Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Laws & Regulations
The below documents are in Microsoft Word format. If you do not have Microsoft Word, you can get the Microsoft Word Viewer to view and print DHP's documents.
Periodic Regulatory Review Complete; Regulations Effective December 11, 2019 – view the Crosswalk for Regulatory Changes.
- Click here to obtain a Petition for Rule-making: If you would like the Board to consider amending one of its regulations or rules, you may file a "petition for rule-making". The Board is required to publish your petition in the Virginia Register and post it online at www.townhall.virginia.gov to begin a 21-day comment period on the request. Within 90 days after the comment period or 14 days after its next scheduled meeting, the Board will issue a decision on whether it will grant or deny the petition. A copy of the petition form is provided. You may email the petition to the address below, fax it to the number on the form or mail it to the Board address.
- Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (6-9-2021)
- Regulations Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians (3-18-2021)
- Regulations Governing Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, Warehousers, and Third-Party Logistics Providers (3-18-2021)
- Public Participation Guidelines (12-15-2016)
- Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (3-18-2021)
- Regulations for Collaborative Practice Agreements (11-25-2020)
- Regulations Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (12-11-2019)
- Pharmaceutical Processors
Registered agents and wholesale distributors - 12/30/19 to 6/29/21
Prohibition on vaping products with Vitamin E acetate - 8/6/20 to 2/5/22
Implementation of SB976 of 2020 General Assembly - 2/8/21 to 8/7/22
- Registration of Pharmacy Technicians and Pharmacy Technician Trainees - 1/3/21 to 7/2/22
- Pharmacists Rules for Initiating Treatment - 1/3/21 to 7/2/22
- Reporting of immunizations to VIIS - 9/22/20 to 8/21/22
- Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing Arts To Sell Controlled Substances - Changes that are underlined are emergency regulations in effect between 1/4/21 and 7/3/22
- Pharmaceutical Processors
Registered agents and wholesale distribution (replacement of emergency regulations) - Comment period 3/1/21 to 4/30/21
Notice of Public Comment Period
Board of Pharmacy
Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical Processors
In accordance with Chapters 205, 227, and 228 of the 2021 Acts of the Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy is providing an opportunity to comment on a draft of proposed regulations for pharmaceutical processors that will be considered for adoption as an exempt action.
The proposed regulations as drafted:
- Amend regulations as required by the 2021 legislation (those are highlighted in the attached document);
- Replace the references to “cannabis oil” with “cannabis products;” and
- Incorporate other amendments that are currently in effect as emergency regulations (those changes are shown with underlining or overstriking but are not highlighted).
The 2021 legislation requires posting of a notice 60 days in advance of submittals for public comment and also requires amended regulations to be effective by September 1, 2021. Therefore, the Board of Pharmacy is scheduled to meet on July 6, 2021 with the intent of submitting regulations to the Register of Regulations by July 14, 2021 for publication on August 2, 2021 with an effective date of September 1, 2021.
Although the Board will receive public comment from May 6, 2021 to July 5, 2021, commenters are strongly encouraged to submit comments by June 18, 2021 in order to have them included in the Board’s agenda package and adequately considered for the July 6th meeting.
Comments may be sent to: firstname.lastname@example.org
Laws relating to the sales of methamphetamine precursors-pseudoephedrine, ephedrine, and phenylpropanolamine.
By law, the persons licensed as health care practitioners have a duty to
report to the Virginia Department of Social Services or the local departments
of social services any known or suspected incidences of abuse, neglect,
or exploitation of children or elderly and incapacitated adults. Contact
information and a copy of the law may be obtained at: Legal
Requirements to Report Child Abuse and Adult Abuse