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 18VAC85-160-10. Definitions.

The following word and term when used in this chapter shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Medicine.

18VAC85-160-20. Public participation.

A separate regulation, 18VAC85-11, Public Participation Guidelines, provides for involvement of the public in the development of all regulations of the Virginia Board of Medicine.

18VAC85-160-30. Current name and address.

Each licensee or registrant shall furnish the board his current name and address of record. All notices required by law or by this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee or registrant shall be validly given when sent to the latest address of record provided or served to the licensee or registrant. Any change of name or address of record or public address, if different from the address of record, shall be furnished to the board within 30 days of such change.

18VAC85-160-40. Fees.

A. The following fees have been established by the board: 

1. The fee for licensure as a surgical assistant or registration as a surgical technologist shall be $75. 

2. The fee for renewal of licensure or registration shall be $70. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the licensee or registrant in each even-numbered year. For 2020, the renewal fee shall be $54.

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal application within one renewal cycle shall be $25.

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board are not refundable.

18VAC85-160-50. Requirements for licensure as a surgical assistant.

A. An applicant for licensure shall submit a completed application and a fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 on forms provided by the board. 

B. An applicant for licensure as a surgical assistant shall provide evidence of: 

1. A current credential as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or the National Commission for Certification of Surgical Assistants or their successors;

2. Successful completion of a surgical assistant training program during the applicant's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces of the United States; or

3. Practice as a surgical assistant in the Commonwealth at any time in the six months immediately prior to July 1, 2020.

18VAC85-160-51. Requirements for registration as a surgical technologist.

A. An applicant for registration as a surgical technologist shall submit a completed application and a fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-160-40 on forms provided by the board. 

B. An applicant for registration as a surgical technologist shall provide evidence of: 

1. A current credential as a certified surgical technologist from the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or its successor; or

2. Successful completion of a surgical technologist training program during the applicant's service as a member of any branch of the armed forces of the United States.

18VAC85-160-60. Renewal of licensure for a surgical assistant.

A surgical assistant who was licensed based on a credential as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting or the National Commission for the Certification of Surgical Assistants or their successors shall attest that the credential is current at the time of renewal.
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