-compact’ state, you 
may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice only in Virginia. 
If your primary state of residence (PSOR) is a compact state, you must apply for licensure in your PSOR (compact state). If your 
primary state of residence is Virginia or a non-compact state, and your Virginia license has been expired for more than two years, you 
may apply in Virginia for reinstatement.  Indicate on the application your primary state of residence. For current information on the NLC 
go to: https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm. 

REQUIREMENTS are listed below to submit an application for Reinstatement.  
Check applicable COMPLETED items that are included with your application: 

 
Completed Reinstatement Application and required Fee: Fees must be paid by check or money order, made 
payable to The Treasurer of Virginia. Your application will not be reviewed or considered until you have submitted 
payment. Fees are non-refundable. 

 Completed criminal history background check required by Virginia Code § 54.1-3005.1: Within 7-10 business days 
after confirmed payment receipt for your filed application, you will receive a Fieldprint Code.  This code is required to 
register for fingerprinting, which must be done exclusively through Fieldprint Va.  You must have a confirmed 
application filed with VBON prior to registering for fingerprinting.  If you do not receive your Fieldprint Code within 7-
10 business days, you may contact the VBON CBC unit. 

 Completed continued competency requirements: Provide evidence of completing at least one (1) of the learning 
activities or courses specified in 18 VAC 90-19-160 during the two (2) years immediately preceding application for 
reinstatement*. Applicable regulation regarding supporting documentation for compliance should be reviewed at: 18 VAC 
90-19-170.  {*30 contact hours required without active practice} OR {15 contact hours required with a minimum of 
640 hours of active practice}. * Above continuing education requirements do not apply to reinstatement after a 
mandatory suspension by the Director of the Department of Health Professions (DHP) pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-
2409. 

 I have completed the continued competency requirements. 

The Board may waive all or part of the continued competency requirement(s) for a nurse who holds a current, 
unrestricted license in another state AND who has engaged in active practice during the period the Virginia license 
was lapsed.  Evidence must be provided to request that the VBON waive continued competency requirements. 

 By checking this box, I am requesting VBON consider waiving continued competency requirements by providing 
written verification of active licensure and active practice during the time my license was expired to include: 
• copy of current license (only for non-NURSYS participating states); 
• letter from employer on official letterhead verifying: name/position/dates of employment;copy of a recent pay stub 

with: name/position/name of the medical facility. 
Additional Information: 
• The VBON may request additional evidence that the nurse is prepared to resume practice in a safe, competent manner. 
• Nursing laws and regulations may be obtained at www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing.  
• Documents submitted with the application are property of the Board and cannot be returned. 

THIS COMPLETED INSTRUCTION CHECKLIST MUST BE SUBMITTED WITH APPLICATION 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter19/section190/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://www.ncsbn.org/nurse-licensure-compact.htm
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3005.1/
http://fieldprintvirginia.com/
mailto:VBONCBCUnit@dhp.virginia.gov
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter20/section160/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter19/section170/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency90/chapter19/section170/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2409/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2409/
http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
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Suite 300 
9960 Mayland Drive 
Perimeter Center 
Henrico, Virginia 23233 
(804) 367-4515 
www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing 

APPLICATION – REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE AS A REGISTERED OR PRACTICAL NURSE FOLLOWING 
SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (FINANCE DIVISION) FOR OFFICE USE ONLY (VBON 
STAFF) 

Fee paid/Check one: 
 RN   ($300) 
 LPN ($300) 

Applicant ID#: Receipt #: Approved: Date: 
 
 

 
I hereby make application to reinstate my nursing license in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  The following information in support of my 
application is submitted with a check or money order made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia in the amount of $300.  The fees 
are non-refundable. 

Disclosure of Addresses 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-2400.02 addresses of licensees are made available to the public.  Normally, the Address of Record is 
the publicly disclosed address.  If you do not want your Address of Record to be made public, you may provide a second, publicly 
disclosable address (e.g. work or practice address). If you would like your Address of Record to be publically available  complete both 
sections with same address. 
 

Disclosure of Social Security or DMV Control Numbers 
Pursuant to Virginia Code § 54.1-116 (A) , you are required to submit your social security number or your control number issued by the 
Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.  If you fail to do so, the processing of your application will be suspended and fees will not be 
refunded.  This number will be used by the Department of Health Professions for identification and will not be disclosed for other 
purposes except as provided for by law.  Federal and state law requires that this number be shared with other agencies for child 
support enforcement activities. 
1. APPLICANT -  provide the information requested below 

and on all pages. (Print or Type) Use full name, not 
initials. 

Applicant Type (Check One): 
      RN                  LPN 

Mandatory Suspension: 
   YES      NO 

Name:        Last 
 
 

First 
 
 

 Middle/Maiden 
 
 

Suffix 
 
 

Address of Record (Mailing Address) 
 
 

City 
 
 

State  
 
 

Zip Telephone Number 

Publicly Disclosable Address 
 
 

City 
 

State  
 

 Zip 
 

Telephone Number 
 
 

Email Address:  

Date of Birth  
___  ___ / ___ ___ / ___ ___ ___ ___ 

 Social Security Number or Virginia DMV Control Number* 
 

Virginia RN or LPN License Number 
 
 

Full Name at Time of Initial Licensure: 

DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCE 

I declare that the state of:  is my Primary State of Residence and that such constitutes my 
permanent and principal home for legal purposes.  (*If not VA, refer to Compact info on the Instruction page). 
 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter24/section54.1-2400.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter1/section54.1-116/
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RN/LPN Reinstatement After Discipline (Suspension/Revocation) Application 

