|Board of Health Professions|
Phone: (804) 367-4403
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
Invitation for Public Comment on the Need for a Funeral Director-Only License as an Additional Category of Licensure in Virginia
The Regulatory Research Committee of the Virginia Board of Health Professions is holding a public hearing to receive comment on the relative merits of a potential separate funeral-director-only category of licensure of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers will be held on May 28, 2015 beginning at 9:00 a.m.
The Board's Regulatory Research Committee will continue to gather written comment until June 30, 2015. After June 30, 2015 the written comment will be reviewed and presented at the next scheduled meeting on August 6, 2015.
At that time, the Committee will determine its findings.
Public Comment Received for the Dental Hygienist Scope of Practice Review
- Dental Hygienist Public Comment Summary and Court Reporter Notes
- Dental Hygienist Public Comment – Organizations
- Dental Hygienist Public Comment – Individuals
Invitation to Comment on Dental Hygienist Scope of Practice Review
On January 22, 2015 at 10:30 AM, the Board of Health Professions’ Regulatory Research Committee will hold a public hearing on its Dental Hygienist Scope of Practice review. Please view the Invitation to Comment here. Persons desiring to provide comment may wish to review the following document:
Federal Rules in Place Regarding Dialysis Patient Care Technicians
In order to meet US Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) Center for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) requirements for reimbursement for End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) services federal regulations effective April 15, 2010 require facilities' technicians who have been employed since October 14, 2008 to be certified within 18 months of their date of hire.
Virginia's statutes and regulations require certification within 24 months regardless of the payment system for End Stage Renal Disease services. The CMS rules requiring certification within 18 months apply to federal reimbursement.
Attached for your reference is an explanatory letter from October 2009 from CMS to State Survey Agency Directors. In the Commonwealth this is the function of the Virginia Department of Health.
Dialysis patient care technician info
Attention: dialysis patient care technician trainees, supervising registered nurses, and other interested parties, information on provisional practice for persons receiving training to become dialysis patient care technicians is available on the Board of Health Professions' webpage on the Laws and Regulations page.
Laws & Regulations
Keep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws & Regulations Governing Board of Health Professions
Laws Governing All Health Professions
View and download the list of available guidance documents from the Virginia Board of Health Professions. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations.
Studies and Policy Reviews
Recent studies and reports are now available online. Click here to view studies from the Virginia Board of Health Professions
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View the current membership of the Board of Health Professions.
View the Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
Regulatory Town Hall
Be informed about the regulatory work of Virginia's Health Regulatory Boards. The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.