|Virginia Board of Counseling|
| Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico Virginia 23233-1463
Phone: (804) 367-4610
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:15 to 5:00
|Other Citizen Services|
Own Your Future: Virginia's Long-Term Care Awareness Campaign
Registry of Approved Supervisors for Residents in Counseling
In accordance with § 54.1-3505(8), the Board of Counseling has posted this registry of persons (MS Excel) who meet the requirements for supervision of residents. This list should only be used as a tool to assist with an applicant’s search for a supervisor. Using a supervisor from this list does not guarantee that the applicant meets requirements for residency, nor shall it be interpreted as board-approval to begin a residency.
Please note that the registry is updated every quarter, and license statuses may change between updates. It is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure that the licensee has an active, unrestricted license.
Important Notice – New Law Requiring Posting of License
Legislation passed by the 2015 General Assembly requires:
Any person licensed by the Board and operating in a nonhospital setting shall post a copy of his license in a conspicuous place. The posting shall also provide clients with (i) the number of the toll-free complaint line at the Department of Health Professions, (ii) the website address of the Department for the purposes of accessing the licensee's record, and (iii) notice of the client's right to report to the Department if he believes the licensee may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent, or unprofessional conduct.
Please note that the license issued by the Board of Counseling has the required information printed on it, so posting a copy of your license in a conspicuous place (such as in a frame in the reception area or in the room in which you see clients) should satisfy the requirements of the law.
2015 Examination dates can be found here
The Residency Experience
The purpose of the residency period is to train the residents to become fully functioning independent professional counselors. Click here to read more about Couseling Residency.
Licensing Exam Test Scores: Because some insurance panels are now requiring verification of licensees’ examination scores, a copy of your test results can be obtained by either submitting a written request to the Board office for official verification (with accompanying $25 fee) or by contacting the testing vendor (NBCC) directly at 336-547-0607.
Extension of renewal requirements for deployed military and spouses
Virginia law allows active duty service people or their spouses who are deployed outside the U.S. to have an extension of time for any requirement or fee pertaining to renewal until 60 days after the person’s return from deployment. The extension cannot last beyond 5 years past the expiration date for the license. For more information, please read attached policy and contact the applicable board for your license.
Address of record
Section 54.1-2400.02.B of the Code of Virginia requires the Department of Health Professions (DHP) to collect an official address of record from each health professional to be used by DHP for agency purposes. The Code also requires DHP to provide an opportunity for a health professional to provide a second address for the purpose of public dissemination. If there is no second (public) address provided, the official address of record will be used as the public address for the purpose of public dissemination. If the health professional would prefer that his/her address of record remain confidential, then an alternative public address must be provided to DHP. (Note: the License Lookup feature on the DHP public website does not contain the full address. However, public addresses are available by contacting Virginia Interactive Premium Service or the Board.) An individual is not required to submit a place of residence for either the official address of record or the public address. A post office box or a practice location is acceptable.
Changes to either address may be made at the time of renewal or at any time by written notification to the Board. Changes to the address of record may also be made at any time by accessing your licensure information through the online system. Any change that is made to one of the addresses does not automatically update the other address. Address information should be kept current for the address of record and the public address (if different from the address of record) at all times.
Online Licensing - Licensees can now renew a license, change an address and request a duplicate license online. Rehabilitation Provider license types can now renew online.
Continuing Competency requirements apply only to Licensed Professional Counselors, Licensed Marriage & Family Therapists, and Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners.
Duty to Report Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation - More
The Adult Protective Services Program at the Virginia Department of Social Services is pleased to announce the availability of a new online educational opportunity for mandated reporters of abuse, neglect and exploitation of older or incapacitated individuals. This online training course has been developed for, and with the assistance of, mandated reporters and APS professionals to assist mandated reporters in understanding adult abuse and their responsibilities as mandated reporters. Read More...(word .doc)
Laws & RegulationsKeep in the know about important laws and regulations:
Laws and Regulations Governing Counseling
Laws Governing All Health Professions
Forms and Applications
Download the available forms and applications
from the Virginia Board of Counseling.
View examination information and dates for Licensed Professional Counselor applicants and Licensed Marriage & Family Therapist applicants.
List of the Professions regulated by the Board.
Board of Counseling CalendarView the Board of Counseling Calendar of upcoming Board meetings and minutes from past Board meetings.
View the current Members of the Board of Counseling