|Board of Health Professions|
Phone: (804) 367-4403
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
2017 Spring Break Zika Awareness Toolkit
Primarily a mosquito borne disease, the Zika virus is most impactful in warmer seasons when illness can be transmitted by insects carrying the virus from one person to another. Maintaining a keen awareness for the transmission and treatment of Zika virus infection is an imperative for healthcare practitioners.
Along with their Zika Virus information page, the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) now offers a Spring Break Toolkit featuring printable infographics and online resources to help Virginians spread Zika awareness on social media.
Invitation for Public Comment on the Review of the Feasibility of Licensure of Certified Anesthesiologist Assistants
The Virginia Board of Health Professions Regulatory Research Committee held a public hearing to receive comment on the feasibility of Virginia’s regulation of Certified Anesthesiologist Assistants. The meeting was held on June 27, 2017 at the Department of Health Professions. Please click here to view the Certified Anesthesiologist Assistant Draft Study Report. Please click here to view the Transcript.
Federal Rules in Place Regarding Dialysis Patient Care Technicians
In order to meet US Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) requirements for reimbursement for End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) services federal regulations effective April 15, 2010 require facilities' technicians who have been employed since October 14, 2008 to be certified within 18 months of their date of hire.
Virginia's statutes and regulations require certification within 24 months regardless of the payment system for End Stage Renal Disease services. The CMS rules requiring certification within 18 months apply to federal reimbursement.
Click here to read an explanatory letter from October 2009 from CMS to State Survey Agency Directors. In the Commonwealth this is the function of the Virginia Department of Health.
Dialysis patient care technician info
Attention: dialysis patient care technician trainees, supervising registered nurses, and other interested parties, information on provisional practice for persons receiving training to become dialysis patient care technicians is available on the Board of Health Professions' webpage on the Laws and Regulations page.
Laws & Regulations
Keep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws & Regulations Governing Board of Health Professions
Laws Governing All Health Professions
View and download the list of available guidance documents from the Virginia Board of Health Professions. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Studies and Policy Reviews
Recent studies and reports are now available online. Click here to view studies from the Virginia Board of Health Professions
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current membership of the Board of Health Professions.
View the Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Regulatory Town Hall
Be informed about the regulatory work of Virginia's Health Regulatory Boards. The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.