2. EMPLOYMENT INFORMATION 
If employed, list your current 
Employer and job title: 

Employer: Job Title (position title): 

3. UNIFORM LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS 
In order to receive a license with multi-state privilege(s), an applicant must meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with 
Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C.  If you do not meet all Uniform Licensure Requirement (ULRs) OR you reside in a ‘non-compact’ state, 
you may be eligible for a single-state license authorizing practice only in Virginia.  For current information on the NLC go to: 
https://www.ncsbn.org/enhanced-nlc-implementation.htm. 
Do you meet all Uniform Licensure Requirements in accordance with Virginia Code § 54.1- 3040.3 C?       YES          *NO  
If No, provide details in Explanation Section. 
4.  LICENSURE HISTORY/QUESTIONS (pertains to any license or certificate ever issued to applicant) 
• List current state(s) of practice: 

 
Answer YES or NO to EACH of the following: 

1. Have you ever had disciplinary action taken against any license/registration/certificate to practice in a state or against your multi-state 
privilege to practice in a state? YES    NO  
 

2. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered any license/registration/certificate or multi-state privilege issued to you to avoid disciplinary 
action?  (Does not include allowing your license to expire or placing the license in inactive status.) 
YES   NO  
 

3. Have you ever had any of the following disciplinary actions taken against your license/registration/certificate or multi-state privilege by 
any licensing authority in any jurisdiction:  placed on probation, suspended, revoked or otherwise disciplined?    YES     NO  
 

4. Have you ever applied for and been denied a license/registration/certificate or multi-state privilege in a health related field or 
jurisdiction?  YES   NO  
 

5. Have you ever been the subject of an investigation by any licensing authority?  YES   NO  
 

6. Have you ever been convicted, pled guilty to or pled Nolo Contendere to the violation of any federal, state or other statute or 
ordinance constituting a felony or misdemeanor?  (Including convictions for driving under the influence and reckless driving but 
excluding other traffic violations)?  *YES   NO  *Information Previously provided   
 

7. Within the past five (5) years, have you exhibited any conduct or behavior that could call into question your ability to practice in a 
competent and professional manner? YES   NO    
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. 
B. Within the past five (5) years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  

YES   NO  
 

8. Within the past five (5) years, have you been disciplined by any entity? YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section and provide any associated orders or letter from entity. 
B. Within the past five (5) years, have you sought or been directed to seek treatment for your conduct or behavior?  

YES   NO  
9. Do you currently have any physical condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 

responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition 
could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse.  

YES   NO   
 

A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 
your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or 
have your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

 
 

https://www.ncsbn.org/eNLC-ULRs_082917.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
https://www.ncsbn.org/enhanced-nlc-implementation.htm
https://www.ncsbn.org/eNLC-ULRs_082917.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter30/section54.1-3040.3/
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RN/LPN Reinstatement After Discipline (Suspension/Revocation) Application 

LICENSURE HISTORY/QUESTIONS CONTINUED 
Answer YES or NO to EACH of the following: 

10. Do you currently have any mental health condition or impairment that affects or limits your ability to perform any of the obligations and 
responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means recently enough so that the condition 
could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. 

 YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 

your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have 
your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

 
11. Do you currently have any condition or impairment related to alcohol or other substance use that affects or limits your ability to 

perform any of the obligations and responsibilities of professional practice in a safe and competent manner? “Currently” means 
recently enough so that the condition could reasonably have an impact on your ability to function as a practicing nurse. 
 YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section. (Note: The Board may request a letter from your current treatment provider addressing 

your current condition and ability to safely practice.  You may consider providing this documentation with your application, or have 
your provider send this documentation directly to the Board). 

 
12. Within the past five (5) years, have any conditions or restrictions been imposed upon you or your practice to avoid disciplinary action 

by any entity? YES   NO  
A. If YES, detail under Explanation section.  (Note: The Board may request a copy of a current participation contract and summary 

of compliance and/or documentation of successful completion.  You may consider providing this documentation with your 
application or have the program send this documentation directly to the Board). 
 

4. MILITARY QUESTION(S): 
13. Are you an active member or veteran of the U.S. military? YES      NO  
14. Are you the spouse of a member of the U.S. military who has been transferred to Virginia and who had to leave employment to 

accompany your spouse to Virginia?  YES      NO  

EXPLANATIONS (If no information provided here: line through Section) Attach additional pages if necessary: 
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RN/LPN Reinstatement After Discipline (Suspension/Revocation) Application 
 
5. List all of your employers since your license was suspended or revoked. Include addresses, telephone number, dates of 

employment and reason for leaving. 
 

Employer Name 
(Current/Most Recent Employer First) 

City/State Employment 
Start Date 

Employment 
End Date 

Reason for Leaving 

     

     

     

     

 
6.   List any educational offerings you have participated in since your license was suspended or revoked. 

Name of Education Offering or Program Dates of Participation 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
  

 
 
 
 

CERTIFICATION 
 
I certify by entering my signature below, I am the person applying for licensure and meet the qualifications required by 
Virginia law and regulations.  Further, I certify the information provided in this application has been personally provided and 
reviewed by me and that statements made on the application are true and complete.  I understand that providing false or 
misleading information as well as omitting information in response to information requested in this application or as part of 
the application process is considered falsification of the application and may be grounds for denial of or taking disciplinary 
action against an existing license. 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Revised: 5/1/18 

Signature:                                                                                         Date: 


