Virginia Board of Psychology
Frequently Asked Questions
Questions and Answers on Continuing Competency Requirements
Q: When must I have the required number of continuing competency hours completed in order to renew my license?
A: The requirement must be completed between July 1st and June 30th immediately preceding an annual renewal cycle (June 30, 20XX). You will be required to sign a certification on your annual renewal form attesting that you have met the continuing competency requirements. Falsification on the renewal form is a violation of law and may subject you to disciplinary action.
Q: Am I required to send in evidence of my continuing competency hours at the time I renew?
A: No. The Board will randomly select licensees for a post-renewal audit. If selected, you would be notified by mail that documentation is required and given a time frame within which to comply.
Q: Who maintains the required documents for verification of continuing competency hours?
A: It is the responsibility of the individual psychologist to maintain the transcripts, certificates, and any other continuing competency forms or records for four years following the annual renewal period in which they were used. Do not send any forms or documents to the Board of Psychology unless requested to do so.
Q: Are there Board forms that I need to use for documenting my compliance with the continued competency requirement?
A: No. Should you be chosen in the random sampling, you would be asked to provide official transcripts or certificates of completion from approved providers (18 VAC 125-20-123.C.1.2.)
Q: How does the Board define course?
A: “Course” means an organized program of study, classroom experience or similar educational experience that is directly related to the practice of psychology and is provided by a board-approved provider that meets the criteria specified in section 18 VAC 125-20-122.
Q: Is there a requirement for a course in ethics?
A: Yes, a minimum of 1.5 hours shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the profession of psychology in Virginia.
Q: Must all continuing education courses be face-to-face?
A: No. At least six of the required hours must be earned in face-to-face or real-time interactive educational experiences. Real-time interactive includes a course in which the learner has the opportunity to interact with the presenter during the time of the presentation. (Zoom, WebEx or any video conferencing platforms can be considered as real-time interactive educational experience.)
Q: What if I am newly licensed during a renewal cycle? Do I still have to obtain the full 14 hours of continued competency?
A: No. Newly licensed individuals are not required to document continuing education on the first annual renewal date following initial licensure
Q: What if I become ill or incapacitated and unable to complete my continuing competency requirements prior to renewal?
A: Upon written request from the psychologist prior to the annual renewal date explaining the circumstances, the Board may grant an extension or exemption for all or part of the required hours.
Q: What are the types of statuses available for my license or certification?
- ACTIVE: This status allows for practice in the state of Virginia.
- INACTIVE: This status does not allow practice in the state of Virginia but you are required to renew each year at a reduced fee. (not available for CSOTP)
- EXPIRED: If no payment is received by your expiration date, the licensure status will automatically be changed to EXPIRED.
Q. Is there a "retired" status?
A: No, the Virginia Board of Psychology does not offer a “retired” status. Please see the above listed question for types of statuses.