|Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers|
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
The mission of the Department of Health Professions is to ensure safe and competent patient care by licensing health professionals, enforcing standards of practice, and providing information to health care practitioners and the public.
|Other Citizen Services|
Safe and effective COVID-19 vaccines are now available for anyone age 6 months or older. Talk to your healthcare provider or pharmacist for more information.
The Virginia Department of Health (VDH) has information on the Coronavirus Disease for both healthcare professionals and the general public which is updated regularly, as new information becomes available. Read more here.
FTC Consumer Guidance: Shopping for Funeral Services by Phone or Online: Recently, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) issued new guidance to assist consumers with shopping for funeral services by phone or online, particularly when consumers need to make quick decisions about how to handle funeral arrangements for a loved one.
To access the FTC’s Guidance for Shopping for Funeral Services by Phone or Online, click here.
Final Paper Licenses
Please click here to review licenses and registrations that received a final paper license in 2021, and those that receive an updated license annually.
Important Information from the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner
Cremation Authorization Fee Increase – Effective November 1, 2021
Please see the below correspondence from the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME) regarding an upcoming change in the cremation authorization fee.
For more information or questions, please contact your District OCME office.
OCME Realignment of District Offices
Please click here to access information from the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner (OCME) regarding the realignment of district offices effective May 1, 2022.
FEMA Funeral Assistance Program (NEW!) – April 6, 2021
The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has announced the COVID-19 Funeral Assistance Program to help pay funeral expenses associated with COVID-19 related deaths.
For more information:
- Access the FEMA website - COVID-19 Funeral Assistance.
- Access the April 6th News Release of the Virginia Department of Emergency Management (VDEM).
The Department of Health Professions (DHP) has been made aware that some licensees have received fraudulent communications from individuals claiming to be from one of our licensing boards, such as the Board of Pharmacy, or another agency, such as the DEA. The communications, often by phone, may threaten arrest or license suspension, demand personal information, or require the payment of fines. Read More.
Recent Regulatory Changes – Funeral Internships - Effective March 3, 2022
The Virginia Board of Funeral Director and Embalmers conducts a periodic review of its regulations approximately every four years. The Board recently completed the review of the Board’s Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program, which became effective March 3, 2022.
Of note, the amended regulations:
- Establish that a funeral service internship shall consist of at least 2,000 hours of training to be completed within no less than 12 months and no more than 48 months. (18VAC65-40-130(A))
- Provide that the Board may grant an extension for completion of an internship only for extenuating circumstances. (18VAC65-40-130(A))
- Require that a funeral service intern be identified to the public as a funeral service intern in a title used, name tag worn, and any correspondence or communication in which the intern’s name is used. (18VAC65-40-130(D))
- Require that a supervisor register with the Board for each intern supervised, with such registration expiring 48 months after registration or at the completion of the intern’s training, whichever occurs first. (18VAC65-40-250, -280)
- Specify that the Board will not approve registration of a supervisor who has been subject to board discipline within the most recent two years. (18VAC65-40-250)
To access updated versions of the Board’s Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program, visit the Board’s Laws and Regulations page.
To view the changes to the text of the Board’s Regulations, please visit the Virginia Town Hall website: Text Changes - Regulations for the Funeral Service Internship Program.
The Board offers electronic license verifications using the DHP License Lookup feature. License Lookup is updated in real time and available 24/7 to anyone seeking public licensure information on healthcare practitioners in Virginia. Please click here for instructions and fees on requesting a paper version to be sent to another jurisdiction on your behalf.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...
View a current list of Board approved continuing education providers. (pdf document)
Cremation Certification Providers
View a current list of Board approved cremation certification programs (pdf document)
Bloodborne Pathogens Training Courses
Please click here to view a listing of OSHA Bloodborne Pathogens Training Courses
View the list of Professions regulated by the Board.