|Virginia Board of Psychology|
Phone: (804) 367-4697
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
The Board of Psychology will have a one-time fee reduction in renewal fees for the 2020 renewal.
C. Between May 1, 2020 and June 30, 2020, the following renewal fees shall be in effect:
- For an active license as a clinical, applied or school psychologist, it shall be $100. For an inactive license as a clinical, applied or school psychologist, it shall be $50
- For an active license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be $50. For an inactive license as a school psychologist-limited, it shall be $25.
- For an active certification for sex offender treatment provider, it shall be $55
|Clinical, School, Applied Psychologist||Renewal Fee||$100|
|Clinical, School, Applied Psychologist||Inactive Renewal Fee||$50|
|School Psychologist Limited||Renewal Fee||$50|
|School Psychologist Limited||Inactive Renewal Fee||$25|
|Sex Offender Treatment Provider Certification||Renewal Fee||$55|
Attention CSAC Supervisors: The Board of Counseling has amended Regulations Governing the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselor and Substance Abuse Counseling Assistants. Additionally, the Board of Counseling has developed a chart to help assist CSAC supervisees, CSAC, CSAC-A’s and CSAC Supervisors identify changes to CSAC and CSAC-A requirements. Click to view a comparison chart of the changes. To view the complete amended regulations, please visit the Board of Counseling website.
The Board has become aware of recent communications to licensees in Virginia and in other states that are designed to appear to be from a professional licensing board, but are fraudulent in nature. Read more.
EPPP Part 2 Information
Our mission includes ensuring safe and competent patient care. As you may be aware, the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB) has for many years administered the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology (EPPP), an examination designed to measure the foundational knowledge needed for entry-level licensure in psychology. It is used in all jurisdictions in North America. At the request of member jurisdictions, ASPPB has more recently developed the EPPP (Part 2-Skills) to provide a valid, reliable and legally-defensible measure of a universal set of skills needed for entry level licensure. A component of the EPPP, this is a computer based examination which assesses those skills, and it will become available in January 2020. Going forward, the knowledge exam will be known as the EPPP (Part 1 – Knowledge). More detail on the composition of and rationale for the new exam is available on ASPPB's website. The Board will be considering examination requirements in upcoming meetings.
At the October 29, 2019 meeting, the Board decided to take no action until after the Board conducts a stakeholder meeting in 2020.
Notification of Changes to Issuance of Licenses, Certifications and Registrations
The Board of Psychology will cease mailing hard-copy licenses, certifications, and registrations. During the next renewal, a final hard copy will be issued that contains no expiration date. The renewal period for Board of Psychology will begin in early May and the board will send out email notices at that time. This final copy should be maintained, carried, or posted in accordance with relevant applicable laws and regulations. State health regulatory boards, employers, insurance providers and citizens seeking verification of current licensure status in the Commonwealth of Virginia may obtain this information via License Lookup.
Replacement or duplicate of a final hard-copy license, certification, or registration may be requested through an individual online account.
License Verification Information
A Virginia licensee seeking to obtain a verification of his/her license, certification, or registration at no cost may do so by directing a board, employer, insurance provider or other interested parties to License Lookup. This content resource meets the accreditation standards for primary source verification from the top seven-accreditation organizations for healthcare professionals.
Opioid Addiction Crisis Declared a Public Health Emergency in Virginia
On November 21, 2016 Governor McAuliffe issued a News Release stating that State Health Commissioner Marissa Levine has declared Virginia’s opioid abuse crisis a Public Health Emergency in the Commonwealth.
Attention: New Law and regulation changes effective July 2015
- Carry-over of hours of continuing education
With the passage of HB2243 in the 2015 General Assembly, a psychologist who completes continuing education hours in excess of the 14 hours may carry up to seven hours of continuing education credit forward to meet the requirements for the next annual renewal cycle. The change was effective July 1, 2015, so licensees who accumulate more than 14 hours from that date to June 30, 2016 may carry over up to seven of those hours for their renewal in June of 2017. The new law can be viewed here.
- Clarification of the requirement for 1.5 hours in ethics or standards of practice
An amendment to regulations became effective on July 16th to clarify the intent of requiring 1.5 hours in ethics or standards of practice. In the amended language, the Board has specified that the 1.5 hours must emphasize ethics, laws and regulations, including the standards of practice set out in regulations of the Board. Questions often arise about whether the “standards of practice” refer to those of the professional association or those contained in regulation. Since the Board disciplines based on law or regulation, the licensee is held to those standards rather than to those of a professional association.
Address of record
Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from each health professional to be used by DHP for agency purposes. The Code also requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to DHP. (Note: the License Lookup feature on the DHP public website does not contain the full address. However, public addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service or the Board.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by written notification to the Board. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Please note that Virginia Law on confidentiality of records of licensed mental health providers in custody and visitation cases (Section 20-124.3:1) was repealed by the 2008 General Assembly.
Online Licensing - Licensees can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
Laws & RegulationsKeep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Psychology
Applications & FormsDownload Applications and Instructions available from the Virginia Board of Psychology.
The following professions are regulated by the Board of Psychology.
- Applied Psychologist
- Clinical Psychologist
- School Psychologist
- School Psychologist-Limited
- Sex Offender Treatment Provider
Board Members, Meetings and MinutesView the Board of Psychology Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
View the current Members of the Board.