Click here to obtain a Petition for Rule-making. If you would like the Board to consider amending one of its regulations or rules, you may file a "petition for rule-making". The Board is required to publish your petition in the Virginia Register and post it online at www.townhall.virginia.gov to begin a 21-day comment period on the request. Within 90 days after the comment period or 14 days after its next scheduled meeting, the Board will issue a decision on whether it will grant or deny the petition. A copy of the petition form is provided. You may email the petition to the address below, fax it to the number on the form or mail it to the Board address.
Regulations Governing the Practice of Psychology (effective December 21, 2022)
Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers (revised July 22, 2021)
Public Participation Guidelines (revised January 12, 2017)
Regulations Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (effective 11-8-2023)
The Virginia Department of Planning & Budget has designed a Regulatory Town Hall for anyone interested in the proposal of regulations or meetings of regulatory boards.
By law, the persons licensed as health care practitioners have a duty to report to the Virginia Department of Social Services or the local departments of social services any known or suspected incidences of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of children or elderly and incapacitated adults. Contact information and a copy of the law may be obtained at: Legal Requirements to Report Child Abuse and Adult Abuse
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of an online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read about the Online Training for APS Mandated Reporters
Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable probability that another mental health provider is or may be guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-2400.4 of the Code of Virginia.
Any person whose license has been revoked by the board under the provisions of 18VAC125-20-160 may, three years subsequent to such board action, submit a new application to the board for reinstatement of licensure. The board in its discretion may, after a hearing, grant the reinstatement. A copy of the law may be obtained at: § 54.1-2408.2. Minimum period for reinstatement after revocation.