|Board of Nursing|
| Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico Virginia 23233-1463
Directions to the Board
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
Nursys e-Notify is a free service that will provide you with electronic licensure renewal notifications and license status changes
Looking for a career in healthcare?
|Other Citizen Services|
Licensed Nurse Practitioner News
New autonomous practice law enacted by Governor Northam and the associated emergency regulations promulgated by the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine are in effect as of January 7, 2019. This new law allows Nurse Practitioners with the equivalent of 5 years of full-time clinical experience to be able to apply for full practice authority (autonomous practice). More information regarding the new law, may be found at Virginia Code § 54.1-2957 and emergency regulations at 18 VAC 90-30-86. Click Here for the Application also available on the Board of Nursing Applications page.
Virginia Nurse Aide Exam
Changes to the Fees for Nurse Aide Test Effective February 1, 2019 ...read more
Health care providers serving Virginians can learn about Medicaid Exapansion at the Department of Medical Assistance Services web site.
Notice of Proposed NLC Rulemaking
The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA) will hold a hearing on proposed rules via teleconference at 3:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) on June 29, 2018. Click here for more information. Click here to view the notice.
VIRGINIA IMPLEMENTED THE NEW ENHANCED NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT (eNLC) ON JANUARY 19, 2018
The Board of Nursing is pleased to inform you of a free service Nursys e-Notify that will provide you with electronic licensure renewal notifications and license status changes. You may sign yourself up as an individual to receive these notifications OR you may establish an EMPLOYER account to receive notifications about nurses you employ. Both of these services are free. Visit Nursys e-Notify to sign up or go here to view videos to learn more about the services.
Public Comment Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators
Notice of Public Hearing: The Interstate Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators (ICNLCA) will hold a hearing on proposed rules via teleconference at 2:00 P.M. (Central Standard Time) on December 8, 2017.
Interested persons may electronically submit written comments regarding proposed rules or amendments at www.ncsbn.org/enlcrules .
If electronic submission is not possible, verbal comments will be permitted at the public hearing referenced above. Teleconference participant information is posted at www.ncsbn.org/enlcrules .
One-Time Renewal Fee Reductions ...read more
NCSBN Substance Abuse Disorder Courses for Nurses - FREE ...read more
New Controlled Substances CE Requirements for Nurse Practitioners
Nurse Practitioners must now obtain 2 hours of Type 1 (CAT I) continuing education (CE) in the 24 months prior to your next biennial renewal. It is the responsibility of the licensee to find and complete the CE activities. Please click here to read the FAQs related to Controlled Substances CE Requirements.
9 things to consider when choosing a Nursing Education Program Guidance for selecting a nursing education program
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
Renewal notices for January 2019 expiration dates have been mailed. You can renew online now by clicking here.
Continued Competency Requirements for Nurses ....read more
Public Health Information ....read more
Address of Record ....read more
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses ....read more
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation ....read more
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.
Applicants for initial licensure as a Licensed Practical Nurse, Registered Nurse, Nurse Practitioner, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Licensed Massage Therapist, Medication Aide, Nurse Aide, and Advanced Certified Nurse Aide, can apply online. Click here to begin the online application process.
Existing Licensees can renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Forms & Applications
Download the available forms and applications from the Board.
Find out about RN, PN, Nurse Aide and Registered Medication Aide education programs.
Laws & Regulations
Board Members, Meetings and Minutes
View and download the list of available guidance documents. These documents provide information or guidance to the public to interpret or implement statutes or the agency's rules or regulations
Annual Report Forms:
National Nurse Aide Assessment Program (NNAAP)
Pearson VUEs website has information and an application to sit for the state Nurse Aide exam.
View reports on board statistics, discipline and our workforce survey.
Regulatory Town Hall
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.